We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect paradise hotel without the expense” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise hotel without the expense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

We stayed at this charming hotel 3 nights after our cruise. We loved the location as we drove a rental car from Civitaaveacchia (port) and parking was available at no cost. We also used the local buses that were so convenient to visit Positano, Amalfi, & Ravello. We loved the balcony in the morning with our cappucino. We went to town (they drove us down and picked us up after dinner). They were very accommodating and we felt the hotel was a great buy for the location. I don't think you could find anything nicer for the price. It even had Fox news which we enjoy. If we return, we will plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    220
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
302
770
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

My friends and I stayed at Hotel Margherita in October 09. This was the 5th and final hotel we stayed in during our 2 week tour of Italy. We couldn't have planned it more perfectly! Staying at this hotel was the best way to end our vacation. For any of you who are hesitant of staying in this less touristy town take my advice and book this hotel! There is a bus that picks you up RIGHT outside Hotel Margherita and in less than 15 minutes it drops you right in the center of Positano. The owners of the hotel are very accomodating, friendly, helpful in every way including picking us up from almost anywhere in Praiano. They will also drop you and pick you up from the lovely small beach in town. We didn't drive, but there is parking right outside the hotel for free. The restaurant is perfect for those evenings you wish to stay close. My friends and I spent alot of time on the terrace; reading, eating pizza from Jolly's right down from the hotel (only 4Euro for a whole pizza), playing cards and enjoying the beautiful view of the sea. There is a small and refreshing pool on the lower terrace which was just below our balcony. We had a very large room with a fully updated and very large bathroom. One thing I might mention is that they have a US electrical outlet in the bathroom so there is no need to bring one. We took a boat ride to Capri island for 50Euro which stopped for us to swim and circled the island before dropping us to explore for a few hours. The owner Andrea dropped us at the beach in the morning to catch the boat. I will always remember this lovely hotel and reccommend Hotel Margherita to everyone I know. I hope someday soon to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

a great hotel nestled on the coast high above praiano, this was the highlight of our italian
adventure hotel-wise. rooms were clean, spacious, well appointed with fabulous bathrooms,
sky tv, sea views and crisp linen sheets.
staff were friendly and quietly efficient and the owners had gone to some trouble to
provide useful information in a guide including local bus times.
they also valet parked our car, didn't charge for parking and on more than one occasion
picked us up when the buses failed to show.
breakfast was good with coffees made to order and a good choice of the usual continental
favourites.
we ate dinner twice and although it was all well cooked it was an odd hotch-potch of lard, fried
food and heavy carbs. one course was enough and the only vegetables in sight were
battered. for those on half board a week of dinners here would lead a shopping trip for bigger
clothes and a daily intake of rennies.
when i was ill they made vegetable soup especially for me which was so good i was
tempted to be 'ill' again the next night!
there's a brilliant little restaurant down the road on the first floor above the fishmonger (the
name escapes me) and a convenience store down the hill with the most amazing wine cellar
in the basement (tutti tutti) and a formidable bloke on the deli counter who insists on you
tasting everything you look at.
my advice would be to book bed and breakfast and enjoy being looked after by people who do
it well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed in July, and as soon as we walked through the door we knew we were in for a wonderful stay. The room was lovely, and with a huge private balcony and sun loungers.
The staff could not have been more helpful - from opening a bottle of wine for us, to arranging for us to travel with 2 others in a taxi to Naples, in order to make it cheaper.
The roof terrace was SO relaxing, with wonderful comfotrable sun loungers, settees etc.
If we return, then we will definately stay here again, it was wonderful.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HonkytonkDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

Our rating reflects the great value for money this hotel in Praiano offers. It ticks most boxes at a very reasonable rate.

We stayed 2 nights in a great room, small but clean, with a good shower, and nothing was too much for the management. The hotel also benefits from a small swimming pool overlooking the sea and a huge roof top terrace, which looks like it might be a lot of fun in the summer months. Our car was parked outside for free for the duration of our stay and on departure having left something in our room, management contacted us immediately, (through Facebook - very clever!). They were great with recommending places to visit, and even offered to drive us to the local restaurants. The only negative is the breakfast, which was pretty basic.

This is not for the 5 star traveller but the price reflects this. Look beyond the 80s decor and this is an excellent base from which to explore the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Margherita Oct 11-16 at the tail end of our 3 week honeymoon in Italy. We chose this hotel soley based by all the reviews on Tripadvisor as we met quite a few other tourists that did the same. First off, I would agree with everyones feedback on the service. This family run Hotel really makes you feel like "one of the family." Andrea/Suela/Giovanni...the chefs, servers....absolutley everyone was exceptional. Friendly, helpful, courtious....all the nice words you can think of to describe the hotel staff. So hats off to you all....and thanks!
We should have read the website and for that I blame ourselves....when you get to Praiano the Cita bus drops you off in town. Though the hotel is located only "500" meters away....its located up a huge hill! So if you have suitcases or backpacks be prepared for a bit of a hike! The alternative is to call the hotel and have them pick you up at the bottom of the hill and drive you up. Yes, they do this....none the less, I appologized to my wife numerous times for that little valueble piece of information I "missed."
The hotel rooms are nice and clean with every room having a nice view of the sea. The TV's are all equiped with satilitle with a fuction that lets you change the language to English. (was huge for us as the weather outside was not that nice) Breakfast in the lobby is excellent! Best cappacinno's we had were at the Margherita. Out of the 5 nights that we were there we had supper at the hotel 3 nights. There are a few restaurants in the town of Praiano which we did sample 2 of them....but to be honest, Margherita's food is really good! They have 2 local chefs that are related to the family of the hotel. It's like eating at an Italian familes house. They have a daily menu that is really great value, leaves you barely able to walk after. I think the only thing that we were disappointed with was the cooking school that they offer at the hotel. We were expecting to learn how to make a few dishes ourselves. This was more of a cooking demonstration as the chef's did all the work and we just sampled the dish after. No big deal but had we known we would have saved the 50 euro and spent it in the hotel.

All in all we had a great time....access to the beach is very easy to walk down to or if you wanted you can take the little orange bus that stops litterally in front of the hotel. This bus also takes you to Positano. The staff is really good at helping with all the bus schedules and every other detail you will need to make your stay pleasant. I recommend this place to families, couples, singles whoever!

Thanks again Hotel Margherita...we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank virgintrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

We recently spent three magnificent days at Hotel Margerita. After having to change our arrival dates, Andrea and Suela were nice enough to offer us a two bedroom apt. for the same price as a room, as our room was no longer available. The views from our terrace were amazing. We loved the location, as it was high atop the hill and away from the traffic. The local bus stops right out front and brings you to Positano center in 15 mins. We ate dinner several times at their fantastic rest. The staff was so friendly and accomodating, offering us rides and assistance with all of our needs. We had a rental car, and they offer free parking, which is unheard of in this busy area. Enjoy the views, sovor the food and wine. We'll be back next year. Tutti Grazie! Anrea and Suela.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinovinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing