We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent 5 days here, the staff were brilliant, provided a champagne on arrival, great breakfast, and free internet, amazing views of the water. for what you pay its was extremely good value. a bus away from position, amalfi.. would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was lucky enough to visit Priano in June. Hotel Margherita was truly an amazing find. Clean, large rooms with great views of the water. We also stayed in the rooms facing the lemon grove for two nights. I was concerned how those rooms would be since they were not facing the water however I was pleasently surprised. There was a very large patio area outside in the lemon groves. The bed we had was also very comfortable unlike most you will find in Italy. My only complaint is that the pool area is quite small and noisy if there are children staying there. I wish the additional lounge chairs were availble that overlooked the pool. This wasn't a huge deal since there are additional lounge chairs on the top level. Overall the hotel is a great find for the price. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Outstanding for a 3-star hotel. Family-owned and run, they went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. Breakfast included omelette and fresh-squeezed orange juice. We would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to our friend and family.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor with balcony. My sister had a flat out on the edge of the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigertonio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I had been traveling for 32 hours from Australia when we arrived at the hotel. My inlaws and aunt and uncle who were also traveling with us had arrived at the hotel earlier that day and were impressed by the welcome they received. As our flight had been extremely delayed we didn't arrive to the hotel until 10.30 pm. The hotel staff were genuinely worried and contacted us to ensure we were ok. They even kept the restaurant kitchen open for us so we could eat upon arrival.
That was the first impression and we knew we would be well looked after. The room was comfortable and we had a beautiful room and with a gorgeous view!! Breakfast was included and was more than we expected. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with day trips, advice and even parking our car for us . We missed the bus that first morning into Positano so they actually drove us there as they felt it was their fault!! The restaurant M'ama was amazing. We spent many afternoons sitting there admiring the beautiful view and sipping on cocktails. The food was outstanding. We ate at the restaurant most nights as the view, service and food was impeccable. The pool area was beautiful - swimming whilst looking out onto the coast was spectacular. Unfortunately there isn't a lot of space to laze around but it didn't bother us because we would go to the pool in the late afternoon and at that time we didn't have a problem getting a spot. Our stay here really set the standard for the rest of our accommodation of our 6 week trip in Europe. It was the only 3 star place we stayed in and I normally wouldn't look at 3 star but this place was well and truly better than the 4 star places we stayed elsewhere in Europe. I was also worried given I had booked here for my inlaws and aunt and uncle and it is always a worry booking on behalf of other people but they were extremely impressed! The free wifi was also an added bonus that we weren't expecting. We were sad to leave this hotel and it was definitely the stand out of our holiday. I would highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait to go back. Thank you Hotel Margherita.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from a week spent at the Margherita hotel, and it was fabulous!

Everything, from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, was catered for effortlessly by the family and staff who run the Margherita.
Luggage was taken care of as soon as we arrived, and a drink of our choice served to us in the lounge. We felt very welcome!
Our room was lovely, facing the sea on the first floor, it had everything we needed, a fridge, large balcony with table and chairs, large comfy bed, lovely, well equipped bathroom, and a view to die for!
There is a nice sunbathing area and pool on the 2nd floor, which was never full, so very enjoyable, again, with the same breathtaking view.
We were half board, and the breakfast choice was varied, and very filling, and the coffee fabulous. Evening meals were very good, plenty of choice and served on an open terrace overlooking the sea.
A special commendation for the service all over the hotel, we have never before encountered such knowledgeable, and helpful owners and staff, and we are well travelled! This hotel should have 4 stars!!








;h

Room Tip: Please ask for a sea view room, the view made our holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyf31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I were told by friends how good this hotel was. It exceeded all expectations. The most beautiful and wonderful staff, with great attention to detail. The room was magnificent, the view even better. Breakfast cooked to perfection, dinner outstanding. To Seula and all the staff (her cousins), we can't wait for our next visit.
Praiano is perfectly located, away from the touristy Positano and Amalfi, but right in the middle of the both of them.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our family of 4 including two teenagers (age 13 and 15) stayed in the superior quadruple seaside view room for 6 nights in the town of Praiano. What an outstanding experience it was! We were all in one large room (with queen bed and two twins), a nice bathroom and a balcony with an outstanding view of Amalfi. The service at this hotel was outstanding. The room was clean and very pretty. Getting to the hotel without renting a car is a bit painful so we recommend you pay to have the driver to meet you in Naples and avoid taking the Circumvesuviana train. We had a free driver at our disposal to take us to the beach and town the entire time, which made it easy to not rent a car. Driving in the Amalfi Coast looks treacherous so it's best to leave it to the experts. There's a nice store within walking distance that had everything you need and an amazing selection of wines. The hotel has has a small pool with a beautiful view that we enjoyed and a terrace with lawn chairs. Our favourite part of the the stay there was the roof-top terrace and restuarant, where we had dinner most nights (except for two nights when it rained and ate indoors which was still nice). The food and service was outstanding and view was amazing. Our waiters, Francesco and Mario, made it an even more enjoyable experience. Breakfast was included and was very good with a buffet and eggs that could be made to order. Our hosts Suela and Andrea made this a truly memorable experience. When we return, we will definitely stay there. Compared to hotels in Positano or Amalfi, this is amazing value and service for the money and you have the same view. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a seaside room no matter what!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulyCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
2.8 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $178 - $1,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing