We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, one of which was our wedding anniversary.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold drink of our choice and were told all about the hotel and the local area and given information on the hotel, maps of the area and bus timetables etc.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and had a small balcony with table and chairs. The view was absolutely amazing! We could see down the coast and out to sea. It was lovely to sit and watch all the boats go by.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices. I can recommend the chocolate cake! Good choice of fruit, cheese, ham etc. All the cakes, croissants and biscuits are home made and they are delicious. There also eggs cooked how you want them.
We ate at Mama restaurant up on the roof a couple of times and the food is wonderful. The first time we ate there was for our anniversary. We were given menus but no wine list. As my husband is quite happy with the house red and I wanted a bottle of Prosecco this was not a problem. When the drinks arrived we had to ask for an ice bucket for the Prosecco otherwise it would have just been left on the table. We didn't think this was very good service considering the reputation of the restaurant. Having said that the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They even brought us out a cake with a candle at the end of the meal for our anniversary. The setting/location for this restaurant is beautiful and very romantic. The views are truly wonderful, twinkling lights of nearby villages and towns.
We used the local buses a couple of times to get to Positano and Amalfi. They are very cheap but usually packed and you may have to stand for the whole journey. The hotel also arranged a boat trip for us to Capri, this is definitely worth doing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    231
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
319
804
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First off the staff are fantastic. As soon as you arrive they sit you down and go through all the helpful useful things like where the bus picks you up from, timetables etc....they take all the worry away from your stay. Had dinner the first night in the rooftop resturant which was delish not to mention the fantastic view. Hotel also has a car service for local beaches etc. We got the ocean view room which is amazing, balcony and very comfortable surroundings not to mention the lovely view. Pariano is a very quiet part of the Amalfi Coast so if you prefer the hussle and bussle stay in Amalfi or Positano, I however prefer the quiet. Bit of a journey to get here though, 2 buses from Salerno then just give the hotel a call from town and they will collect you. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Why go the Amalfi Coast and not pay the extra from the ocean view.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAMANTHA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I found this hotel through Trip Adviser and it proved to be everything the reviews said. The hospitality and service was incredible. Suela, Bianca and Gennaro went out of their way to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. The location is perfect and the pool was a god-send in the August heat. Breakfast was excellent.
Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mignon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were in Praiano in June of 2013 with our 3 teenage daughters. My 16 year old found Hotel Margheita on Trip Advisor and she hasn't let me forget that this was her booking. The staff was very welcoming, we ended up staying in an inexpensive apartment that was private, full kitchen, and enough space to please everyone. We LOVED our stay. The view was incredible and so was the staff. Everyday we walked to and from our room through the lemon garden, the smells were one that I will try remember this winter. We won't hesitate coming back to this retreat.

Room Tip: If you take the bus from Positano ask the driver to stop at the hotel. We received door service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlparra5com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Firstly I should say that this hotel is very good on the whole and the room that we had overlooking the sea was excellent (number 16; huge terrace and jacuzzi). The staff are very helpful and friendly and always willing to drop you to the beach or take you to the bus stop at the drop of a hat - a very handy service in Praiano as it is a very quiet town with few transport links.

However, there were two snags.

Breakfast was good and the egg-cooking service is fine in theory but we found it a little chaotic at times as they always seemed a bit light on staff and it made things a little slower than perhaps they should have been.

The only other gripe was the roof top restaurant. Its an amazing setting but we found it a touch overpriced, especially on BBQ night when the meal (good but not great) cost 50-60 Euros (excluding wine), which is pretty steep in a 3 star hotel. I also found the alcoholic drinks more expensive than the other hotels we stayed at on the Amalfi coast.

That said, the owners are extremely helpful and the staff polite and well informed and I would still happily reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea facing room and try to get one with a large terrace, they are realy worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyGinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I truly cannot say enough about Suela, Andrea and the rest of the friendly team at Hotel Margherita. They work hard every day to give the best service, whether it is the amazing view, speedy room service or excellent recommendations on how to spend your time in Praiano. The bed in room 21 is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The breakfast is light and very good. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!! THANKYOU Suela and Andrea for an amazing start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MooreSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I have just spent the most fantastic week at this wonderful hotel.Taxi transfer arranged for us from Naples ,cup of coffee on arrival and a full briefing on all the the local boat and bus transport around the Priano area.The service provided by this hotel(family run) was nothing short of exceptional, nothing was too much trouble free collection and drop off at the beach,wonderful cup of tea on returning from the many days out, and the roof top terrace(restaurant) with beautiful views and food fit for a king.Many many thanks to Suela for everything.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with sea view, small balcony but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing