We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view & nice people”
Review of Hotel Le Sirene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Sirene
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Everything and more than you could dream of. Everyone was so nice there. While there were a "few" steps to climb, the room was immaculate and the view spectacular. We hated to leave and dream of returning. We had a really rainy day but it did not take away from our enjoyment. Close enough to Positano, Amalfi and Ravello - we parked the car and took the bus. Who needs the hustle and bustle of the other places. We received great suggestions on where to eat as well. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viaggiatore0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We spent 7 nights here in early September and had a wonderful holiday. The views from our room and the breakfast terrace were stunning - the sunsets over the Amalfi coast were worth being there for, the position between Positano and Amalfi was perfect. Maria and Giancarmine were wonderful, friendly hosts who were very happy to spend time talking to their guests. The breakfasts were superb, with home made croissants and a lovely bowlful of fresh seasonal fruit, plus yoghurts, cereal and cold meats and cheese. Their recommendations for restaurants were great and we loved the fact that we could eat in Praiano overlooking the sea views and just wander back to the hotel after. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves to go to sleep and wake up to the sight and sound of the sea and doesn't mind walking up and down the steps. It is the position that makes it so peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spend 3 wonderful days relaxing in this nice hotel at Praiano, which is a lot calmer than its neighbours positano and amalfi
Rooms have a great view of the whole bay, very relaxing , just as the hosts, a warm and enchanting italian family

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janinaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

If your heading to the Amalfi Coast there are two things to do. One is to stay at Praiano where the friendly locals coexist with travelers wanting something more than the bustle and tiz of places like Positano. The second is to stay at the wonderfully peaceful Le Sirene. Maria and her husband Giancarmine run a beautiful hotel below the main street via a few steps or fifty - but don't let that put you off. There are rooms with spacious balconies overlooking the sea and the mountains... and it is so quite. Breakfast is great and while there is no TV or bar fridge...There is a bar with very reasonable prices run by Giancarmine plus table tennis... It is the perfect place for a wonderful stay....
Rob and Kathy

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobABalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 days at Le Sirene.

Firstly, we found the location in Praiano ideal, since it is roughly halfway between busy Positano and Amalfi, but much quieter. It is also close to the bus stop and a nice little supermarket.
One does have to climb a few stairs to get there, but while they can organize porters to assist with suitcases on arrival, we did not find this necessary. If one were to arrive by ferry, however, I would definitely recommend dialling ahead for a porter.
(Ps. To find the place by bus is very easy - just look out for the big yellowish church below the main road. The closest bus stop is a few meters after the church, and from there, there are clearly marked signs down to Le Sirene.)

We stayed in Room 12, which was very spacious and had a large private balcony. It also had a decent-sized bathroom with a shower in the bathtub. While the room is basic without any additional amenities like a fridge or safe, the fantastic views and cleanliness made it worth every cent.

Breakfast is served on the downstairs terrace and consisted of a fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice, the best croissants I've probably ever had, cornflakes, bread, cheese and salami as well as a choice of tea, coffee, cappuccino or hot chocolate. The 8 am starting time was a bit late for us on the days we wanted to leave town on day trips, but on those days we could still help ourselves to some yoghurt and cereal.

The only thing that I was disappointed in was the restaurants in Praiano - I was hoping that they would also be good value for money, being a bit outside of the main tourist areas, but we actually found them to be quite pricey, and found the restaurants in Amalfi to be better in terms of both price and quality. But since these were just an easy bus ride away, this was not a problem.

Maria and her husband were also excellent hosts and helped us a lot when it came to planning our daily activities.

We can highly recommend a holiday on the Amalfi coast, staying at Le Sirene.

Room Tip: I think Room 12 has the largest terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1234575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Wonderful views and very gracious hosts. Praiano is a small village so I recommend it if you plan to "stay put" for a couple of days prior to or after seeing the Amalfi sights. To get to Le Sirene there is one way up and one way down (over numerous steps) but it's worth the journey. The host arranged a porter for 10 euros to carry our bags up to the bus stop on the main road when we checked-out. We're in our 50's and are prone to over-packing so the fare was well worth it. Splendid breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Sirene for 6 nights in early Sept '10. We were looking for R & R on the AC and got it. Le Sirene was budget-friendly at 100EUR per night for the most amazing view ever, a very clean room, very gracious hosts and a great little town, within easy distance of the livelier Positano. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you are looking for quiet, clean, and comfortable this fits the bill. The bathroom was a little tight, the bed not the most comfortable (but we slept fine and it was very quiet there) and there was no safe in our room (but we didn't have a problem) so really, if you are looking for a very reasonable price then this is the place to stay. Yummy lite breakfast and really nice cappuccino on the patio overlooking the sea. Le Sirene is on the "west" side of Praiano, facing Positano, within 5 minute walk of good restaurants (La Brace, La Strada, Il Pino) and One Fire Beach for lounging in the sun, swimming and lunching/cocktailing. The "beach" (no sand, more a giant concrete pool deck, but oh, what a pool!...the gorgeous blue Med) is a good 15 min walk down (including 200+ steps) and longer back up but very worth it! ("Piccolito" and Carlo and co will look after you, you'll feel like you're at a posh resort!) We had a great vacation at Le Sirene. No pool, but who goes to the AC to sit by a pool? Walk down to the "beach" or take the bus to Marina la Praia for an easier walk down the hill (no steps) and a really good restaurant at Il Pirata with lounge chairs for rent next door and swimming in the sea. Use "Gennaro" for taxi service (from Naples train station or anywhere else you want to go, speak with Giancarlo to book with Gennaro) and go to Le Sirene for a restful vacation. You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fioriere
Hotel Le Fioriere
#8 of 20 in Praiano
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sirene

Address: Via San Nicola 10, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Sirene 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Hotel
Hotel Le Sirene Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing