We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Open Gate
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was at the Open Gate with my daughter and son-in-law from Oct 3-6 2012 and wished we could have stayed longer. The view from our room (all rooms have a see view)was breath taking, and what can I say about the food except that with all our travels in Italy, we were not able to have as good meal as at the Open Gate. Home made,delicious food that tastes so good you don't want to brush your teeth before going to bed to keep the taste in your mouth! LOL. We recommended the Open Gate to other travelers we met during our trip and they fully enjoyed their stay as well. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PookieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
126
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We almost didn't book this place due to some of the negatives in other reviews but glad we did as this place is fantastic. Centrally located on the almalfi coast. We got off the bus in praiani and walked down the hill through the tunnel,all in all about a 10 minute walk. We realized we could have got off one stop later at stop 9. Leave from stop 10 as that is again walking downhill and with luggage that is easy rolling.
The bedrooms have an amazing ocean outlook, beds are not soft but all else is great. Breakfast included, which is typical Italian style so is a bit sweet, but plenty of it. We ate at the restaurant 3 of the 4 nights as the food was excellent.
Suggest. To hire a scooter which can be delivered to the hotel. Beach is close but as it is the almalfi coast do expect walking and steps. The hotel is family owned and run Stefania and Pasqualle are excellent and helpful and speak good English

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We returned at the hotel Open Gate this year and it was absolutely perfect for us. It is a very nice place an easy walk down to the beach of Praiano or by local bus you can reach the other towns/beaches of the Amalfi Coast. The room was very clean and sunny with amazing view of the sea. They offer an excellent breakfast and a very good restaurant of local specialities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is in the village of Praiano on the road about half way between the two big tourist towns of Positano and Amalfi. It was recommended to us by a friend who had previously used Praiano as a base. We stayed five days and we couldn't have asked for better. This is a family business and this family treats their guests as family. They helped organised scooter hire, fixed our pre-paid mobile phone when we couldn't read Italian and one evening on closing sat a chatted about the hotel and it's history. The hotel has a small parking lot to accommodate those travelling with a vehicle. We opted to get around on a scooter for our stay and had a ball! Breakfast was included in the room rate however the menu accommodates for those who want more than the standard European continental breakfast. After being half way through our Italian trip, if I saw another croissant I was going to scream. The scrambled eggs and ham and cheese omelette were a welcome relief. They even cater to strange requests like putting ice in your orange juice or putting Parmesan on a seafood pasta (a big no-no in Italy). We were lucky enough to have the room pictured in the brochure which gives a fantastic view of the Tyrrhenian Sea all the way to Castellabate and Capri. There aren't too many posers in Praiano so everything is a little bit cheaper and the beach is a jewel and free(unlike Amalfi & Posertano). Definitely worth a look.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29 (vinti nove) which was the one in all the photos of the hotel. Terrific 180 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I just spent the most incredible 5 days at this hotel, they rooms were comfortable, relaxing and quiet. We were treated like family Stephanie and pasquale went out of there way to make my 50th enjoyable providing a cake at dinner. We highly recommend this place anyone traveling to the Almalfi coast, public tramsport is easy to use and staff very helpful I. Organizing tours for you.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were looking for a place with a view for our brief foray to the Amalfi Coast - Open Gate won because of the great views from each balcony plus the cost was significantly less than other places. The hotel did not disappoint, in fact, it exceeded our expectations! The staff was absolutely wonderful, the hotel was extremely clean, the food was great, and the views from the balcony were amazing! I would highly recommend Open Gate as a choice for the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had booked the Open Gate from researching online (tripadvisor) and were looking forward to our visit to the Amalfi Coast. We got off to a good start driving from Rome and were taking our time heading south as we had worked out that the trip would take 5 hours folowing the coast and meandering along stopping for lunch, gelato and coffee. It all went wrong when our GPS failed because the pwer source in the hired vehicle had fused and the battery drained. Surfice to say we relied on the GPS we didn't have maps we got lost more than once or even twice and a truck had lost its load of potatoes on the road causing one hell of a traffic gridlock. We did eventually arrive iat the Open Gate some time after 11pm and we had phoned them at 5pm to say we would be a bit late. Not only had they waited up for us but they provided us withby then much needed wine and Nonna had been busy in the kitchen to provide a meal. Wow I love this place already. The next five days showed me they were like this all the time and we had a good room with a great ocean view. We ate in the restaurant and I can recommend their food and in all, they made the start of our Europe holiday memorable. But Oh driving on the Amalfi coast for five days does require nerves of steel and copious amounts of Vino after to recover.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.2 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#13 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Bellavista
Hotel Villa Bellavista
#16 of 20 in Praiano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Property: Open Gate
Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing