We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe Retreat for R&R”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We stayed at Casa Angelina at the end of our 11-day holiday in Italy. As our trip was a last minute decision (relatively speaking), the hotel pickings in Positano were slim. I came across CA on a website for the Amalfi Coast and was drawn to the modern, minimalist style of the hotel. I was a bit worried about staying in Praiano and the inconvenience of having to arrange transportation for our sightseeing expeditions, but I can assure you that it was not much trouble at all.

We'd arranged with the hotel to have a driver pick us up at Napoli Centrale and were quoted the standard 120 euros. Our driver, Vittorio (from Positano Limousines) met us in front of the left luggage area at the train station and lead us to an S class Mercedes Benz sedan. After giving us half an hour of peace and quiet, he began to point out certain points of interest along the way and was kind enough to stop for photographs in Sorrento and Positano (this was done unsolicited). He was a wealth of information as he'd grown up in Sorrento and had been driving for tourists for the past four years. (I digress.)

Upon arrival at CA, we were promptly greeted by two women at the reception area (one of them was the sister of Mara Mosca, the reservation manager, and the other's name escapes me - I wish the staff members wore name tags). We were both given a refreshing drink, which was an almond-flavored milk. The younger woman gave us a brief, but detailed, tour of the hotel and showed us to our room, #301, a lateral side view room. If we were wowed the moment we stepped into the hotel, we were absolutely blown away when we got to our room. The clean white lines and chic minimalist furniture was definitely right up our alley. Our room was very spacious and it is my understanding that our room type is larger than some of the rooms with sea views. Our bathroom wrapped around the side of the hotel and had both a bathtub and separate shower. The windows in our room and bathroom were gigantic rectangles of glass, giving us panoromic views of the mountainside, as well as Positano in the distance. Awaiting us on the desk/counter was a bottle of prosecco, chilling in an ice bucket, and a plate of bagel crisps, compliments of the hotel.

The L'Occitane toiletries were a nice touch, as well as the turndown service every night, complete with chocolates and bottles of water on each side of the bed.

The hotel restaurant, Un Piano Nel Cielo, was lovely, yet expensive. We had dinner there on our first and last nights. We ordered the seven-course tasting menu (fish) the first night, which was outstanding and well worth the nearly 200 euros spent. One gripe is that the menu presented to you at the restaurant does not have prices listed next to each selection. However, the menu in the hotel room does feature the same selections with prices listed, which is why we didn't have sticker shock when the check came at the end of the night. We had the American breakfast buffet for 21 euros each on our first morning. It was explained to us that the regular continental breakfast was 20 euros and included everything but the hot scrambled eggs and sausage and bacon, so it was a no brainer to select the American breakfast for one euro extra. Someone else has mentioned that the cost of the continental was only 12 euros, so either they raised the cost subsequently or something was lost in translation. On our last morning, we had coffee and croissants at Bar Del Sole, which was a far economical (and equally filling) option.

Transportation - We used the hotel's free shuttle to Positano on our second day. The schedule of drop-offs and pick-ups to and from Positano is included in the miscellaneous brochures provided in the hotel room. Contrary to other reviewers' experiences, we were not driven in a luxury vehicle, but a mini shuttle van, which had seats in such a condition that made me worry that I would get lint on my black dress. We had planned on taking a Sita bus back to CA that evening, but ended up grabbing a taxi at the taxi stand near the church (and Max's). The ride cost 25 euros. For our trip to Amalfi/Ravello, we had planned on taking the Sita bus, but rockslides the night before made road travel difficult. We ended up taking a water taxi from La Gavitella (the name refers to both the restaurant below the hotel, as well as a water taxi stop) to Positano at a cost of 15 euros. The driver (not sure if that is the correct term to use for one who operates a boat) was nice enough to come to a complete stop a couple of times to give my husband an opportunity to take photographs of Positano (again, unsolicited). From Positano, we took a hydrofoil to Amalfi, which was 7 euros apiece one-way. We took the ferry back to Positano, which was 6 euros one-way, and were fortunate to immediately catch another water taxi from La Gavitella (the restaurant) to La Gavitella (the stop). We found the ferry ride much more enjoyable than the hydrofoil.

We did lounge by the pool for about an hour on our first full day at the hotel. I would've liked to stay longer, but grew tired of having to constantly flay my arms around to get the gynormous, pesky flies away from me. We headed out to the beach area and had a much more pleasant experience down there. We knew not to expect a sandy beach, so were not disappointed in what awaited us after the 200 some steps down to the beach area. Afterwards, we had a great plate of calamari at La Gavitella.

We loved the featured art displayed throughout the common areas, as well as in our room. The twinkling lights that changed colors in the elevator and the indoor pool created a romantic ambience at night. My husband and I attempted to enjoy the indoor pool around 10 pm one night, but found the water lukewarm and the hydrotherapy jets apparently shut off at 8pm.

The only negative aspect of our stay was the noise level. The walls aren't exactly the most soundproof, and you can hear every person that passes by your room. It probably didn't help that there was a wedding reception held at the hotel during our last night, with several attendees no doubt staying at CA. Nevertheless, I must say that I did get my best sleep in Italy at CA.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ouiparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 844 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2007

I can't stand chintz. And there's plenty of it on the Amalfi Coast. So I was delighted to come across Casa Angelina - a vision in white (the cleaning bills must be enormous). I did flinch a bit at the cost - it's not a cheap sleep - but hey, everything's expensive around this part of the world, so just do it! Besides - you don't get a view like the one from Casa Angelina without splashing out. It is incredible! It takes your breath away when you arrive. Do make sure you get a full sea view - you'll be regretting it forever otherwise.

The staff are gracious and for the most part very attentive. Indeed, when we had a problem with our hire car, Gerrado on front desk was fantastic, going out of his way to make all the necessary arrangements.

I would highly recommend dining in the restaurant and taking the tasting menu. It's 80 euros a head but you get 7 or so delectable courses - the best food we had in Italy.

A few words of advice if you are planning a stay: the cost of drinks is high, as would be expected. But there are fridges in all the rooms so stock up on some beers and wine and have sundowners at a fraction of the cost on your balcony. If you're a tea-drinker like me, just bring a travel kettle: you can buy fresh milk in the shop in Praiano. Otherwise it's 10 euros for 2 cups of tea from the bar!

The cost of breakfast quoted on the website is 21 euros per person; this is for the full monty ("American') with meats and cheeses - delicious, for sure; but we just fancied the continental some mornings, which at 12 euros is good value - it still includes lovely fruits, yoghurts, juices, breads, cakes, cereals and even champagne!

Finally, having praised the quality of the food in the restaurant we cannot unfortunately say the same of the bar. We ordered a pizza and pasta dish one lunch time and were thoroughly disappointed. The pasta cost 14 euros and was tiny; and the pizza tasted (and looked) like it had been defrosted. Shame - because this really was our only gripe. Wander down to the beach and eat there instead is our advice.

Overall though, Casa Angelina is a brilliant choice. I think Praiano is the best place to stay on the coast. Positano, in August at least, is heaving and a quite frankly a bit naff. It also looses the sun around 5.30pm and has no view of the sunset. Praiano, meanwhile, faces directly west. You get the sun until it sets, and the best view of it is from your balcony. Praiano has everything you need too - the restaurants are great (do try the Pasta Pomodoro in the trattatoria overlooking the square, it's divine). and it's got a little mini-mart, a pastry shop and even a wine bar! But none of the crowds.

Casa Angelina really made our holiday to Italy and we would not hesitate in going back - if our bank balance allows!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidaysking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed here in August 07 for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived you are treated like VIP guests, we were given a tour of the hotel and taken to our room 311, which has the best views fron the hotel, if you stay you must request this room!
The pool area is on the small side but there are ample beds for everyone, my only negative comment would be there were a lot of children, and children will be children so the noise level at times was high... the hotel is clearly for couples as there is very little for the children to do, i would recommend that they dont accept children.
The food is outstanding, service and presentation 100%
Breakfast at 21 euro per person is very high although very nice.
It has a great sauna area and indooor heated pool.
Overall by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in this is a 5* Hotel without doubt, book it now, this will be a popular hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gooner1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Just returned from a week in the Amalfi coast. First 4 days we stayed in Casa Angelina and last three days in Santa Caterina (Amalfi).

Casa Angelina Hotel - Positive points:
1. Lovely modern, clean hotel with fantastic bedroom and view of Positano from the bedroom
2. Swimming pool albeit small was perfect for cooling off.
3. Beach is like all Italian beaches, no sand, rockly but the sun beds which are reserved for Casa Angelina guests are great
4. Staff all very attentive

Casa Angelina - Negative points:
1. Breakfast should be included in the room charge at those prices and not EUR 21 per person. We only had breakfast one day in instead went to Bar Sole where they had the best coffee and pastries and fruit shake for EUR 10 for two of us.
2. The lunch menu is expensive so I would recommend eating down by the beach where you can get lovely sandwichs for EUR6
3. Water at EUR 5 per bottle is very expensive and as you drink so much of it should be cheaper

Location:
Praiano is a really nice town in a perfect location with great restaurants near by (La Brace our favourite). I prefer it to Positano and Amalfi which are much more touristy and great to see but not to stay.

All in all I would definetely recommend the hotel and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IluvHolidaysDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Casa Angelina is divine. Truly a gem and we will be back again next year.

Why?

THE HOTEL:
Their extra attention to the small details (chocolates on your pillow at night, fruit kebabs by the pool, fresh flowers in the room, etc.) make this truly a luxury experience. The rooms and hotel are spotless, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the location is peaceful and non-touristic, and the views are breath-taking. We were so thrilled that we did not stay in Positano, crowded with tourists and tons of noise. Casa Angelina has a private -and free- shuttle (luxury Audi vehicle) to take you into Positano and back several times a day. Very comfortable way to travel!

There were many children staying there when we were there (Aug 11 to 18), but we were not really disrupted by this except for a few episodes by the pool where kids were running, making lots of noise and jumping all over the place. (For the life of me I cannot understand why people bring small children to this hotel - read: White, white, white, glass sculptures, steep cliffs and no children pool or menus!!! Not a great idea!!). Please parents: think of reminding your kids to stay quiet and not jump in the pool. You are welcome with open arms, but respect the other guests who are there to relax and rest.

We stayed in room 202, which was exceptionally clean (always spotless) and comfortable, and had a balcony and phenomenal view. We were there during the busiest time of the season (mid-August) and the staff had no trouble handling everyone. I never felt that the hotel was packed or crowded (there are, after all, only 40 rooms). It was very peaceful. We simply loved every moment of our stay - we found the outdoor pool to be perfect. It is not huge but it is great for a dip to cool off and suits its purpose. The indoor one is also a delight with water jets, and the beach is great with a reserved section and a small patch of sand where you can easily wade into the sea - it is clean also, though yes there are 268 steps down to it. Great exercise!

Upon arrival we were greeted with a cocktail and tour, and when we left, Casa Angelina gave us a small gift of candle and room scent. These small touches are appreciated.

DINING: At the top of the stairs to Praiano, La Strada is a great (wonderful take out pizzas for a lowcost dinner on your balcony), cheaper restaurant with extravagant views on Positano. Brace restaurant is great for seafood. We did find the pool bar quite expensive (15 euros for a salad, 16 euros for a cocktail, 5 euros for a coffee), although good, but this can be avoided by eating at the restaurant down by the beach (good, reasonably priced food - salads and sandwiches between 5 and 8 euros). The buffet breakfast (which we asked be included in our price) was superb, with an array of the best fruit, meat, cheese, breads, drinks and dairy. Champagne mimosas to start the day!

TRIPS: Capri -We organized our own trips and would recommend taking the boat trip to Capri and grottos with Gennaro [--] (50 euros per person for the day 9am to 6pm, drinks and treats included). Great day we had - don't forget to bring motion sickness pills!! Capri town - a tip is that once you get off the boat, head to the far end of the port to buy tickets to go up to Capri town via "Funiculaire". Once you have the ticket, you then stand in (a different line) to actually go up the Funiculaire. Cheap way to get to the town but we wasted a lot of time figuring out that there were 2 lines. Once you are the top, luxury shops, restaurants and beautiful gardens are worth the trip.

Ravello is also a dream - Villa Maria for dinner can't be beat and don't miss the gardens and view from Villa Cimbrone (deemed one of the most beautiful in the world). The Ruffulo gardens can be skipped, too disappointing after seeing the amazing Villa Cimbrone gardens. Road to Ravello via car is a nightmare, drive safely.

Amalfi and Positano are nice but very crowded. La Zagara pastry shop in Positano is very, very good!!! Sorrento was ok, but nothing special to see - there is no beach and the dining prices are INSANE.

Casa Angelina and the Amalfi Coast are heaven. We will go again, and we will stay at Casa Angelina without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at the Casa Angelina for 9 nights in August 2007 and found the hotel pretty much matched the expectations gleaned from Trip Advisor: in other words 95% positive.

The CA is a quite beautiful hotel that suits those who like modern architecture, five star service - and a desire for quiet time. The all-white rooms are generally smallish - as are all hotel rooms on this vertiginous coast - however, the views are wonderful. The prices in the restaurant for dinner are a bit steep - but the food is good; try and go at least once or twice. But it is worth having breakfast every day - if only to enjoy the roof terrace. If you want to fill up in the evening have a pizza at the restaurant in Praiano overlooking the square in front of the church; they are impossible to finish!

The staff at CA were very friendly and always obliging. The pool and terrace are moderately quiet during the day and wonderfully quiet in the evening - if that is what you like. It is possible to get worked up about the cost of taxi fares -which are expensive. But we found the 120 Euro cost each way of being picked up (and returned to) Naples airport by the hotel's driver Sergio in his big black Audi gave the holiday a great start and finish.

If you only make one trip, go to Ravello. If you want to avoid one place - make that Capri during the day - it is appallingly crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PeterBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed at the Casa Angelina for 8 nights during July. The whole holiday was amazing and totally relaxing. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the reception staff with a nice cold cocktail which was very welcomed after the journey from Naples airport! We were then shown around the hotel and it's facilities which was a very nice touch. We booked a deluxe sea view room and it was everything we imagined from the web site. The view was just amazing. Most of the reviews on TA all agree that you can't beat the views from Casa Angelina. This hotel is definitely a little gem as not many people know it's there. We could not fault anything. We were looked after the whole time. We are a young couple wanting some rest from our busy jobs and that is what we got. The pool area is very nice - with towels at your disposal and fresh fruit served to you mid-morning. The pool is on the small side but it's fine for a dip when the sun is beating down. The beach was good fun. Yes, there are alot of steps down to the beach but after the large breakfast we had consumed, it done us good to work it off. I felt like I had done some exercise! The breakfasts were just like the hotel - amazing. Freshly cut fruit, different breads, eggs, cereals, dried fruit, meat, cheese, fresh fruit juices, champagne - you name it and it was there. Breakfast was included in our price but to be honest, toast and some eggs done us perfectly!

There is a gym at the CA which my boyfriend used every day. There are clean towels and slippers for you to use and toiletries if you want to take a shower in there. Every little thing was taken care of. There is also an indoor pool if you don't want to swim outside.

The pool restaurant was also very very good. It is on the expensive side but that is what you have to pay when you stay in a 5 star hotel. Every lunch that we had was so delicious and the staff are so friendly. You can have pizza, salads, pasta, breads - whatever you fancy. They also have a special every day. We ate there most days. We also ate at the beach restaurant was very good and very reasonably priced. Had a massive local salad for approx EUR9 which was a bargain!

We ate at the hotel restaurant on our first and last evening. Both times were very good and the food was delicious. The atmosphere is very romantic and the glass of champagne was again a very nice touch. It is expensive compared to the local restaurants but you are paying for the quality and we thought it was perfect. The home-made lobster and spinach ravioli was to die for - I had that on both occasions! One other restaurant I would highly recommend is the Murat Hotel in Positano. The setting is wonderful and the food was out of this world. I would say it's probably the best meal I have ever had. Again, it is at the top end of the market but for a treat, it's perfect.

Our room was spotless and cleaned twice daily to a very high standard. All the Loccitane toiletries were replaced once they had been used. Every night, our beds were turned down and a little chocolate and a bottle of water was left on your bed side. We both thought this was really sweet. On our last night, we received a free candle.........these are not just any candle! They were placed on the poolside tables every evening and they change colour. We were amazed at first how they worked but then found out that they have a little battery inside them. We also bought another one home (you can buy them from the hotel at EUR15 each).

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and we can't wait to visit it again. It isn't really ideal for children but if you want a nice relaxing break, it is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KateWop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
433 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $496 - $1,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing