We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2006

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Tramonte d'Oro on the Amalfi coast which was a real tonic. The hotel has stunning views out over the Amalfi coast and you can sit and have your breakfast on the terrace in the morning soaking up the view.
The hotel is very much family run and the family are hands on, making sure that the hotel is kept up to scratch.

Both the public rooms and our room were very clean, and freshly presented. We also very much enjoyed the pool area which sits on the top of the hotel and again has a suprb view looking out over the coast. Our room(which was the deluxe type) was very cool even in temperatures of over 35 cenitgrade. And we enjoyed the balcony, the fresh towels every day and the very comfortable 6 foot wide bed.

The only slight criticism would be that the food at dinner was not as good as the rest of the hotel. This does not matter because Praino while being small by comparison to its neighbours has some lovely restaurants where you can eat well . The hotel is very quiet even though it is right by the bus stop and buses will take you either up or down the coast, so you do not need a car to explore this part of Italy

Lastly the front of desk staff were great, arranging and then rearranging trips when we could not quite make up our minds what to go and see. They were very helpful and sorted everything perfectly.

All in all a lovely and rejuvenating stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    139
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
201
386
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

We just returned from the Amalfi Coast and spent 4 nights with the Tramonto D'Oro. Lovely hotel - friendly staff, beautiful views and excellent location ! Praiano is a small town smack in between Positano and Amalfi (both touristy and in particular, Positano), so is a good spot to relax and experience some local flavor. We would definitely go back !

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed here in June. Having been to the Amalfi Coast area before, we knew Praiano made a good base for touring, seeing the area and we wanted a hotel where we could chill out in between the site-seeing. There is a nice roof-top pool and sun terrace- there seemed to be enough sun-loungers, even when the hotel got pretty full. The views are amazing and it was a real plus to have a view of Positano - which of course you wouldn't get by staying in Positano! (Positano is very pretty but it must be big in American guidebooks as it is full of Americans and the hotels are accordingly overpriced, be warned).
The hotel's communal areas are immaculate and exceptionally clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we prefer to go out and experience restaurants the locals go to but it seems to have a good reputation and there were quite a few private functions on during our stay. Parking is another plus.
There are very few hotels which are perfect and the reviewers who state this hotel is the "best in the world" need to experience a few more hotels...
A few things need addressing:-
1. We booked a room with a sea view, which it did (others had obscured views - see below). For the price of this hotel, I didn't think the rooms came up to scratch - they were very clean and large for Europe however the bed was hard, the linen basic, 1 pillow each which felt like sleeping on a sack of onions. The furniture was spartan and from the 1960's. The bathroom was the same - an awkward shower above the bath and the bathroom suite again from the 60's. I agree with the reviewer who said the drainage was poor and the towels very hard. I almost feel guilty being so negative here as overall our experience in this hotel merits the 4 point rating I have given it but it is important to be picky and the whole purpose of writing a review for others is to give the whole picture!
The room served its purpose but if I was looking for a basic clean room with a functioning bathroom, I could have paid a lot less than 200E a night like I did here. We did actually take a look at the "luxury" sea view rooms which i think were 20E more per night. there was no difference other than a slightly larger balcony and a (dated) jacuzzi bath (who is really going all the way to Italy for this??).

2. The buffet breakfast is adequate however is not nearly of the standard it should be at the rate you are paying for this hotel. More fresh fruit please (I can buy tinned fruit at home). I was also surprised to find the "orange juice" to be some sort of concentrate with sugar added. Cereals were basic and aimed at kids. More selection required in general.

3. Although they advertise as having Satellite TV, I think there were 2 English-speaking news channels and nothing else - this did not bother us - we do not go on holiday to watch TV but for a 4* hotel with international travellers, this perhaps needs upgraded. Also no internet access.

In addition, if a sea view is important to you, check in advance of your stay that there is a room with a view available - whilst lots of rooms face the sea, the lower rooms don't have a view of it and are obscured by garden/another building.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I did think that a few of them needed to get a bit more clued up on advice on local buses and boats/water taxis. There was general confusion here. Much has been said of the family who own the hotel and whilst I agree they were lovely and it almost felt like you were staying in their (albeit large) home, I felt we had more dealings with all the other hired staff. (Not a complaint, just a point to note).

Overall however a nice hotel in an ever better location but please don't rest on your laurels as they say!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank scotlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2006

Stayed a few nights at the hotel. Location wise is great for Amalfi with great views from room and at breakfast. Facilities were disappointing though for the rating of the hotel and the previous raving reviews. Room was ok, fresh, but bed and bedding was poor and bathroom facilites what I would expect from a budget hotel (soaps etc). Breakfast also big let down in general. No WIFI internet access also, which there is in cheap hotel across the road. Paying 180+ Euros per night one expects these as the normal these days for international travellers. All the same, polite and friendly staff, clean and good pool. But for the money I would either spend a bit more and get 5* or go across the road for half the price and use the sea instead of the pool!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jrsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Property: Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing