We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Maria Pia(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Conchiglia(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Pino(Praiano)
$226
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Holiday(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of $503/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
50
46
26
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
46
26
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury stayexcellent locationthe bustwo nightsamalfi coasta great stayhotel is locatedcove
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 147 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2011

i never felt so welcome in a hotel. its family owned .the location does not get more romantic than that. very clean very friendly staff. fantasic restaurant....i can recommend this hotel to everyone who needs to relax in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinderelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia_Elisabetta, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alfonso a Mare, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Madame,
Thank you for your review, it is a pleasure for us know that your stay has been Amazing.
We hope to have you as our guest in the future
our family will be very happy to welcome you again in the Amalfi Coast
best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Hotel Alfonso a Mare was absolutely wonderful. We stayed for five night and it was truly the highlight of our trip. The rooms aren't modern but are very roomy and always clean. Luka and his wife along with their daughter Sophia continue the tradition of Luca's father, Alfonso, providing the warmest stay to their guests.

The restaurant is one of the best we ate at in our five week trip around Italy. Mama's gnocci was the best I've ever had - bursting with flavour and so delicious. Th chef is a genius - whipping up seafood delights and the kitchen produces amazing meals.

Situated off the main road of the Amalfi coast and delicately wedged between two cliff, Alfonso a Mare is a real treat. You'll need a car to get around (e.g. to Sorrento / Positano) or you can catch the bus - the stop is at the top of the hill.

The beach is STUNNING - white pebbles and aqua blue water. You know you are in a good place when all the locals turn up for the afternoon! There are trips to Capri and the various grottos available from just outside the front of the hotel.

If you are going to stay on the Amalfi coast, stay here (if you can get a booking!). It is a place that you will never forget.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S-Gsister, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alfonso a Mare, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Dear Hilary,
thanks for the wonderful words used to describe our passion, dedication and love, We will work with the same commitment to ensuring to all our guests a pleasant and comfortable holiday as the one described by you.
We hope to renew you as soon as possible our warm welcome in the Amalfi Coast.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

My husband and I took a two week vacation to Italy in May of 2006. We wanted to stay part of the time in the Amalfi area since it's so close to Positano, Capri, and other areas where we wanted to make day trips. Upon checking into Hotel Alfonso a Mare, we were made to feel like family from the first moment. The cook was preparing pasta for dinner, and we were encouraged to watch and ask questions. We did this several times throughout the week, and were pleased at how our questions were always answered in a truly friendly fashion. We felt very welcome.

Among the staff at the hotel, in addition to Alfonso himself are his wife Ada and two daughters, Sofia and Mina. The daughters speak English well, so they were able to translate for us on a number of occasions and were usually available to take our orders in the dining room, and to chat with us about our trip. They were very knowledgeable about the area and could easily help with directions or suggestions when needed. One day I badly scraped my knee after falling from a motor scooter, and Alfonso himself personally tended to my first aid, then inquired later whether it was feeling better. All in all, we were treated like family throughout the entire stay.

The food was outstanding. For breakfast each day, there was a complete spread of pastries, yogurts and breads, and freshly toasted bread with coffee were brought promptly to the table.

Dinner each evening featured pastas, seafood and meats, always very fresh and freshly prepared. It was simple and delicious. I loved the linguini with clams, and the fresh steamed lobster we had on our last evening at the hotel, pulled from the tank of live lobsters near the kitchen.

Our favorite dessert was available most evenings. The waitress called it "Amalfi Cake," and it was a delight -- sweet cake with a custard-like filling and tart cherries baked in. On some mornings there were Amalfi cake leftovers on the breakfast table. YUM!

The room was cozy and quaint, and we were told that it was newly tiled with Italian ceramic tiles that were really beautiful. We could lock the screen doors at night and pull the curtains over them, and a wonderful breeze from the sea kept us cool.

The location is very scenic and private, and it was very convenient to be right on the beach for the one or two days when we just wanted to relax.

The experience we enjoyed at Hotel Alfonso a Mare enhanced our vacation and made the trip very memorable. If we go back, we will stay there again for many reasons, but mostly because that type of personal service and attention are rare and certainly not available at larger hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lisac730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

After reading the reviews left by other people about this hotel, it pretty much worries me the fact that everyone expects that little bit too much.

I'll go systematic about this review.

The BAD side:
1 - no help with you luggage when you check in, but that's ok - (what do you expect, it's family run)
2 - parking - slightly on the pricey side, but you can negotiate that in advance - the problem is that parking in the area is a sort of monopoly
3 - Aircon, - everyone seems to be moaning about that. Well it's true, no aircon, but beleive me, no aircon is needed with the nice breeze there is.
4 - hospitality - the owner is a bit grumpy, but so what - the rest of the staff, especially his wife, make up for it.

The GOOD side:
1 - Setting - it's idyllic, and set in one of the most extraordinary settings I've ever been.
2 - Price - Really moderate
3 - Location - bang on in the centre of the coast and 30 / 45 mins away by car to every single site of interest on the Sorrento / Amalfi area. It even has a ferry to Capri.
4 - Beach - Rooms overlooking the beach. wonderful at night. Relaxing during the day.
5 - Fisherman - it's a fishing village, what do you expect - it actually adds to the atmosphere, if you happen to understand one ounce about what Italian seaside places are all about. Actually I look at the bright side of it. In the morning I saw the fish I was going to eat in the evening.
6 - Assistance - the lady suggested very nice places where to eat and do our souvenir shopping, and we were never given bad looks when we went to eat in nearby places - one of which being hotel Onda Verde.
7 - Breakfast - as simple and Italian as it can be. Wonderful coffee and pastry.

Basically if you expect better things in life, find yourself a 5 star hotel, but you'll be missing in on the real deal.

A 5 star hotel could have never given us the experience we've had from this hotel. Some things can be improved. But nobody's perfect. I'm sure they will though.

I'll definitely go back if ever in the area, even just for a nice plate of home-made pasta....and the lady's smile.

Steve Ciantar - Malta

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scar-n-Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I am shocked at the above reviews. I stayed here in June 07 and loved it. The staff could not have been nicer. Yes the cleaning lady was very sweet but the reception staff were also exceptional. I dont understan why people write such terrible reviews. The hotel restaurant is fantastic. It is a family run hotle and we welcomed into their family each and every day. The rooms were exceptioanlly clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly. This hotel has an excellent location right on the beach and the price is perfect. I would stay here again without hesitation

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank Bionda2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews