We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Woerden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful location, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed a week to explore the Amalfi coast, Sorrento, Capri, Naples and Pompei. This hotel offered a relaxed stay with stunning view from our balcony.
Friendly staff, good kitchen and really nice to start the day with a good breakfast on the terrace with amazing view. Parking service was great. Going to the sea terrace by elevators was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    157
    51
    19
    17
See reviews for
152
348
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early May, before the "season" really started. We had a junior suite - bedroom and sitting room with french doors in both rooms leading to a huge, private balcony with incredible views of the coast and Praiano to the left and Positano to the right. Balcony had comfortable chaise lounges and as a sun worshipper, I could have stayed there the whole trip. But then I would have missed the huge bathroom lined in hand painted tile with the biggest tub I've ever seen (unfortunately the whirlpool tub was not working). And the hotel dining room - had a lunch served on our first day after the dining room was technically closed - they graciously served us incredible pasta - the best I had in my 10 day stay in Italy - and wine, and a dinner there, I am vegetarian and had good options. Very nice wine list. Had breakfast buffet every morning, loaded with fresh local fruit and everything else under the sun. Many of the servers and desk staff are members of the family that owns the hotel and their dedication and genuine interest in our well being was felt at every turn. Easy to walk to and from Praiano, and great parking at the hotel right off the road. Elevator to the beach and the pool area - another pool nestled into the hillside at the top. Whole place is filled with blooming flowers and huge plants that twine along every surface. A lovely, old world feel. Really beautiful, magical place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good location, very nice view from the seaside of the hotel. However the hotel needs to be brought up to date, furnishing is old, bathrooms small and poor lighting. Walls a thin and you can hear people when you are in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The standard rooms were very simple and basic ( very clean).
The amazing thing is the panoramic view and the amazing private beach. We stayed two nights and if we knew what we know now - we would stay there for all the stay cause its the perfect location for. STAR trip - between Positano and Amafi.
The breakfast was reach

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raanananit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is probably the hotel with the best view on the Amalfi Coast. It is between Praiano and Positaro, some 15 minutes walk to Praiano and 30 minutes walk to Positaro. If you don't have a car then this is not the best place to stay since public transport (bus) is available but is not running very frequently (at best 2 times an hour). Bus stop is in front of the hotel. There are enough parking places available, at least in May (hotel was not full) and they are easy to access.

The hotel itself is good with friendly staff. Restaurant is good, but expensive. A cappucino in the lobby is Eur 5. The pool is great and also the facilities near the sea are very good. The sunbeds were new and comfortable.They were still painting the facilities in early May when we stayed there. Also, I do not understand why the daily cleaning of the pool is done in the middle of the morning for an hour. This should be done early in the morning before the guest arrive.

The room for 4p was spacious and clean but we had problems with the wifi in the room. It should work, but we didn't get it to work. Wifi in the lobby, near the pool and at the beach was working.

The shower had a cloughed drain and although staff reacted instantly to our notifications, it was not resolved.

All in all a nice hotel, and the location is such that you forget the little things that are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Gran Hotel Tritone truly amazed me. The diversity of people stood out to me at first. Couples, families, friends, even solo! It is the type of hotel that everyone can appreciate.
The Staff was great, I felt like I knew everyone by the last day of my trip.

Breakfast was delicious, dinner was spectacular and lunch was the best!!! Sitting right next to the ocean watch the staff fish!

The private beach was really different. Due to the current we had to actually swim to the private beach! The pool was salt water, not very big.. but who needs the salt water pool when you have the ocean!

We took a day trip to Capri. They picked us up right where we were sun bathing.. so convenient!

I really enjoyed this hotel because it gave me the secluded feeling but still was so close to everything. The views were breathe taking.

&& I have to add the elevators were SCARY & It was an intense work out walking up and down the steps... so this is not a handicap friendly hotel


I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone I know!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a spectacular view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaJRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Amazing hotel on the Amalfi Coast! The hotel is not big, situated on a cliff and tiered down to the sea. Hotel has private Beach for guests. Rooms are very comfortable. We had a big balcony in our room with a fantastic sea view. Place is really wonderful! Hotel has a good restaurant. By car you could reach such a beautiful towns as Amalfi and Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,427 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.0 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tritone in Praiano, located in the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The hotel offers guests 60 rooms with frontal sea view. Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites have all comfort and service of a top hotel. The ambient is bright and comfortable. The interior design shows traditional materials like the famous ceramic of Vietri. Equipped with all the comfort , like high speed wifi (free of charge). The Amalfi Coast, with its lovely emerald colored water, is full of rocks , caves and hidden bays. This magic scenery, guests can enjoy from the private beach below the hotel, which is reachable by elevators. In this peaceful place, exclusively reserved for the clients, it is possible to have lunch, sitting at tables facing the sea. The "Beach Restaurant Ninò" is much appreciated by clients, as it allows to enjoy traditional local and carefully prepared dishes and fresh fruit in high quality. For active clients or trekking lovers, the private beach can be reached by an unbelievable stairway, unbelievable because many architects did not trust in realizing it, but- thanks to the tenacity of the founder Giuseppe Gagliano- was built. Who instead likes to dip in the swimming pool has just the problem to choose the right one, as the hotel has two, both seawater pools. Th bigger one, with hydro-massage, is faced to the sea, surrounded by the amazing colors of the mediterranian nature. The second one, smaller sized and located at the beach level, offers clients an alternative to the sea, especially when there are days with a strong breeze. The different terraces of the reception area invite clients to have an aperitif, enjoying the amazing sunset with incredible views to Positano and the island of Capri. After the aperitif clients can enjoy dinner in our restaurant "La Cala delle Lampare" with its beautiful terrace, overlooking the sea, and can visit the wine cellar "Canticalana", where top quality wines are waiting to be tasted. Every year, the Grand Hotel Tritone continues the tradition of genuine hospitality, welcoming visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing