We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveler rating
567
195
62
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
567
195
62
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach beach restaurant the cliff amalfi coast junior suites sea level unique hotel amazing views water taxi beautiful experience an adventure up to date our honeymoon stunning location hotel guests restaurant staff large balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you want to stay away from the crowds and see beautiful views from every part of the property, and have a little “adventure” to get around the property, then this hotel is for you. It is carved out of the cliff and requires an elevator to reach the main floor for check in. The property has many elevators and staircases to reach multiple parts of the building from the lobby so be prepared to plan time to get to your room and time to get to the beach, nothing is fast here, but it is an adventure. The views are breathtaking and you could spend hours discovering every little terrace and walking the grand staircase all the way to the beach level. Be prepared that it is not an ordinary beach, you do have to climb over large rocks to reach the actual pebble beach with no seating, but it is very private with no other visitors except the hotel guests. The beach level restaurant and bar provide lots of seating and you could spend the day hanging out there with multiple excursions over the rocks to get in the water. The private dock was a nice feature to catch water taxis or have a boat tour arranged for the day by the concierge. The breakfast buffet was very good, lunch (pizza) at the beach bar very good, however dinner was good as well but was pricey for what you received and only offered spaghetti for my picky pre-teens/teenager. Be prepared that you have to seek transportation to go anywhere off property except for a 10-15 minute walk to Praiano. Our room was very large and updated with a spectacular balcony. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience and we would go back!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank dandlnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As usual, the most wonderful stay at the Tritone. My husband and I come to stay here once or sometimes twice a year. There is no place like the Tritone. From the minute you arrive you know you are welcomed and HOME! At this point we consider all the staff our FAMILY and would never stay anywhere else. The rooms are spotless, the food is absolutely delicious, the grounds are immaculate, there are no words to describe ALL the staff who welcome us with open arms. It is OUR pleasure to stay with you ! Grazie, see you in September!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 99Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Tritone for 7 nights. We loved it. It is the quintessential Amalfi coast experience. Perched high on the cliff face with views to Positano and on out to Capri as well as of the neighbouring Praiano. There is a constant parade of small boats up to giga yachts and the blue Mediterranean glistening in the sunshine.
Our room was comfortable without being lavish. It was functional and quite spacious with a large deck from where you could just relax and enjoy the view. I loved the quaint lift system that required 3 changes to eventually get down to the ocean deck. It took about 5 minutes if all the lifts were waiting when you pressed the button but for me the slight inconvenience was fine as it highlighted the difficulty it must have been to construct in the first place. It is true testimony of the vision and determination of the original developers.
The food in all the hotel outlets was good without being outstanding but it was always good value and satisfying.
The staff were extremely polite and helpful making great suggestion for day trips, restaurants and transport which made our days much more enjoyable.
We hope to return to this stunning place in the future

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HughnDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhoteltritone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tritone, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Dear Mr Wheeler,
many thanks for finding the time to leave us a review.
We are very happy to read that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel such as the outstanding location, the room, La Cala delle Lampare restaurant and the professionalism of our staff, which is the best compliment that a Manager can receive.
We hoping to welcome you back soon,
Best regards
The Manager - Salvatore Gagliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

Hospitable front desk/ valet were knowledgeable and helpful in planning out daily activities. The rooms have a quaint, 'homey' feel, but that doesnt matter because the views are unlike anything you've seen! Waking up and opening up the balcony doors to the sound of waves crashing and the sun hitting the cliffs just right is the ideal way to start the day.

The beach/ pool area is great. The bar and restaurants are phenomenal (although expensive, but hey! you're on vacation)

Good times to be had at the Grand Hotel Tritone

(Shout out to elaina at the front desk....and to the valet guy that looks like Ethan hawke)

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bartleby-bones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhoteltritone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tritone, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for finding the time to leave us a review!
We are very happy that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel such as our beach and pool areas; La Cala delle Lampare restaurant and our bar; the room and the professionalism of our staff, which is the best compliment that a Manager can receive.
We hoping to welcome you back soon,
Best regards
The Manager - Salvatore Gagliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Great service as well as a world class restaurant. The hotel was closed when we arrived because we got lost (make sure you get your GPS coordinates, as GPS is sketchy in the hills on the way. The front desk was kind enough to have a buffalo cheese and tomato salad made for us anyway. The views are spectacular as well as the private beach. We took a water taxi to Positano and although a short boat ride for 30 euros it was still amazing.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Journey49161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhoteltritone, Direttore at Grand Hotel Tritone, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our property and loved the location, the stunning view from every corner and our unique beach club, a gem on the Amalfi Coast.
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Grand Hotel Tritone,
Best Regards
The Manager - Salvatore Gagliano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews