We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The art of relaxation!”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The art of relaxation!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We wanted a nice place to say that was not to expensive and when we got a special deal on Hotel Holiday it ticked all the boxes. Praiano if right in the middle between Positano and Amalfi which are the 2 largest resort towns on the island. However in Hotel Holiday you are perfectly located to visit both and the bus literally stops outside the door! Tickets are cheap and available from reception. But what about the hotel itself? It is family run and we got an immediate sense of family on arrival. Mariann who runs the hotel was assisted by her nephew Angelo and we became firms friends during our stay. They were able to provide tickets and reservations for local restaurants, the bus and a day excursion to Capri. They could not be more friendly or helpful. They are rightly proud of their breakfast buffet and one morning when we were late Angelo actually rang the room to see if we wanted breakfast! The hotel itself has a beautiful view with a terrace where you an eat if weather is suitable. Rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped and we had the pleasure of a junior suite with a Jacuzzi which was super.If you want lots of action this is not the place for you but if you want a friendly relaxing base for your stay on the Amalfi coast Hotel Holiday will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room if available is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flydoc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayPraiano, Direttore at Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Flydoc5,
thank you very much for leaving us your feedback, it is so precious for us and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Hotel Holiday. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    93
    34
    11
    12
See reviews for
25
194
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The view from the balcony is lovely however we would not stay in Praiano again as the town is too small. If you are looking for somewhere that has not much in it, then this town is for you.
I'd like to give an honest/realistic review as from previous feedback it seems like this Hotel is the best ever, which is why we booked it. I've stayed in great 3 star Hotels before and the previous two nights we stayed in a lovely 3 star hotel in Sorrento but they couldn't be more different. The Hotel is family run and it seems like previous reviewers have been blind-sighted by wanting to be nice to them rather than giving an honest opinion. So here goes... For what it is, this Hotel is very expensive. It is probably due to it being on the Amalfi Coast but the facilities available (the Hotel is very small) certainly don't warrant such a hefty price tag. The bed was so hard that we woke up with very stiff backs. Linen napkins are used as hand towels and a non absorbent tea towel like material for towels - not nice to use. The wifi was terrible, it kept dropping out and there is only service for one device in your room only. It is not accessible in the foyer or breakfast area. They seemed to think that because they had internet on their computer (which was plugged into the router) everyone should have wifi. We had to go to reception to ask for more toilet paper, the cleaner dropped it to our room but walked in our room without knocking! My husband was in the shower and it was lucky I was near the door to intercept her going into the bathroom. There was no shower curtain over the bath so water went all over the floor. Although they advertise a shuttle service, there is no shuttle. If you want to get picked up from the SITA bus stop or town you have to call ahead and they will drive down in their car - a useful piece of information they shared after we had walked up the steep hill with our bags. The restaurant does not serve anything other than breakfast and the breakfast wasn't great as they had rubbery cheese, canned fruit and stale bread. For Italy I thought the coffee might have at least been good but it was horrible.
We didn't get great service either, we asked about how to get around and asked to book a taxi and they said they were too busy, it seemed like too much trouble.
On the last morning we asked for a shuttle down to the bus stop and instead of allowing us to have breakfast before we left they hurried us out of the Hotel so not only did we not get our included breakfast but we had to wait 45 mins at the bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkchick00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayPraiano, Direttore at Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and secondly “please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of service that you received during your visit”. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us although some clarifications are needed for the ones who will choose to spend their time with us.
We really are disappointed about what you wrote, especially where things are not true and for this reason we're gonna reply every single claim and give other customer the freedom to choose or not the Holiday Hotel.
Foremost Praiano is a very quite village of almost 2000 people less or more and is located in the heart of the Amalfi Coast with stunning views all over the sea and it is a strategic place where people can leave from and visit all the famous surrounding area including places such as Amalfi, Positano, Ravello, Capri, your beloved Sorrento and so many more so, whoever choose to stay in Praiano, first of all gather information about the place they're gonna stay. We realize for sure that after spent time in the “chaotic” Sorrento, Praiano was not suitable for your need and we apologies again but is not our fault if you didn't like stay here and sounded for you so “different”!!!
You can't even compare the three stars hotel category between Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast because there is NO comparison as both the location and the structures are not comparable at all.
We think furthermore that our hotel however small and family runned for most people would be considered an asset, a quality and not a bad mark,especially the relation quality-price concerning our services.
For what concering the bed, if the orthopedic was not suitable for you, you could even ask to someone at the reception at that time to change your room...but unfortunately YOU NOT DID ASK FOR! We are quite sure that if you could tell that at us,we could 100% satisfied your request as in our hotel we have different kinds of beds just to meet every single customers needs! Same goes for the towels, we have the sponge ones as well!!! Was so stressful ask for it?? The wi-fi connection cover all the area here at the hotel, we have wifi routers everywhere just to try to give a perfect service and first of all it is completely free of charge!
We would like to remind you that we are not stupid at all and do not actually need a clarification about how to connect a pc to the internet! We already know that our Pcs are connect to the internet via LAN. But if you noticed that, you would probably know that any devices need few seconds to switch from a router to another and maintein at the same time the internet connection and we apologies if for you, wait that seconds was a waste of time! But just keep in your mind that our wifi service is doing just fine!
For what concerning the toilet paper, our rooms are provided of two toilet paper roll's every day and can happen for sure that they are not enough but we just remember that we immediately went to get you some more! We checked togheter with our housekeeper what happend that time and she sweared that she didn't walk in the door without knock it!
We DO have the free shuttle service and we have the labels concerning our hotel brand both sides of the car, it is free of charge and we kindly take our guests at the beach at a settled times as well as at the bus stop as we did for you but just because we cannot actually read in our customers mind we think that if they are meant to use the service they should at least advise us...don't you think?
We are sorry for the breakfast as well, we only use fresh pastries and goods of
first quality but we realize that as you're living in a huge city where most of the goods are vacuum-packed you could not appreciate the differences! Our bread is delivered everyday early in the morning, our coffee is made by the coffee machine every single morning but if you are used to drink your preferred coffee (we don't know where do you usually buy it and even do not really care at the moment) you cannot value that.
Our rooms are provided with every single needed information regarding how to move and at the reception we are always happy to help our customers to give further info...if they are requested obviously!!
We would also remind you that is very difficult to communicate with someone that come in the hotel and go out without saying no words and be impassible when the employers say hello!
However it was myself that helped your husband regarding both the bus and the ferry connection since he was not sure which way to go through. If he didn't tell you nothing is not our fault! We serve breakfast from 8:00 AM and if you just could came on time you could probably did it with no rush instead of arriving just a couples of minutes before the bus departure scheduled time. We are very sorry if we were so worried to drop you off at the bus stop but we were just worried to be on time and do not let you missed the bus.
Finally we remember so well that both you and your husband took from the breakfast buffet everything you could have and for this reason, write that you couldn't have breakfast honestly is not fair. About the taxi we have no more words to describe yours fury towards our work since the moment that I did personally call 3 different taxi companies to try to find one available for you (when you were at bus stop) at the last minute the Easter's Day and when finally I've got one for you and he was just by the hotel door you told us that you did not want to go with him anymore just because you changed your mind again and decide without saying us nothing to get the bus instead waiting for the taxi.
Sorry again if what we did was not enough for you and your husband!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We've stayed in this hotel for 5 days this summer. It was our honeymoon trip so we were looking for a room with a good view from the balcony. Amalfi coast becomes quite expensive during the summer, so the price was quite high, however, we thully enjoyed every day.
The hotel staff was excellent, especially the receptionist Marianna, we just loved her! We were told about all surrounding attractions and towns (Positano, Ravello, Amalfi, etc), she provided us with information on how to get there. Moreover, we were able to save some money when buying bus tickets on hotel reception instead of paying more to the driver.
The local delicatessen shop was within the short walking distance from the Holiday hotel, so every evening we enjoyed wonderful Italian food on our balcony.
We could catch a bus or take a 15 min walk to reach the beach and swimming area of Praiano.
The breakfast served in the hotel was quite reasonable. There were coffee, tea, juice, fresh fruit, bread, crossaints, meats, sweets, eggs and definitely mozarella (which is being originally produced in Amalfi region).

The hotel is not posh, however, we've got nothing bad to say about it! Excellent cleanliness, friendly staff, good brekfast, free parking and wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darita_Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time there and they were very warm and gracious. We ended up staying two more days than planned.The view from the terrace where we ate breakfast every morning was stunning. And one of the hotel staff members would drive us to the beach from the hotel. In addition, they arranged for a car service to drive us to Naples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbkpqjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently had an excellent trip to Italy. One of the highlights was our stay at Hotel Holiday. The folks at the front desk were very helpful and treated us like family. The breakfast buffet was perfect. I don't know how they have fruit so perfectly fresh. The view was amazing. Everything was clean. The terrace was such a great area for us to relax on at the end of a great day of touring. Loved it. Would stay here every time!!!!!
Marianna was especially terrific!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3-day stay at Hotel Holiday! It was quiet and relaxing with a balcony view of the beautiful cliffs and coastline. The customer service was excellent! The staff was always helpful, friendly and responsive! Definitely a great place to stay while in Praiano.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a balcony view, and, if you like a full size bath with a tub, then be sure to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I just returned from a 10 day stay on the Amalfi coast and this was by far my favorite hotel. The balcony overlooking the sea alone was worth the price of the hotel. It was the perfect place to sip wine with friends and take in the stunning view. The hotel is off the beaten path with no hordes of tourists in sight. The evenings were pure tranquility gazing out at the stars and sea. The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful. I loved my stay and long to go back. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in escaping from the crazy hustle and bustle of the tourist centers on the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 19 in Praiano
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 19 in Praiano
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
576 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Property: Hotel Holiday
Address: Corso Umberto Primo 105, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Praiano
Hotel Holiday Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing