We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful experience!”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My daughter (18) and I stayed at the hotel a while back, for one week, during the summer. If you are looking for an experience, this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for a large american style hotel, it's not. Yes, it's all white and pristine but that allows the beauty of the area to shine through. The staff are superb, attentive but not in your face. Shuttle to and from Positano, sometimes in their little mini bus or their mercedes... On arrival we had cocktails, a tour of the hotel, while the porter took our bags to the room. Prosecco and fresh fruit in our room. The room was a fine size, nice balcony. But we were out mostly so didn't matter. The pool was a bit small but as the weather was hot we preferred to walk down the 200 or so steps to the beach, which was cooler, plenty of umbrellas & recliners there. The breakfast was great, plenty of variety and a chef there to make you anything you wanted. We also ate at the hotel's upstairs terrace restaurant quite a few nights, and it was amazing. Hotel food typically "not the best" but here it was fabulous, so fresh, beautifully cooked and presented, more modern italian cuisine, which we loved and their wine list is quite impressive. If I had young children I wouldn't stay at the hotel, although there were 2 young children staying there and very well catered for. Personally, if I had young children I wouldn't take them to Positano, too hilly, too crowded. After our holiday I felt so refreshed on our flight back to NYC!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kh7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 844 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent four night stay at Casa Angelina at the beginning of November. The weather was a bit rainy, but we didn't mind because the staff had upgraded us to a lovely romantic room with a covered balcony that had an amazing view of Positano and Capri in the distance. We spent afternoons relaxing on the balcony and enjoying a bottle of wine, then wandering up the stairs into Praiano for an authentic Italian lunch/dinner. Praiano is a tiny fisherman's town, and the people are so friendly and welcoming. We had some delicious pizza and pasta meals (La Strada, La Brace, Trattoria San Gennaro). However, the main attraction is Positano which is a short 15-20 min drive from the hotel (they offer regular shuttles). We took the hotel shuttle in to Positano for dinner one night, but were happy to be staying in Praiano where it was less touristy.

Casa Angelina is a beautiful hotel with amazing views and amenities, but my favorite part was the warm and welcoming staff. Everyone who worked there was very sincere, without a trace of pretension. For a high-end hotel, this is such a refreshing quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the hotel's rooftop restaurant, and the breakfast buffet was amazing. They have an exceptional pastry chef and every delicacy we tried was memorable.

During our stay, we had one sunny day where we relaxed by the outdoor pool (very chilly water, but my husband did a few laps). During the evenings, we enjoyed the small indoor pool in the fitness center. There is also a nice (but steep) walk down to the beach. It was closed in November and much too rocky to swim, but I expect it's very pleasant in the summer.

Overall, our stay was excellent and we would recommend this hotel to our friends. It may not be for everyone (especially if you don't like the minimalist decor or smallish rooms). However, it's perfect for a romantic get-away where you just want to relax and enjoy time with your sweetheart--the views and service can't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were here for 1 night in the off season a couple weeks before closing for the year. We were extremely impressed by the attentive service and unusual, yet interesting decor. We were greeted by name and given a terrific tour of the hotel. They called to a restaurant for us for a late lunch, arranged for a off-time shuttle for us to Positano and even gave us their personal ibuprofen when what they had in stock was not sufficient. I realize we were not here at a busy time- but everyone on staff went out of their way to ensure we were taken care of. We often stay at Ritz Carltons and are staying at the St Regis in Rome on this trip- so we expect a certain level of service.

We stayed in a Romantic Sea view room. The all white decor really added to the focus on what is outside. It was an unusual warm November day and our room was warm- but opening the door to the sea breezes and sounds was both effective and relaxing. The bathroom is small yet clean and modern. The sink did not have enough room for all my cosmetics but there was a small table for added space.

The hotel has a ton of led lighting -star lighting in the bar and elevators is very cool - and expensive to put in. The glass enclosed front elevator is amazing. The room lighting is a bit much - 1the over the bed light actually lights the entire room. The entrance lights when you enter the room are too bright and very hot. The recessed lighting around the edge of the room is quite nice. Seems like there is 3x the lighting necessary for the space. The hotel renovators must have stock in a lighting co. With the large windows, sea reflection and fabulous over all natural light - seems strange! I am just being picky now since I am in business!

The roof top restaurant was terrific! All courses were multi-layered and the menu was interesting. Don't miss the Neapolitan-style tune appetizer - but definitely avoid the over priced bottled water menu. Without that, it was a perfect meal! Finally, portions in Italy that were not overwhelming! Wine list was very good and reasonable. In fact, our meal with a bottle of wine, apps and entree was 127 euros - extremely reasonable for the food choices and quality.

This is a very modern gorgeous hotel - the modern, artsy furnishings are truly distinctive and I completely agree with the reviewer who stated you felt you were a guest in a billionaire 's home.

That said, this is not a choice for children. Actually, the Amalfi coast is not a destination for children under 12. Too many racing drivers and cliffs! For a romantic trip for a couple or a group of couples or older children it will be very memorable. With young kids, stick to Disney or even Club Med!

Ciao!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

i have to say we went a while ago but it occurs to me that I never wrote a review so here is our take... we had a deluxe sea view with a huge balcony. well - the room is so small it is ridiculous - the balcony is huge but you have no privacy as you are only separated by your next door neighbor by tiny plantings in pots. We were on the top floor - right under the dining room. OMG - it was so noisy. They have no soundproofing in that hotel. Yes, everything is white. Yes, they have murano glass sculptures (many were chipped). Yes, most people who work there were nice - but Praiano is really a tiny town that you do not need to stay in - and that hotel is definitely not one we will go back to again. We were so disappointed that we never used the travel agent who recommended it again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip - super hip design, staff that were helpful and happy despite it being the end of the season, excellent kitchen and stunning views you never tire of. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: we had the least expensive room which was smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I decided to stay in Praiano as we'd read it was a nice quiet area. Casa Angelina was a bit of a splurge and it was certainly worth it. If you are looking for a hotel where you consider service critical then you are in the right place. Staff are not obtrusive but are certainly ready if you need anything. If you are looking to have close interaction with the other guests & staff this is probably not the place for you as people seem to keep to themselves. The rooms are immaculate & the turn down service sweet. The poolside snacks are reasonably priced & they use the freshest of ingredients . The cocktails are fantastic (limocello mojito & aperol spritz very good!). Most of the reviews said one should not miss having a meal at the restaurant. I didn't think it was that great. The staff again were attentive & the setting certainly gives a fine dining impression but considering the prices of the meals I thought they were pretty average in terms of favour, size & complexity. I'd suggest going to Vivaro or La Strada in Praiano or if you are after a fancy meal Le Sirenuse in Positano a better bet. Make sure you take advantage of the gym & the free classes offered at Angelina. It really is a stylish & relaxing hotel, with the best beach in the area (One Fire) just below, I think everyone should stay here at least once.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLouiseWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

excellent across everything. it's an experience never to forget! the views, the service, the staff, the rooms are all excellent. cleanliness at it's peak! the food is great! somewhat expensive but worth every dime! we only wish that we will be able to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwats02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,586 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $597 - $1,097 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing