We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2006

My husband and I booked this for a romantic weekend getaway and went on 28th July 2006 for 2 nights, while mother-in-law looked after our two young boys, so we were really looking forward to it. The place is beautiful. We were met at the airport by their own driver, Sergio, who stopped on the way to have a delicious pizza with us. He was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were met at reception with a cool drink to refresh us. The room is immaculately clean. Because we had left it quite late in making a booking, the only room available was the standard room, which was perfectly adequate for what we needed, although we did ask to look at the suite which was unbelievable, so we are hoping to book that for next year! The staff are excellent here - the service cannot be faulted. The views are amazing - we preferred staying here than in Positano - it was after all a romantic getaway weekend. Only criticism is that pool/deck size but I hear that they are going to be building another area of this. My only other tiny criticism is that although the food in the restaurant was beautifully presented, the food I had ordered lacked a bit in flavour. However, overall the whole experience was fantastic so don't let that put you off!

If you are thinking of going to try this, don't hesitate - book it and go! You will love it. It's more of a couple place though - although we did see a couple with a baby of about 9 months, I wouldn't recommend it for kids - it's better suited to couples. I dread to think what colour the room would be after our boys had been in the room, it certainly wouldn't be white!

I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slummymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 843 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2006

My Husband and I stayed here in Aug 2006. We arrived at 1pm and was able to check into our room straight away. The reception staff were fab and spoke english better than us!!! We were given a tour around the hotel on the way to our room. When we arrived at the room our cases were already there. The room was just as nice as the photos on the website. Totally white, fresh flowers, fruit and water all provided. Also a small safe and a plasma TV. Our room (108) was on the first floor and had a great view of the sea, Positano and the small swimming pool.

We experienced a little bit of noise in the evenings at the hotel but nothing to complain about.

We walked down to the beach area, its approx 250 steps down after the hotel's lift has taken you down as far as it will go. Don't forget to take your towels with you from the swimming pool area before you go. There is a reserved area for Casa Angelina guests on a concrete area outside a cafe bar. We had a very nice lunch there.

We had a massage which was very nice, but, they don't have a private room for this. There is an area in the fitness/indoor pool area with a vertical blind drawn accross. It wasn't very private and you could hear the noise of people in the pool.

We went to Capri for the day from Positano and then looked around the shops in Positano on the way back. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Positano at certain times of the day.

Make sure you find the steps (at the rear of the swimming pool) that take you up into the town of Praiano, just at the top you will find a pizza place called La Brace. We had a great pizza, wine etc for around €30.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant 3 times, the food, wine and the staff were first class.

My only gripe for the whole 4 days we stayed here was our return journey to Naples. The taxi fare was €110 euros. Just as we were about to leave we found out that another couple were also airport bound and we could have shared a taxi and the cost!

I would come back to stay here again without hesitation. My only recommendation the Casa Angelina would be "to become an Adult only hotel"

Have a great time

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on Honeymoon for 7 nights in August. Its a beautiful hotel, clean, bright and modern. The views are stunning and the food is wonderful. The staff are amazing, especially Giorgio and Sandra. We had cooking lesons with the chef and both he and Paolo the restaurant manager were so nice. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The hotel booked some lovely trips for our us with a private mercedes and a fabuloue driver called Tonino, make sure you ask for him if you are planning on touring the area or need a transfer. One of the guys who works there even dropped my wife up to the hairdressers in a vintage mercedes to save her having to walk-now thats real service. We didnt want to leave as the place is so beautiful and peaceful-perfect for a romantic getaway. I would definately recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break-We absolutley loved it and cant wait to return-Book now before the secret gets out !! Enjoy

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank Rick100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We were delighted with our stay at Casa Angelina. The was our first stop on our honeymoon (yes, there are a lot of honeymooners here) and we were delighted with the attentive (yet not intrusive) service, the elegant facilites, the great location and the mind blowing views.

The restaurant is good, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are compact yet tastefully furnished (and to a high standard), it's in a great location and the hotel can organise any number of trips for you.

The only downside is the private beach. It's not the fact that it hundreds of steps down a very steep cliff that's the issue (it's the Amalfi coast for goodness sake - don't come here if you don't like walking uphill!!!) it's that what awaits you at the bottom isn't worth the trip down. It's not so much a beach as some rocks were the sea meets the land. The sea is very rough and powerful down there to so it's not even an option for kids. Adults if you're feeling brave and like a challenge then crack on!

I cannot emphasise enough how much we loved our stay here and would ABSOLUTELY xcome back again.

A little gem!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merseysidered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank EssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CavalinoRampante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bubba901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $625 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing