We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic place in the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at this magical place. Right from the first email contact, through to all the detail arrangements, everything was handled promptly, professionally and with great personal care. Our room was shiek, all white and with the most awesome view. When celebrating such a special event, small details make a huge impression. The bed linen, towels, room and even the corridors smelled fresh and clean. Every turndown in the evening was special with something different every night. The highlight of our whole 10day Amalfi coast holiday, was the special dinner on the rooftop terrace, which was arranged by the hotel. The setting, food and service, was mind blowing and will forever remain an awesome memory to us. If you are looking for a place that makes your holiday effortless and special, Casa Angelina, is without doubt, the most amazing hotel to celebrate your holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmadDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 839 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Casa Angelina is a wonderful hotel; let's start there. The staff is WONDERFUL....they are concerned; want to make your stay perfect; and really bend over backwards to meet your needs. Let me start with all the positives -- large rooms; comfortable beds; great views; a nice escape from Positano crowds.

Nestled about 80 steps below the little village of Praiano; Casa Angelina sits (as do most of the hotels here) high above the Med. Sea...when you walk in the first thing that strikes you is that everything is white....Let Rusty write that again ...EVERYTHING IS WHITE! Though throughout the hotel are carefully placed and beautifully crafted Murano Glass Sculptures, (watch your step!).

A tour of the property with a staff member; and then off to your room. If you get a room overlooking the Med.; two things will strike you right away (a) your view is ONLY visible if you stand...if you recline or sit on the comfortable terrace furniture -- your view is blocked by a (um...white...wall)....however (b) you do not have similar blocked views of your neighbors...there is a small (um...white....wall) with some shrubs ....but then you can easily walk through the opening in the wall to your neighbors (um...white...terrace!). They open their doors, or you open yours -- and you get to hear everything your neighbor is saying...doing...listening to; etc. Could really use a more PRIVATE terrace!

The pool is small, but overlooks the Med.; chairs by the pool are comfortable. The Casa Angelina has their own 'beach' area; not sand or pebble beach, but a very nice area with ample recliners; a nice bar and bistro; a very attentive staff and reasonable prices. Take note -- the hotel tells you it is "just 200 steps down;" (it is actually 289 -- Rusty counted them); and keep in mind, it is 289 back up!

Turn down service is great! Don't miss it! Came in one night -- candles; rose petals in the bathtub!
Now...onto areas of improvement.

No carpets or floor coverings....so rooms are not 100% quiet -- not overly loud; but could easily hear the footsteps of other guests in rooms on both sides and one floor above, (see sleep quality below).

Let's start with the food. The breakfast is wonderful. If you buy the breakfast package....all items on the separate menu (omelette items, eggs, etc.) are included and they are very good. A rich variety of cheeses, meets, assorted pastries. But....let's turn to drinks by the pool...expensive. We tried to bring our own wine to the pool but were told that was not allowed -- fair enough; but remember you are paying top dollar for beverages by the pool.

Onto dinner -- here's where the "weird" comes in (see title...). They are either over-staffed, or going for the "Stepford Look." You are greeted not by one, but by several servers....the lighting is dim....one open of the menu and you will need to catch your breath after seeing the prices. We chose (for obvious reasons) not to touch the wine list...and just asked for spring water -- the bottle was delivered by the 'water server,' who carried it as if it was a bottle of fine champagne; carefully unscrewed the top; gave a gentle pour ...for a moment I thought he was going to hand me the screw top to smell. Every time we placed an eating utensil down or our water dropped a bit low....someone "appeared" from out of the shadows. Food arrived....small, SMALL, portions (remember the price!); and every time something was delivered to the table; a server appeared with (I am not kidding here) - a WHITE flashlight, shined it on the plate and explained everything I was about to eat). It was, frankly, just a bit weird. The price and 'over-attention' may be one of the reasons that there were only two other couples in the entire restaurant the evening we ate there, (we did not return).

Away from dinner -- they have a HUGE bar area -- stretches perhaps 50 yards; with loads of white furniture, white walls; a stark black piano (must have snuck in there....!). Every night, this entire area is empty...we were there five nights; and did not see more than one couple in there the entire time. Casa Angelina could turn this around quickly by offering nightly piano entertainment and free (YES...FREE!) adult beverages and light snacks...this would draw folks into a beautiful area that is simply not being used.

Other notes -- very poor internet service. Large television; but only English speaking channels are 24 Hour news Channels. Room service, (which we ordered) is actually much more reasonable than the restaurant or pool area); but there is a 15 Euro charge...and watch that! I asked that when they picked up the dishes they also bring a Sprite to the room -- they agreed, but tried to charge 15 Euro for the delivery of the 5 Euro Sprite -- so a 20 Euro Sprite! The next morning when I brought it up with the staff, they apologized -- readily, and took it immediately off the bill.

So...to sum up....lots of white...LOTS of white...but a wonderful staff with a wonderful setting. Food is very good, but WAY overpriced; bar area is great...but again, WAY overpriced....you can easily get a meal in town; pick up a couple of bottles of wine at the local shop; for far less than a main menu item in the restaurant. If they wanted to double the use of their bar and restaurant; they should cut their prices by 50%.

There nothing they can do to improve on customer care and attention -- AnnaLissa (sp?) was wonderful throughout. The day before we left; she had (without our request) had already arranged for our driver; and double checked on our transportation to Positano!

They could liven the place up a bit with more music; perhaps a bit more color; and a staff that (for lack of a better description) is just a bit more relaxed. Would I return here...yes!

Room Tip: REQUEST a room with terrace! There are rooms with balconies; but they are very, very small balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rusty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Casa Angelina is a very nice, elegant hotel in Praiano, Italy. We'll start with the plusses. You can walk to the little town of Praiano, which has about 6 restaurants and several shops and a pharmacy, a lovely church. It is 80 steps up to the town. You can go down 290 steps to a "beach", which is a lot of fun, the water is refreshing and they'll bring you drinks, and they have a deal with the hotel so you do have to pay for food and drinks, but you get to enjoy the chairs, the view, and the water for free. But then you have to go back up the 290 steps! The staff of the hotel go out of their way to give you the best service, and the maid and turndown service are excellent. The buffet breakfast is really delicious with lots of variety. The pool is very nice with a gorgeous view. Positano is a precious town and it is a quick 15 min. water taxi or shuttle. We really enjoyed our stay here. Now the cons. The evening restaurant service is so formal that it is actually awkward. It is fancy gourmet food and not very much of it. The waiters stare at you. However, that is a choice and you can choose to eat in Praiano or take a water taxi or shuttle into Positano, and there are lots of choices there. The decor of the hotel is WHITE, WHITE, WHITE. Our room was white with no rugs no artwork, nothing to catch the eye. I was horrified I might spill some red wine. I think this is to focus on the view from the balconies, which is outstanding and gorgeous. But...our balcony was connected with our neighbors on our left and right...weird! Also, they people above you can see you while you are on the balcony sunning, drinking coffee, or "whatever". I am really confused about how I feel about this hotel. It should have been an incredible experience, but there was just enough that was "off" to keep that from happening. The great service makes up for a lot of the weirdness, but let's just say that it's probably the nicest hotel in Praiano, and it's worth a try.

Room Tip: See if there are any balcony rooms where you don't have to share, if you want privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

One reviewer wrote about his place: if you have trouble in your relationship, don't spend money on therapy, book a room at casa angelina. This is completely true, everything is great about this place: the plentiful and tasty Italian breakfast, the stunning views, the location hidden away from the tourist masses in positano, even the signature scent made out of local lemons that you can enjoy everywhere in the hotel. Don't hesitate, just book this place.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Amalfi Coast holiday in June 2014.

It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. We were welcomed by the staff the minute we arrived and they showed us around the hotel and to our room, where there was a lovely bottle of prosecco and the most amazing fruit I have ever tasted! We were off to a great start :)

We loved everything here from the great views, the delicious (but expensive) breakfast, the pool, the gym and the bar. Special shout out to Rozanna who made us the most lovely limoncello mojitos we have ever tasted. We're hooked now!

The one small gripe I had was that our balcony was tiny with no view. At 400+ a night, we expected something nicer.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel in a great location and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llyons27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We are just back from the most amazing five days in beautiful Priano. Casa angelina lived up to all expectations . From the moment you arrive down the driveway to be met by the lovely staff, you just know you are in for a treat. The all white hotel whilst stylish still seems to envelope you in comfort. The breakfast is amazing , the Aperol spritz served by Massimo as a sundowner is not to be missed. Don't worry about being too far out of Positano as there is always plenty of room on the courtesy coach in and out of town. Don't miss dinner in the hotel at least one evening, fabulous fabulous food. Yes there are the grand dames of hotels close by, but it was great to see this hotel attracted all age groups. Not for the faint hearted one fire beach below the hotel is a must. Just don't forget anything as the climb back up is pretty hard, but if you holiday in this area then steps are a must. Thanks to all the wonderful staff , for a great holiday.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Theholidaymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent 4 wonderful days here. Upgraded to a Romantic room (104,) we had a balcony with a great view. We were on the lower level near the pool--wonderfully quiet. Rooms and hotel are done in white with just the Murano glass and beautiful view for color. Service is impeccable. We ate twice at the restaurant for dinner (some of the best food of the trip) and once at their amazing breakfast buffet, If your room does not include breakfast (and only the suites or larger do) it is worth it to splurge at least once for the buffet. A 75 step shortcut leads you up to Praiano where you can dine out or catch the bus to Positano and elsewhere along the coast. (Likewise, the hotel will also provide a complimentary Audi sedan shuttle if you plan ahead). It is 200 steps down the the "beach"--very European....either a rocky beach with locals or a cement platform with umbrellas/loungers/DJ. We actually found the pool at the hotel to be much nicer and more relaxing. In 2 weeks in Italy, this was our favorite hotel--wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Upgrade to a private balcony. Lower level rooms are quieter. Beds are VERY firm. Very happy with r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorjifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,539 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,016 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
886 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $435 - $1,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing