We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Carmella and herzel, Israel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Open Gate
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
tel-aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carmella and herzel, Israel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Open Gate hotel in Praiano.We have only good things to say about this hotel.First, the people who run the hotel. This is a marvelous family with Stefania and her aunt and some other members of the family which welcomed us so nicely, with so much patience and always with a smile and good will to help in any situation, even when you could see that they are busy, because they run the hotel all by themselves.This is the kind of hotel that I will always wish to be a guest in.The rooms are simply furnished but very clean, from the balcony there's a beautiful view of the see, breakfast is Italian, good and full and above all is the restaurant of the hotel.Excellant pastas, fish, risotto, sea food, cakes, everything in high level of cooking, nice presentation, a real chef restaurant, maybe the best food we ate in Italy this visit. Thank you Stefania for making our stay in your hotel so good, and thanks to all the staff.
We shall recommend your hotel to other people and definitely wish to come again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar, sort of countryside, I don't have recommendation of a special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
123
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The rooms look out over the sea, the outdoor restaurant tables are on e opposite side of the road overlooking the sea. Truly magical with the full moon reflecting on the water. The rooms are pleasant and clean and the hostess is polite. However the hotel is really secondary to the breath taking views and dinner by the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed here in August. The hotel is well run by friendly and welcoming staff. Our family room was spacious and clean with marvelous views and efficient air conditioning.
There was a good selection for breakfast and we dined 2 nights out of 3. The food was good quality and the service excellent.
Parking was free and available, if a little cramped!
We walked into Praiano which took 15 minutes where there is a good choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger balconies, ours did not but it was larger than we had expected. All rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Trippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Once again, the TA reviews are absolutely correct. The family at Open Gate are wonderful, kind and accomodating people. Our stay was superb.

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in June and wished we could have stayed longer. The location was perfect, the room was clean and spacious & the views are simply amazing. We arrived on the last bus to Praiano, very close to 10pm and the family quickly checked us in and encouraged us to come to the restaurant at our convenience for dinner. It was late and they were so kind and patient with us as we were tired and hungry.

The restaurant was wonderful. The brick oven pizza was excellent & the kind man making the pizza was a joy to watch. Breakfast was a typical Itialian selection. If you want to order an omlet or American breakfast they do have that option. However, their pastries are very good & you're in Italy for heaven's sake.....eat like the Italian! The cafe was very good. The prices are remarkably affordable for the region....don't let this scare you off.

Since our time in Praiano was limited, we asked for their suggestions on how to spend our time. They suggested we stay close and explore the nearby marina. It was a wonderful suggestion and gave us a great feel for the local culture. We are hoping to return someday and if we are able, we will DEFINITELY be staying at Open Gate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMM_052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amalfi Coast in general is stunning. It's a trip I will NEVER forget. Open Gate definitely provided a wonderful stay for us for our 4 nights in Amalfi.

The rooms are spacious and feature doors that swing open to the enchanting Mediterranean Sea. We ate at the Open Gate twice for lunch and every day for breakfast. Although breakfast wasn't stellar, all the food for lunch was delicious.

Pasquale and Stefania are excellent people. The father, Gennaro, is a character and made my girlfriend and I feel welcome even more. They were accommodating and a very friendly family.

The prices are spectacular, the views are breath taking, and it's right between main town Praiano (to the right) and the beach, club, and artist tower to the left.

Don't miss this place... I will return here someday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
556 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this hotel mainly because it has free on-site parking, and it was one of the more affordable hotels in Praiano. Although if we ever came back, we probably wouldn't stay here again.
The pluses:
The staff is incredibly helpful and nice, and speak fairly good English.
View from the rooms is amazing, and most rooms have a really nice sea-facing balcony.
Parking is included in the price.
Breakfast is included in the price.
Fairly central location to 'centre' of Praiano (about 10 min walk)
Room and bathroom are clean and adequate. The water pressure in the shower is good and there was plenty of hot water.
Fairly quiet although it is on the main road, so there were nights when things got noisy (the cars zip by all the time, although less at night)

The minuses:
The bed was uncomfortable - you can feel the springs under the mattress.
There were lots of little ants on the floor around the entrance of the balcony. We had some food around, so we put it up on shelves and wrapped it well, thinking that this was the reason, and although this helped a bit, there was still ants around.
Wi-fi was only available in the lobby
Breakfast is pretty minimal (croissants, spreads, bread rolls, cheese, ham, juice and coffee). If you want an ommlette or any kind of egg dish, you have to pay extra.
We got sick on one day and were forced to eat at the hotel's restaurant - and the food here is quite bad - we had the pizza which was tiny for the price they were charging and too salty, and spaghetti bolognese, which was fairly tasteless. So, I wouldn't recommend eating here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Open Gate for 5 days around mid-June, we are a family of four (5 & 8 year old kids). The hotel and the room were nice and clean. Our room had a large balcony with a fantastic view of the Mediterranean.

The hotel is located on a very busy road and traffic is rather hectic at most time, although most drivers are careful when passing you, some of the tourist bus drivers are not. It scared me a lot initially, but after a day or so you seem to get used to it. Both SITA and local buses stopped closed to the hotel, if you prefer to walk to the city of Praiano it took less than 10 minutes. Prainao had some lovely restaurants, delis and shops. We also loved that you could fill up your water bottle at a machine close to the bus stop, 20 cents for a litre of water (sparkling or still). The beach is lovely, the walk to and from the beach is a good exercise and a brilliant opportunity to burn of the lovely food you are likely to have for lunch. Bring or buy swimming shoes since the small rocks are very hard on both small and big feet. They charge about 13 Euro for 2 sun beds and an umbrella for the day. Our daughter got stung by a jelly fish (medusa) so look at for them at all times.

We did not like the hotel breakfast that much, overload of croissants, a couple of rolls. You then could choose items from a breakfast menu (cheese, ham, salami, fruit, yoghurt and coffee), egg, bacon etc are charged extra (expensive). Dinner however was good value, beautiful food to a reasonable price.

Wi-Fi only works in the reception area (free of charge), not in guest rooms and some parts of the restaurant, the TV was very small with a bad signal). It was overall a very pleasant stay, if I ever get back to the area I would probably stay in Positano or Amalfi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#13 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Property: Open Gate
Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing