We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, comfort, amazing views and touches of luxury”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality, comfort, amazing views and touches of luxury”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I echo all the good reviews here. This is a great find on the Amalfi Coast: great value; lovely family warmth; nice touches (glass of prosecco and olives/crisps on arrival); spacious airy room; fabulous terrace and views. And they've clearly spent money on things like the terrace furniture. Have stayed in 4-star (even 5-star) hotels that don't measure up to this hotel in terms of facilities, comfort and quality. And they really win on the small stuff, like free wifi, providing us with a cork-screw without batting an eyelid, range of books to borrow.

Room Tip: Were in Room 24 which was lovely, airy, had a full bath and a lovely balcony with fabulous views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fs001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    239
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
342
844
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Four of us stayed at this hotel for 5 days as part of a month long trip around Italy, and I would say this was my favorite stay of our trip. The owners and staff were extremely welcoming. A drink on arrival along with detailed information on how to get around with bus timetables and maps. They will also drive you down to the bus stop and then pick you up on your return, nothing seemed too much trouble to help in any way. They arranged and booked a couple of trips for us, we also used the transfer company the hotel uses to get from the train station to the hotel which was great. The rooms were clean and spacious with amazing views from our balcony. We ate at their restaurant every night, the menu was varied and the food lovely. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in that area. Thanks Suela and staff for your warm hospitality.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Margherita for 4 nights and it was fantastic! Welcome drink on arrival - explanation of what's what and where. Room fantastic - view from balcony amazing. Rooftop restaurant and lounge area - extremely inviting and relaxing, again with great views. Great cocktails. The pool area is great, we didn't use it too often, but it would be best earlier in the day as it doesn't get that much sun in the afternoon. The breakfast is great and plentiful, with eggs cooked at your request. We ate at the restaurant 1 night - entree's were fantastic, tasty and full of flavour. The mains - they were another story. Very ordinary and a little disappointing. A bus ride away from Amalfi, Sorrento and the beach - definitley do the Capri tour, which can be booked through the reception desk. We were well looked after and I would not hesitate in staying again at the Hotel Margherita. Thank you to Suela, Andrea and their team for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYL11Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but had lunch at the restaurant. Very nice rooftop restaurant with beautiful ocean view. Food was good and service on-time. Kind of expensive for lunch (€40 for 2 with half bottle local wine). We asked directions to the owner and thought he was kind of cold and not really helpful. Wouldn't go back just because of him!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Principe_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Owner at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Fantastic!

We work every day to make pleasant the stay of our customers. And many of them thanked us for the kindness, friendliness and very helpful. All this makes us proud and motivates us to do better.

Then comes the principe_pat ... and, with a cursory glance, says we are cold and not really helpful... Cute even the judgment on the price of lunch: kind expensive €40 for a lunch for two with wine?...

We prefer not to comment. We take inspiration also from this review to improve. We just hope that customers have more information about us to judge our work.

Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

On arrival, after a drive which can only be described as a 'baptism of fire' on the spectacular Amalfi coast road (in the dark!), the hotel was a welcome sight. Even though we arrived after the sun had gone down we could sense that the area was beautiful and peaceful. A glass of red was awaiting us and the check-in was quick and very friendly. We were given a brief description of the essentials and were shown to our room, which was clean and large. As we were fairly late we decided to eat at the roof terrace for a meal. The roof terrace deserves a review in itself. Simply put, it is top quality. The setting is out of this world with breathtaking views of the coast. The hotel, if it chose to be pretentious, could charge a fortune and attract the rich and famous to eat at its venue, just like other restaurants in the more illustrious neighbouring towns. I am slightly loathed to reveal this special hotel but if I didn't review it then i'd be a hypocrite because I booked our holiday based on the reviews on tripadvisor. The wine was plentiful (litre carafes) and delicious and the food was the best we had out of all the towns we visited (amalfi, positano, capri). Can't really say anymore. We payed for a sea view and when we awoke the next morning it was well worth it. We aren't early birds but set our alarm to see the sunrise and then went back to bed. Try it once, its gorgeous and very photogenic. Breakfast was basic but tasty with continental meats, cheeses and freshly made to order omelettes and eggs. You could tell the staff wanted to help, information was accurate and in-depth. It was my girlfriends birthday whilst we were there and the hotel presented her with a cake which was a really nice touch. They ran a shuttle service to local areas such as the beach and town. Just a quick word on the regular travel forum topic of 'best place to stay on amalfi coast' or 'praiano vs positano'. Positano is spectacular, especially when arriving and leaving because this is when the views are at their best. The boat trip to capri is quite surreal, as you leave positano you won't have seen many better sights. However, Praiano is far more intimate and relaxing. We were as confused as most with reference to which town to stay in but we definitely made the right choice in Praiano. Also, October is a fantastic time of year to visit. Very warm and quiet, but still atmospheric. We weren't particularly 'excited' about the drive back to Naples after our initial experience but it was great fun. The road was quiet and so scenic. The route exceeded all the hype and I would be disappointed if I never got to drive it again. Thrill seekers will love it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T1TOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great town along the Amalfi coast. First, I love the location, amazing views of the ocean. We watched the sun rise and set every day from the balcony. Secondly, the service of the staff was incredible. The owners, Suela and Andres, treated us like we were the only guests and they seemed to energetically do this for everyone. They gave us directions for hiking the Path of Gods trail, complete with a printed map. They arranged for a private car to pick us up at the train station in Naples. They also looked up and planned each of our journeys back to Rome. Their dining recommendations were very helpful and this was in spite of having a great restaurant on site. They were still happy to recommend other places. The on-site was very good as well. We ate there two nights and the owner and owner's nephew were very attentive. Lastly, the room was clean and the bathroom very nice. The breakfast had delicious coffee and array of great homemade pastries and eggs to order. This hotel certainly exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: The balcony is divided so you can hear your neighbors if you are both outside enjoying the breathtak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel had been recommended to us by a friend of my husband as his favourite hotel on his Italian trip. When we arrived at the Hotel Margherita it was raining and we were tired from the drive out. We were greeted with "don't worry about your bags or car, we will take car of it. Would you like a glass of Prosecco?" That was the start of our 5 day stay at the hotel. The service is amazing and the food fantastic. The rooms were very comfortable with a great view off the balcony of the coast.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawright63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
817 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
993 reviews
3.9 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing