We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View, lovely decor, Amalfi feelings”
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Open Gate
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz do Sul, RS
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best View, lovely decor, Amalfi feelings”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very cosy and all decorated with Amalfi Coast theme. We feel like in a local's home.

The view from the second floor is FANTASTIC, we had the full moon reflected in the sea, GORGEOUS. Very romantic, specially if you enjoy the little table on the balcony.

The staff was very helpful and kind, in the italian way, so don't expect the most sympathetic people in the planet. But you will realize kindness and good will is not abundant in this country and will appreciate.

Improvement Suggestions: Refrigerator on the rooms, wi-fi in the rooms ( it only works on the reception ), this is basics for this century's traveler. Breakfast self service, it is so practical and fast.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank erikabufv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    75
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
132
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Location in between beach and village so you can easy walk to both. We just missed a more welcome and personal feeling. The balcony was great but all empty. No flowers, no umbrella just plain. Same with the room. No extra, no fridge. It feels like the budget was tight. All good but not that feeling.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is a cosy, comfortable hotel. Its in a good location and the staff are very helpful.

Its great value for the money you pay though our room was a little noisy.

We stayed one night before moving to another hotel, would recommend for short trips as the pool doesn't have a pool or many amenities but the rooms are clean and large and have great views over the coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenavy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

You will not beat this hotel anywhere on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel is entirely staffed by the extended Lauretano family and they welcome all visitors as new family. The views are stunning, the food is authentic Italian and the rooms are comfortable & spotlessly clean. This is our third visit in 4 years and it will not be our last.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brankers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our stay at the Open Gate was perfect and we considered ourselves fortunate to have found such a lovely place so central on the coast. We had a large room with 3 beds and a huge bathroom - great for a family. The decor while, simple, provided us with everything we needed. The large shaded balcony was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and take in the marvellous views.

The owners were gracious and spoke excellent English, along with a few other languages. They were very welcoming and provide great tips on what to see. The walk to the beach was quite pleasant and interesting, although down a steep path (not for everyone, although the path was well-maintained).

We ate dinner here on the terrace both nights of our stay and it was the best dinner I had while in Italy. The seafood, especially the calamari, was delicious! The pizza was also excellent, and we even watched as one of the owners made it and finished it off in the wood burning oven. And it was complemented by the wonderful views of the coast.

The breakfast was quite extensive and a great way to start the day.

Would I come back to Open Gate? Absolutely, as it's charming hotel with gracious owners in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water. The family room on the second floor is quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a lovely little find this hotel was! We didn't want to be in tourist mecca of Positano and Praiano just along the coast was a perfect spot for us to explore the Amalfi Coast. The owners spoke excellent English which was a relief for me and my limited Italian! The food in their restaurant was excellent, we had been craving vegetables during our holiday and here we had an excellent choice! we got a bit lazy about trying other places for dinner because the food was so good at the hotel and as I say the owners spoke excellent English and it was nice to chat to them after a day out.

The view from our bedroom on the front was glorious, day and night. Our room was spacious with a generous balcony. We stayed here for 6 nights and were very comfortable.

We wanted to do The Pathway of the Gods walk which you an easily pick up from Praiano, and this was one of the the highlights of our holiday walking from Praiano to Positano high up in the mountains. If you like walking and scenery this is for you!

Study the bus timetable very well, once we missed the afternoon bus back from Positano and thought we would catch a taxi as it wasn't that far 35 Euros later!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our favorite memory from our trip to Italy, this family run business was fantastic! They treat you like family, serve you a wonderful breakfast every morning, and go out of their way to make your trip the best. The restaurant has wonderful food some of the best we ate while in Italy, try the Lasagna, best we had :) All the rooms have a balcony to sit out on and be mesmerized by how blue the sea is. it has a good size parking area, a must if you bring a car, we slept with our doors open every night to let the breeze in and didn't hear any traffic either.This definitely has a more relaxed atmosphere then in Amalfi or Positano, both of which are over run with tourist. We can't wait to go back and visit again, already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sea, so you can't go wrong when choosing this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneymom2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#12 of 20 in Praiano
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 20 in Praiano
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Property: Open Gate
Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing