We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views & Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Views & Food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location, location, location. While I agree that the rooms could stand some updating the friendly staff, gourmet food, and the sea views from every part of the hotel far outweigh any lack of a modern feel. After all I didn't go to the Amalfi coast to stay in my room and watch a " flat screen TV"! The views were breath taking Praiano to the left and Positano to the right, both being a short bus or boat trip away. The private beach with its own dock and an elevator was awsome. The water taxi ride was a fun way to go to Positano and back. We also did a boat tour to Capri that picked us up and dropped us off right at the hotel dock. The food was outstanding and rivaled any restaurant here in NYC, although hands down the tomatoes were definately better. The seafood was the freshest I have ever experienced! An unforgetably romantic, beautiful, and special place to stay! Thank You to Joseph, Antonio, Gennaro, Alphonse, and Andre! You made our vacation to the Amalfi coast the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    143
    47
    18
    15
See reviews for
127
291
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the most romantic place we have ever eaten at! So gorgeous looking out over the Amalfi coastline - to one side Positana and the other Praiano. We will definitely come back here - the restaurant food was amazing - a large selection of seafood dishes which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australians2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a very good time at Grand Hotel Tritone. The rooms are a bit old fashioned and the bed was too hard but those inconvenients were balanced by the amazing location, the hotel charm and the nice staff. The view is gorgeous and there is a direct and private access to the sea with an elevator which is a huge advantage in this region where beaches are small, hard to access and very crowded. It's only 10mn away from Positano which makes it a perfect place to spend the day before going for drinks and dinner in town. Grand Tritone charm comes also comes from the fact that it is a truly authentic Italian family hotel. We were one of the few non italians so you don't feel like in a tourist trap. Finally the staff was very friendly and helpfull. Special mention to Gennardo and Leonardo at the reception and to the restaurant manager who were specially nice. Restaurant is also very good as well as the snack at the sea area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Travelled with friends and had planned to stay 4 nights. Reception desk totally understaffed and unprofessional. No bell boy service so we ended carrying our luggage through narrow hallways. We had the impression guests are not particularly welcome.
Rooms were not clean when we arrived. Mildew in bathroom, curtains and pillows. Paint came from ceiling. We were offered alternative rooms which were acceptable but by that time we had lost interest.
Hotel is in need of a general overhaul and staff training to justify rates.
Restaurant is breathtaking, quality of food acceptable but price/quality ratio is on the high end.
Waiters at restaurant were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a most delightful 3 days here for our Anniversary. They treated us like VIP's, staying open late for dinner, and serving breakfast early to accommodate us. The location is so gorgeous it is seared into my eyes. The view from our balcony over the cliffs and coastline was incredible, and you could hear the waves on the shore hundreds of feet below. We could have spent our entire time at the hotel, but it was easy to hop a bus to Positano or Amalfi for the day. The food at their restaurants was Incredible! (wish I had their recipes!) One evening Giuseppe made arrangements for us to have dinner in Praiano, with a car to pick us up & return. He was very attentive and informative. Rooms are Italian, with tile and woods, clean and comfortable and even a mini-fridge! Decor is simple, but functional. Definitely plan on returning!!! They made us feel like family!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms must have great views - and what a view! We weren't near the pool, so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMJK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This family owned hotel is all about service and making you comfortable while you soak in some of the most amazing views. The rooms are spacious with lovely views. They offer breakfast and dinner inside or out and their private beach has a bar and serves lunch. We spent one day touring around the neighboring towns, winery and ceramics stores. Then one day we never left the hotel and had a very wonderful day. I would go back here again for sure, except next time we will stay longer. Paulo and Joseph are great hosts, and their mother provides many yummy foods homemade to eat. Antonio? Best bartender! Stay here and enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was a suite since there were 3 of us. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te and Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel sits on the cliffside with amazing views of the coastline below. There is a feeling of value when you enter the lobby but that soon faded with our room. We had a room with a patio which had great views. My complaint was the smoke smell in our expensive room. This was suppose to be a non-smoking room although there was an ashtray in the room. The front desk assured me it was a non-smoking room and sent a maid up to spray fragrance on our drapes when I complained of the smoke smell. The fragrance did nothing and we had no choice but to accept it.

The elevators down to the beach were very cool and the beach restaurant was perfect for lunch. There is a salt water pool near the restaurant which was welcomed after crawling over large boulders to reach the beach. I would highly recommend bringing your water shoes when you visit the Amalfi Coast because the sand is more like pebbles and they hurt bare feet.

The breakfast buffet was very nice and was included in our room price. They offered a variety of choices. This was the second hotel we stayed at in Praiano and we thought of it as a "splurge" but I was ultimately disappointed by the overall hotel quality and responsiveness of the staff. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachMtnDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
4.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
751 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing