We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommened”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Amalfi Coast and chose this hotel for its location on the coast, between the cities of Positano and Amalfi. The location was ideal but the setting is incredible. The view from the rooms is beautiful as they look out over the sea and we probably had a 15 mile view in most directions. The room is very large for European standards and the bathroom is huge and fitted with beautiful ceramic tile. The food is very good for all meals and you can choose to eat outside or inside ( recommend outside as the view is still stunning). The staff is very friendly and takes the time to direct you and give you advice about logistics and sights. One morning my wife slept in and when I arrived for breakfast, they insisted on making a breakfast tray for her. It's little touches like that which make a difference in a stay, in my opinion.

Praiano is quieter than Amalfi or Positano with little shopping but ideal as a base. The SITA bus stops just in front of the hotel and day trips to either place (or other places on the coast) are easy an inexpensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranabta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 842 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was on a day tour and our stop for lunch was at Hotel Tramonto. The views were amazing. The food was wonderful. The staff did a great job in accommodating our group so that we all enjoyed the views. The dinning room and bathrooms were spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My partner and I along with another couple spent 2 nights here and we loved every minute of it.

We drove from Rome and from the moment we arrived everything was perfect.

We were able to safely park our car off the street where it stayed for the entire time we were there.

We were warmly greeted and upgraded to 2 "rooms with a view".

Each staff member greeted us warmly and went out of their way to check we were happy.

We loved the breakfast and had dinner one night at the hotel which was amazing. The fish was baked then boned at the table for you. We had 4 starters, 4 mains, 2 deserts and a bottle of red all for approx €130. We thought it was great value.

The rooms were simple but spotlessly clean - we were only in them to sleep!

They arranged a 2 hour boat trip to the Emerald cave for us (€20) It was great to see the coast from the water but we all agreed that the extra €5 to see in a small patch of water was not worth it.

The bus stop to Positano is directly outside the hotel which is handy.

The 400 step hike down to the water is an effort but we enjoyed it.

The pool area was great with unbelievable views.

Hope to return one day.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bentsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time. The view from our room was just beautiful (definitely opt for the sea view and ask for an upper floor). The staff is so friendly and helpful. They want to make sure that you are enjoying yourself and have great suggestions for places to visit in the area. Praiano is a charming town and feels more laid back than the other towns in the area. I wish the wifi was stronger (but, we were on vacation so maybe it was best that we were disconnected for a while) and I wish they had someone making cappucinos in the morning instead of the coffee machine. Overall, the hotel is beautiful, the staff is wonderful and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to have a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Tramonto D'oro. We did book the superior room with balcony and sea view, the view or the room didn't disappoint. The view is breathtaking. The room was comfortable and clean. The only issue was that the wifi didn't reach our room but it was strong and free in the foyer.
I read some of the other comments and I agree that Praiano is a quiet little town quite different to Positano or Amalfi however there are a few good restaurants nearby. If you have the chance venture a couple of Klms down the road to Marina di Praia, we walked there and had lunch at La Pirata. It was a joy. You could of course take the Sita bus, that is a holiday highlight of its own

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a sea view, the view is what sets this hotel apart
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsieur_Miyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I chose the Hotel Tramonto d'Oro for the DAY.
Everything was excellent, starting from the location till the suite they reserved.
Mr. Raffaele Esposito was always at our disposal in order to make our wedding day unforgettable.
We think that Some pics (made by friends) are better than words... ENJOY YOU STAY!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaFarace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The views from this hotel are truly awesome. Sadly we found our "Superior Double" pretty average. The breakfast was uninspiring. Fruit out of a tin, yoghurt from a carton, help yourself coffee from a machine, juices from a machine, no home made preserves, cheese and meat selection sad. Although it probably commands one of the best views in the area the experience there was sadly disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
669 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $197 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing