We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven if in a "relaxing room"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Heaven if in a "relaxing room"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Do pay the extra money to stay in a "relaxing room" and you will have a grand time. Casa Angelina is a relaxed Boutique hotel at an amazing location. I agree the pool area is to crowded hence the balcony needed. You really have to be fit to go down to "one fire beach" where you are spoiled with good food and warm hospitality - very unexpected on this tiny "beach" place.
Dinner at the roof top is amazing. Especially for the view and the lovely service. Rosario is a great Sommelier and the whole team really lovely and relaxed. So much nicer to be able to talk to the team with beautiful names like "Italy". I have hardly seen such caring staff.
Breakfast offers fantastic fresh and healthy options rarerly seen even in 5 star hotels.
Its not a cheap place especially at this time of the year but we will be back and hopefully see many of the team again.
Thanks for two amazing days!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saperavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    107
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
42
567
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Currently on our honeymoon and overwhelmed with everything about the Casa Angelina. It's not cheap, but it is very good value for money as it is an experience never to be forgotten. Life is not about the amount of breaths you take, but about the moments that take your breath away and you will get those every day you are here.

Perfection

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a nice two night stay here but nice is not enough for Italy! It just felt soulless. So much effort and you felt lost. Big public spaces with blocked views and such a "one shop feel" to the decoration. Staff were fabulous but it just seemed a maze of tiny rooms with a nice view if you could get to the front of the tables at breakfast or dinner to enjoy it. Rooms ok but filled with silly bits of furniture where you don't need them, making it feel cramped. The pool is so tiny and cramped with lounges touching each other. We left the pool feeling angry and conned by photos we had seen. To many rooms me thinks. Beach is fun but noisy and a long way down. Shame as had high hopes. We just left feeling it was a good choice in the area but so much better on offer in Capri and Sorrento. Not for us.

Room Tip: To get a good room you have to pay. Not all equal here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Spent 6 memorable days in June based from this hotel.
Location, Praiano was ideal, just 8 kms by car (hotel has complimentary shuttle service) from chaotic Positano.
A very relaxing experience, one day I spent relaxing by terrace pool with spectacular view of the Mediterranean and Positano, where there is day light / sun until 8 pm ish and another day at the beach just below hotel (although be aware of the stair climb to return to the hotel). Remaining days were spent exploring the various towns on the Amalfi coast.
Single room was spacious, with a small balcony with a sliding door and a beautiful view overlooking the pool and the Mediterranean. Exceptional.
Service was exceptional - staff were professional and friendly, part of why my experience was so wonderful.
An added bonus was the classes run each morning - pilates, yoga etc which was a highlight - very experienced instructor and great way to start the day before heading off to explore.
Also had the opportunity to meet some lovely people who were also staying in the hotel.
Truely a five star experience, but not for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: worth requesting a balcony and water view room, I was lucky to be on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bondbaby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a super little hotel this is in many ways. An incredibly relaxed atmosphere makes it a lovely place to be. Even sitting inside the hotel with a book is very calming. The views of Positano are spectacular and the breakfast is superb.

We changed rooms half way through our trip from a standard room to a deluxe balcony room. This really is a hotel where it is worth paying for a better room. Private sunbeds allowed us to escape the rather crowded poolside and we really valued the extra space. Unfortunately, the cheaper room had a much better shower so it is worth checking whether your room will have a fixed-head shower (great) or simply a hand-held shower (fine but not amazing).

The pool is nice enough but a little small. There are great views right along the terrace but it does get a little crowded and sunbeds can be at a premium at busy times.

The hotel has a deal with the beach (no sand) below so you get a sunbed and towel. Although it's a trek (as everything is in Praiano), it's a nice enough place and the pizza was pretty good.

The service was generally quite good but not flawless. Staff did not always seem tuned in to what we were after and (with a couple of exceptions lacked the snap of a really top hotel). I don't want to be too harsh, though, as they were all very nice and generally did a good job - no big complaints.

There are regular shuttles to and from Positano, which is just as well as there is not really much going on in Praiano (that being said, Positano is hardly a thrill a minute either).

Overally, I would definitely think about staying there again if in Praiano/Positano but I might also opt for somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Grand Deluxe Suite and absolutely loved the entire experience. Close enough to Positano to spend time there, but by staying in Praiano you can also get away from the craziness.

We very much preferred the modern, clean design to the older hotels in Positano (e.g. Sireneuse), but of course this is personal preference.

Food was great, albeit expensive.

Only negative was there is not enough room around the pool, particularly with some guests putting their towels down to reserve the chairs and disappearing for hours at a time.

Highly recommended - we will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid the Eau De Sea rooms. The stairs are a problem of course, but also there is no privacy there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked the Eudasea room advertised as a unique experience on the sea. The hotel site mentioned that the room is reached via elevator and stairs. It did not mention over 200 stairs down to the room and a further 50+ stairs to the rocky seafront. We felt bad that the porter had to carry our cases down to the room. After complaining to the manager we changed to a room in the main building which was more accessible. The staff were excellent. The hotel is styled in modern "boutique" style with piped music and nightclub like flashing lights even in the elevator.

Room Tip: Eudasea is only for the young and energetic willing to climb 200 stairs to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing