We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly hotel with scenic views and food to die for”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A family run hotel perched high on the cliffs of Praiano, the Hotel Margherita was everything we could have asked for when staying on the Amalfi Coast. Located between the tourist spots of Positano and Amalfi, the hotel was well appointed, clean and comfortable, as should be expected. The surprises came in the quality of the food. Normally, I am one to give hotel restaurants a pass, or if it looks decent, I will eat there out of convenience. However, of the three nights we spent in the hotel, we ate at the hotel restaurant EVERY night - it was that good! There is nothing I would not recommend among the menu - which as befits a good restaurant has daily specials that really do change daily. It made for many difficult choices, as I would have loved to try more. The wine list was an additional surprise, with bottles ranging from 18 Euro for local Amalfi wines to hundreds of euros for St Emillion Grand Crus. The wine list was at least 8 pages long with representatives from throughout Italy, France and a handful from Spain. Truly impressive, and very unexpected.

The service was impeccable throughout - I was unable to carry my son's stroller up any steps if one of the staff was within eyesight. The staff was always ready to answer questions, and seemed to truly enjoy helping and hosting, while not being overbearing. Additionally, the hotel has a van which they will dispatch to take you to the "main square" in Praiano where local busses can be caught to Amalfi or Positano; they will also pick you up again if you call.

There is a small pool and sun deck (unheated, unfortunately), and dinner is served on an open-air terrace overlooking the Mediterranean during warmer weather (which we sadly couldn't experience this trip). A quaint lemon garden just off the terrace offers charm, and I suspect a source of lemon peel for what I am fairly certain was home-made limoncello. The inside dining room offered impressive views, and the view from our room's balcony was to die for. I would recommend this hotel to any friends, and would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the ocean view rooms - they are worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 96Wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Margherita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

The amalfi coast is outstanding, hotel margherita as well.
Family owned and managed hotel offering relaxing stay in praiano = away from the more touristic areas but nevertheless close to all interesting places (amalfi, positano, etc.).
Ask for a (superior) room with sea view and you will enjoy the same open sea view you will enjoy from the commun terrace (with excellent restaurant) and from the (small but convenient) pool; amlso from the open airfitness area.
To be recommended more expecially for couples who like hiking (senteri degli dei + lots of others).
Included in the price = parking for your car. Access by shuttle or local bus to closest beaches (those are few in the area).
Due to the proximity of the mountains, no more sun on the htel in the late afternoon.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the back; ask for superior room with sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a wonderful 8 night stay at the Margherita and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends.
The staff are all very friendly, helpful and happy to give advice when asked. They seem to know when they are needed and when they are not. The food was great and the view from the roof top terrace restaurant was magnificent. Our room was bright and clean, an added treat was the jacuzzi on our balcony which came as a lovely surprise! If there was one improvement that could be suggested then a larger shower cubicle instead of a bidet in the bathroom would be mine but other than that don't change a thing :-))
The hotel is convenient for local buses and they provide pick up and drop off to local beaches if the steep walk is not for you so a car is not a must. Parking - a nightmare along this coastline is provided and they are happy to park for you in the off road or underground car park.
This hotel has set the standard for family run independent hotels and we will look for more of them - beats a chain 4 or 5 star place any day of the week! Personal service always with a smile helps make any holiday memorable.
Continue what you are doing Suela and Andrea and we look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 if you want the jacuzzi - the seaview is a little limited compared to some other room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharin_in_shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during our Amalfi coast tour at Hotel Margherita. First of all, Praiano is the perfect location if you plan to visit the coast line. We stayed one night at Positano and we much regretted after the quality of service we got at this property. Suela (owner of the hotel) is an incredible lady. She speaks already 4 languages and she immediately handed us all maps, to do lists in the region etc like a personnal guide :) We arrived early on our arrival date and i think it was the first time that we were offered a breakfast straight away without an overnight! Our room with sea view was lovely and spacious. The terrace has a fabolous view, blue infinity, comfy chaise longues. We dined on of the evenings at their restaurant and the quality was great as well as the price. We wanted to rent a scooter to go to next towns (Amalfi, Ravello etc) and they drove us right to the rental spot which turned out to be the cheapest spot in Praiano. This family owned hotel offers a great service and perfect location. True value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy and France. Our first stop was Hotel Margherita (a small, family-owned hotel) in Praiano, on the Amalfi Coast. The hotel is so cozy and comfortable, and the service is top-notch! When we arrived, we were given a choice of the seaview room we booked, or the small apartment, at no extra charge. Since it was only the 2 of us, and we knew we wouldn't spend much time in the room, we chose the small superior seaview (not to mention, the view of the sea in the small room was a little better--though, both had wonderful views). Our room was small and intimate, with modest, but ornate furnishings, but we are still newlyweds (we were celebrating our 1-yr anniversary), so we preferred being close. So, the size of the room was perfect for us. We had a really nice balcony where we would unwind at night (after a day of much walking), and just take in the absolute quiet of the town of Praiano, and enjoy the fantastic view of the coast.

There is a restaurant at the hotel called M'ama, which is also run by the family (Andrea & Suela). The weather was really nice, so we chose to eat on the rooftop. The food was great, but I am not a big eater (I mostly eat small portions), so the gentleman felt offended because I didn't eat all of my food. LOL! It was cute! The pool area was pretty nice too. We were rarely at the hotel during the day, and at night it was a little cool, so we only spent a very little time at the pool.

Now, for the service--Suela & Andrea showed us where and how to do everything we wanted to do on the coast. The hotel has a shuttle which will take you to the bus stop, the beach, or any of the little stores in Praiano. They told us exactly how to get to Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano, and they also made our reservation for the boat excursion to Capri. Absolutely ANYTHING my husband or I needed, they were happy to accommodate (my husband was told by our wireless provider, that his phone would work internationally, and when it didn't, Suela & Andrea offered him their Skype, at no charge). On our last night, we had to leave at 5am the next morning to get our train to Rome, and Suela had her daughter to bring us a packaged breakfast for the next morning, since breakfast wouldn't have been served when we left. We thought that was beyond amazing!

We were so spoiled with the intimate and personal service at Margherita, that we held all other hotels, on our trip, to the same standard. Nope...they did not meet the standards of service set at Margherita. We are already planning our next trip back! Oh, yeah...and the price just can't be beat, for the value. And, how could I forget--FREE WiFi!!

(Tip: if you are looking for tranquil, peaceful accommodations, this place is definitely for you. If partying and noise of the city is what you want, you may want to consider another hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmostaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a friend recommend this wonderful hotel to us. From the moment we arrived we felt a part of their beautiful family. The location is peaceful and beautiful. Nothing is too much trouble for Suella and her amazing staff. We stayed in a room overlooking the pool, and of course the beautiful ocean. The room and hotel were very clean - it is obvious they take pride in their business and services to their guests. I cannot think of a single thing I didn't like and would not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone. Breakfast was a delicious spread - fresh orange juice and coffee and eggs made to order.
We had a package for 7 nights which included dinner every night, and we can happily say that everything we ate was more than delicious and the charming waiters in the restaurant were always attentive and clearly love their job.

We enjoyed swimming in the pool and one day they brought us to the beach which is a really nice place to swim also!

they truly are all beautiful people and we can't wait to stay again.

Thank you Suella and the Margherita family!

Stephanie and Jacqui xx

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_steph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here last year - just one night on the Amalfi Coast but it was perfect. Had drinks on the terrace in the afternoon and enjoyed the swimming pool with the amazing drop-off view of the bay.
Wondered the streets at night in Positano. The breakfast was lovely and staff so accommodating!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungK580214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
842 reviews
3.9 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
2.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,032 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $150 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing