We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weddings Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Weddings Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel Tramonto D'oro will always hold a special place in our heart. A beautiful location run by a lovely family who take enormous pride in their property. We held our small wedding there in July, they were so accommodating we were able to plan the entire day from our home in Australia with absolute confidence and with all the support you could want. Forget expensive wedding planners! We had an amazing evening on a private terrace overlooking the ocean, with extraordinary food, lovely waiters and a babysitter. Incredibly good value, completely memorable and we are forever in the debt of the staff. We look forward to as many anniversaries as life will allow us back at this beautiful location.

Room Tip: Mediterranean rooms were well worth the extra cost. Amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCatapult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    125
    32
    14
    8
See reviews for
172
336
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Tramonto d'Oro Hotel in Praiano immediately transports you from a busy street to a tranquil, beautiful setting overlooking the Mediterranean. Extremely pleasant, friendly English speaking staff greets you and begins the magical transformation of experiencing the very best of a family-run all-service hotel. My husband and I were upgraded to a recently remodeled suite decorated in a lovely blue complimenting the spectacular blue of the sea. Immaculately clean and spacious we delighted in returning to it every day during our six day stay. The dining room accommodates indoor or outdoor seating facing the water. It is large and beautifully furnished. The breakfasts are a gourmet, sumptuous feast. The spacious pool area is also large facing the sea. La signora Teresa and her daughter, together with their entire staff, are the epitome of all that is gracious and hospitable to make your visit a memorable experience.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our colorful blue suite. The balcony was so enjoyable to sit, relax and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A memorable hotel for as during our travels over five weeks was the Tramonto D'Oro. Arriving late after a day travelling we were made very welcome and the restaurant served us dinner on the terrace with amasing views across the water to the sparkly lights of Positano. All staff from the front desk, restaurant and cleaning staff were helpful and polite. The advice given when organising our five days was excellent creating a memorable stay for us both. We will be recommending this hotel to all we speak to visiting the Amalfi coast, it is well positioned to use as a base to visit this area. Teresa and Chris

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had this hotel recommended to us by a friend of our daughter who had stayed there on a few occasions. This is a excellent hotel; our room (with balcony overlooking Positano's bay and with a view of Capri in the distance) was superb in every way. This is a family run hotel with a most accommodating management and staff who truly care about their guests. And to cap everything off, the dining room offers top level cuisine that you will long remember. We ate all our dinners in the hotel looking out toward Capri and Positano and into the sunset!

V&B

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a balcony. May cost a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed one night in Praiano during a walking holiday. The company booked us at Tramonto d'Oro. This hotel was a delight. They upgraded us to a room with a view of the Mediterranean (2nd and 3rd floor), so we had a delightful sunset view from our private patio. The floors are a bit thin, so the upstairs neighbors would have impeded sleep, but fortunately bedded down early. The next morning, we thoroughly enjoyed the sumptuous and varied breakfast buffet. Our room was standard size for American hotel, nicely appointed. The staff was attentive and friendly with good English. The location is fine- on the main road through Praiano (not much to do there except enjoy the sea). There is a stairway to a small beach and boat landing- worth the many steps to be that close to the surf.

Room Tip: lowest floor does not have Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family and I were there for a week at the end of August. The hotel and restaurant are excellent, the view magnificent, the staff wonderful, the owners fantastic! We could have not asked for anything better.
La signora Teresa, her family and staff took care of our daughter Leila and us as if we were members of their family, always having something for us a gift or a kind word. They even gave us a beautiful gift before leaving!
Everything in our stay was planned carefully, reviewed in detail and executed in great style.
They deserve a sixth star, because 5 are just not enough! THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this place after we stayed on the Amalfi bus past Positano by accident. The restaurant is excellent, the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff very personable and accommodating. Take the bus back in to Positano if you want to wander among the herded masses or just stay put and enjoy the beautiful view and the warm atmosphere. PS - as to the knocks on the coffee machine, avoid the "coffee soluible" button and just serve yourself a double espresso and top off with hot water for a perfect café Americano.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.8 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#8 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Property: Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing