We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Outstanding!”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Outstanding!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed, with friendly staff, a lovely clean room, fantastic breakfasts and amazing views.

On request, the hotel arranged a transfer taxi for the 50 minutes journey from/to Naples airport (100 Euros each way) and the driver was kind enough to be waiting for us as promised, even after a delay with our flight.

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted in such a friendly manner by the staff who even offered us a welcome glass of Prosecco whilst our luggage was taken to our room!

The restaurant serves a variety of Italian dishes; all freshly prepared and in line with prices in the local towns.

We used the local SITA bus to take us to nearby Amalfi. Reception staff were able to tell us where the bus stop was and where to buy tickets; they also offered to collect us on our return to Praiano, in the hotel's mini bus, in case we did not want to walk up the slight hill.

The views from the hotel are absolutely outstanding, and even though we had rain during our visit (end of March), the hotel had a number of umbrellas which we were welcome to borrow when we went out for the day to Pompeii (1 hour by private car).

Our room was beyond expectation with a free to use safe, complimentary toiletries and two pairs of slippers embroidered with the hotel's logo. Due to the time of year, we did not sit out on the balcony but there was a table and chairs which would be perfect for sipping a cool drink after a day exploring the beautiful area of the Amalfi Coast in the warmer months

We do not usually return to the same place twice, but would definitely not hesitate at staying at Hotel Margherita again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    231
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
319
802
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Such a WONDERFUL hotel! Don't hesitate for a second.
First of all - amazing view. Second - amazing view. And third - amazing view!
WOW! This great balcony with 180+ degrees of amazingly blue sea, and cliffs....
The staff is really really nice & helpful and you really feel that they care about you and will do anything to make you feel ggod.
We stayed with our 7 yrs old twins and it was great. I will definitely come back (maybe in warmer months, to use their nice pool).
Amazing value for money.
On the last day we needed a special transfer (not from the hotel) and they arranged it for us at a price cheaper than the cheapest offer I gor from taxis.
The restaurant (M'ama (not Mamma)) is OK too.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor rooms in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I loved this hotel, location is good but be aware the 'hill' down to the main road, bus stop if you are on foot. It's a gentle slope going down but going back up at midday would be torture for some so keep this in mind. I would say if you are young and fit, you really wouldnt need a car to get around. Our room was lovely, we arrived at night so had a magnificent surprise when we opened up the shutters in the morning to an amazing panoramic view. Facilities are great-plenty of space to relax or have a drink, breakfast was good, we ate at the restaurant most nights and although not the most inventive food it was certainly enjoyable. Some great details, like the book of walks in the area and the welcome drink. We also used the outdoor gym, which was good. Only negatives were the rather hard beds. And that dog....it was cool so we were happy to sleep with door closed but can see how this could be problematic in summer. This can't be helped by the hotel so just be aware.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Madame & Sir,

thank you very much to have choose us & for your wonderful review!

I take the opportunity, from your review, to specify to all our future guest to phone us when they'll be without car: we have our free car to collect from the Sita Bus stop number 7 in Praiano.

About the matress: our rooms are equipped with Tempur mattress. The quality is very good but, of course, in case a guest like a different mattress or pillows we offer the option to change them.
We're sorry that you didn't ask us. Our greatest pleasure is to guarantee a nice stay.

In the room we dispose of double glasses balcony to assure a nice sleep.

Thank you very much!

Kind Regards:
Suela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel Margherita in October 2012, for four nights. This hotel is everything and more of it's raved reviews on Tripadvisor.
- Mini bus pick up and drop off anytime, no timetable to adhere to;
- Helpful staff at reception, lead by Suela;
- Tickets for the local bus between Praiano and Positano;
- Maps and information on local transport and tours;
- Roof top restaurant spectacular views and delicious meals;
- Welcome drink and even offered a coffee on our departure;
- Delicious and extensive breakfast on offer;
- Quiet little town away from the tourist madness of Positano and Amalfi;
- Major towns easily accessible by the SITA buses (public transport);
- Secluded little beach, hotel mini bus will take you there;
- Rooms with the best Amalfi Coast views;
- Highlight was a cooking lesson with the lovely Mama of Hotel Margherita and the Hotel Chef. Priced at 20Euro for 3 courses a bargin and then you get to sit down enjoy your home cooked meal and admire the views of the coast;
- Another highlight a big day out trekking along the 'Walk of the Gods', the best views can be seen of the coast from these heights;
- Isle of Capri tours can be organised by the hotel, not to be missed;
- Pompeii should also be visited a wonderful full day adventure;

Wonderful hotel so glad we chose to stay here.

Thanks to all the staff. who made it such a great stay. We much preferred staying on this side of the coast rather than Sorrento, so much prettier and you can still do Isle of Capri and Pompeii Tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lepard92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only had one night on the Amalfi Coast and were glad that we stayed here mainly for the panoramic view we had from our room. We drove up and parking is directly opposite the hotel along the main road and it's free which is great (the car actually has the best view). During check-in they offered us a welcome drink which was nice...freshly made coffee and orange juice!

The room was massive. It cost 129 euros a night which was probably the most we paid for a room during our trip but it was worth it if anything just for the views. The room furnishings may not be modern at all but hey who cares as you should be spending your time on the balcony enjoying the views. They provide free wifi, Sky TV, an Ipod dock and USB charger, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, shampoo, soap, cotton wool and buds. The bathroom also had a massive bathtub which was so good.

Breakfast I felt was a bit of a let down however. Maybe because it's off-peak season but all the other continental breakfasts we've had in other hotels/B&Bs looked and tasted better. The hams, cheeses and breads just seemed rather lifeless. For the price of the room I'd have expected a little better. The breakfast does start at 7am though which is earlier than all the other places we stayed as they usually only start at 8am. However, checkout is only at 8am (if you intend on leaving earlier than that you should probably inform them the day before if not the lady who does the checkout only comes at 8am).

We did have dinner too at the restaurant and it was pretty good. Freshly made pastas. The restaurant isn't up on a terrace like some pictures show though..maybe because it's not summer but all the tables are on the ground floor near the reception.

Location-wise...Praiano is about 7-8km from Amalfi itself so if you're thinking it's nearby, it's not. It's easily about a half an hour drive. I can't say much about taking buses in the area since we had a car but I imagine it'd be easier to move around with a car..if you're brave enough to drive in Italy. Unless you're happy just walking around and getting to know the neighbourhood there isn't much to do around the hotel itself (it is mostly local residents around the area with small lemon and vegetable farms). In the room they do provide books about Amalfi coast which show you all the different walking routes but none of them really start from the hotel area.

Getting there - We drove down from Naples and it took us 2 hours to reach the hotel (including traffic etc) and same on the way back. We had an 11am train to catch to Rome and we left at 8am and reached Naples by 10am. Do not believe what Google maps says about the time it takes to reach (~ 1 hour) because they assume you'd be going 100km on the super windy and narrow roads. You also have to factor in the traffic as there tends to be pile ups due to road works.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but we had Room 28 which was a corner room which had its own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

What a great family run hotel and restaurant. I have no suggestions to make it better!!! It is not in the hustle bustle spot of Almafi or Positiano. Just ideal location and beautiful kept hotel. A definite 10. Mcb from La

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank space17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Space17,

we like to say thank you for the beautiful words.
It's very nice to start working with these review!
I hope you'll come back soon in our house and we hope that this is also your house.

Kind regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off the 5 star service begins when you email ahead for advice or any questions you may have on getting there or the facilities...extremely helpful
Then you arrive and receive the most perfect service from Suela and the rest of the family and all the staff
These guys could not do enough for you, being really considerate to the end
The hotel is wonderful, The rooms were clean and very nice, the view is spectacular, the food was great.
Is this 5 star luxury? No but that's not what I paid , What I got was 5 star value for money.
I cannot wait to go back.

Just one point of note we went in march, weather was mixed and most of hotels in Praiano were closed so eating out options were limited for this time of year. All kicks off in April. Didn't spoil a thing though, loved that it wasn't busy!

Fantastico !

Room Tip: I'm assuming they are all the same, but ours was 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hambo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Hambo62,

we lie to say thank you for your beautiful words.
Is a great satisfaction to make our guest happy.

Praiano in March offers fewer opportunities for recreation but we are sure that the beauty of nature, the calm and quiet of these places in the spring time has made your stay unique.

We hope to see you soon.

Ciao,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing