We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Tritone
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$193
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Il Pino(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$214
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Alfonso a Mare(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$359
$337
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Holiday(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$181
$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$311
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Perla(Praiano)(Great Value!)
$163
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
451
168
55
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
168
55
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe cliffjunior suitesamalfi coastsea levelspectacular locationamazing viewshotel beachunique hotelbeach barmagical placeour honeymoonwater taxiheaven on earthwe loved our stayseafoodla strada
Filter
Updating list...
346 - 351 of 711 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very expensive hotel due to its iideal location on the caldeira of the Amalfi Coast. We had to take 3 DIFFERENT elevators + one staircase + cross 2 long corridors with our luggage to finally arrive to our room.

Two swimming pool at this hotel which is really nice. However, to access the pool by the beach you need to take 2 more different elevators and walk through a few tu nels in the mountain. So bring your beach gear at breakfast so you do not waste time in elevators half the morning.

When coming back from a late dinner in Praiano we discovered the air conditionning was not working and the room was really hot. After the night employee came to check the a/c and recommended we wait for room to get cooler he finally agreed to give us keys to another room for us to sleep in at 1:30 am

The rooms are clean but need to be refreshed, the furniture and decor is old.
You get a terrace with each room which is great and the view is stunning!

The regular staff did not even apologize for the Inconvenience and did not offer anything in return. They call themselves a family and friendly establishment but frankly they were snobish and it felt as is they just wanted our money.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a view, ask for a room close by the reception floor so you do not waste your day taking the elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hotel is very clean and nicely furnished in the lobby's and restaurant. The rooms are a nice size and comfortable with a remarkable view of the Amalfi Coast. The food is also good and the service is excellent! We found this hotel through our tour guide, Faith Manning, from www.amalfivacations.com. This is the hotel she uses for her clients and no wonder, it's beautiful!! The hotel is located in a quiet part of Amalfi, so there is little night life, but it is a great place to relax, especially at night on their terrace having drinks overlooking the ocean-just gorgeous! If you want to see the best of the Amalfi Coast, we suggest to use Faith. She takes only small groups, usually the max. of 8, and will truly show you the best of Amalfi! She is also from America, so there is no language problem. You will love her and the Amalfi Coast!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacation44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hotel GrandTritone can be a little deceptive at first.
At first it looks like the hotel is in a time warp around 1960 with collections of furniture from the period
dotted around the hotel. I fully expected Sophia Loren to turn up on the terrace.
The rooms are spartan but elegant.This is its unique style.
If you are looking for global brand hotel look this is not for you!
The service is also old fashioned (thank goodness).
Check out Antonio who runs the bar. He will happily take you on a tour of his cantena (wine cellar)
and bring you drinks with a smile all night. Some of the waiters are old enough to know how service used to be and at Tritone still is.
The hotel is situated just outside Praiano with magnificent views of Praiano one way and Positano to Capri in the other.The place clings to the rocks hundreds of feet above the ocean.There are two pools one on the beach the other half way down.
We had a problem with our shower. A man came and fixed it straight away.
Some general maintenance could be done to lift it to a real 4 star status
It takes a little while to learn to navigate your way around via the many lifts but you get the hang of it.
A great jumping off point to Amalfi and Positano as it sits a 3 Euro bus ride between the two.
After the craziness of Positano the peace and tranquillty of Tritone is a welcome relief.
I think the place needs a good chef as some meals were not up to standard.
Breakfast is fine and we ate out most nights.
Would go back for some old fashioned charm any day.

Room Tip: Ocean view essential
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JustPassingThroughXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is simply stunning, I barely have the vocabulary to do justice to the quality of the rooms, the incredible view, the service and the location of the hotel.
Just along the coast from Amalfi, Hotel Tritone clings to the cliff face, spread over 8 floors all below the level of the road. To get to the private beach, two lifts carved out of the hillside must be negotiated. There is also a lovely small swimming pool and terrace with incredible views that gets the sun for most of the day.
The rooms are reached via a veritable rabbit warren of corridors and lifts, and they all obviously have one of the most amazing views in Italy. The view from the breakfast terrace was worth the cost by itself.
Views are not everything - the service and cleanliness were exceptional. The happiest receptionist (male) in the known universe was so effusive in his greeting I thought we must be related.
My only complaint is the prices in the small bar on the private beach - they had no menu's available, so you order blind unless you want to ask for the pric in advance. And this hotel is definately a "if you have to ask you can't afford it" place. 80 euros for two sandwiches and 4 drinks...
Will never forget this place though. Magical.

Room Tip: Some have terraces you can sit on, others large "windowsills".
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevvywevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Going back as soon as I can. Plenty of charm, fantastic restaurant , private beach, best collection of 1960's wooden furniture, all you could want if you just want to relax on Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_chienbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews