We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flora

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Flora
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Prato
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Flora for 5 nights whilst attending a conference at Monash University's Prato campus. The hotel has a variety of rooms, of varying sizes, shapes & hues. I chose to stay in the 'suite' because it is a little larger and still reasonably cheap. It was very comfortable and quiet with a window looking into a courtyard and a view (just) of Tuscany hills above the roof-tops. I had free wi-fi access in my room. The furnishings and fittings are dated but it is all clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a buffet-style in a ground floor dining area with a variety of Italian pastries, fresh & tinned fruits and some cereals if you want them. The highlight for me was the staff who were all friendly, helpful and happy to assist with a whole range of traveller's requests. This included booking me tickets to the Uffizi gallery in Florence and recommending local cafes and walking to local sites.
This hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Monash campus and situated inside the walls of the old town of Prato. There is a surprising amount to do and see in the old city of Prato and, of course Florence is a 20 minute fast train ride away.

Room Tip: The suite is more expensive, but larger, quieter and worth paying a little more for..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karoly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    19
    11
    5
See reviews for
12
21
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent four nights in Hotel Flora during a conference meeting and it was a nice experience.The hotel and my room were quite old. The room was clean, big, and quiet, but without any "extra luxury", just a basic hotel room. The breakfast and service were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miet_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were just now at the hotel and they were very welcomming. The rooms are fine overall, they smell a little moldy. The breakfast was very nice. A good worth for your money. There is cable tv and some of the channels can be heard in english.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

During a six night stay, this wee hotel grew on me. To start with I baulked at the cell-like room (56) with it's paucity of electric plugs (2), cathode ray TV and blistering plaster under the window. To be fair, a single was what was booked, so I'm not sure why I was surprised by a single bed.
By the end of my stay I was more focused on the wonderful view out the window, good noise control and the attentive service by reception and other staff alike.
In room: safe and hairdryer. Excellent free wifi. No tea/coffee making facilities (I took a travel kettle and didn't regret it)
Breakfast: provided. Good selection.
Positioning: Brilliantly close to Monash university campus, within walled part of city. Local restaurants great, even as a lone diner. Supermarket: 8min walk on way to central station, or several deli-style shops in old city.
Transport: Two railway stations within 10 minutes walk. Trains to Florence every 15 - 20 minutes - 2.50 euros each way for 25min journey. Reservations not required: no ticket office at Porta al Serraglio, but buy tickets from newspaper kiosk outside or use credit card in machines (took amex, no problem). Fantastically easy.
To Florence airport: When arriving, I pre-booked a transfer from Florence airport - recommended - as the Florentine driver took several passes to navigate the one-way system inside the Prato walls. Taxi back to Florence airport around 40 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel does not pretend to be anything flash and as a comfortable place to stay that is clean with friendly, helpful staff it is very good. The hotel is clean, well positioned, nice breakfast. Overall it is quite comfortable. Our room was a bit like a hospital ward, I believe there are some better ones, in particular room 68, supposed to have beautiful views. If staying in Prato I easily recommend Flora for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
978 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I suppose the start was not so good, we drove in to see a lunatic drive at speed through a flock of birds killing and wounding many, then arrived at the hotel where a staff member was beating a pidgeon to death in the foyer...
Room was packed with furniture but by then we just wanted to be on our way.{2002}

Room Tip: Not if you are an animal lover
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Prato for a week using it as a base for Florence and Tuscany. This hotel was perfect. Wonderful, friendly and very helpful staff. Clean, quiet, spacious room with free wifi. Excellent location. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prato hotels
0.0 mi away
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#13 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#8 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#2 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#3 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#4 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#1 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Via Benedetto Cairoli 31, 59100, Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center of Prato, in a quiet area and close to the main monuments, museums and theaters of the city. 31 rooms with all facilities. Buffet breakfast. Easy to reach by car with private parking available, train, and bus from Florence Airport ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing