We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Romantic place, Italian style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Romantic place, Italian style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have you seen any old Italian movie lately? The ones with Sophia Loren for example...This hotel will make you feel like you're starring in one.
The view is marvelous. The terrace where we served breakfast was a day dream. Breakfast wasn't bad either, with lots of fruit and fresh staff. Ask the guy there to make an Italian espresso for you and then everything will look just perfect! It is close to the beach (10 minute descent, nothing extenuating for most of us) and close to the bus station. The staff is very nice. The room is small but very, very clean. We also had a small balcony with a view to the sea coast. Tutto perfetto!
It is not close to the city center though. You have to take the bus or walk a bit to get to Praiano.

Room Tip: Ask the waiter for an Italian espresso/cappuccino at breakfast. The ready-made coffee is not the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoinari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    112
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
164
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful place is good for people who looking for quiet and romantic holidays. Breakfast is various and tasty. Fantastic views from the window and the terrace when dining. Perfect location between Positano and Amalfi. Close to bus stop and beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karanteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed in June 2012. We had a hire car for which there was (free) parking on site (I think you do have to organise this in advance).

The room was very nice. It isn't a boutique hotel, but this is reflected in the price. The view from our room was stunning. We sat out on the balcony with a bottle of wine each evening (very good and very inexpensive - available from the restaurant for maybe 6 or 7 euros?) looking out over the sea. We even saw a dolphin one night.

Amalfi is one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline I've ever seen. It does make for some hairy driving though! I'd never driven 'on the right side' of the road before. Learning in Naples was a baptism of fire (beware the restricted zones - it can get expensive when you get home and the tickets arrive through the post!).

The only criticism I would have of the hotel would possibly be that reception isn't 24 hours. We got lost in Naples (I'm not the world's greatest navigator), missed the cut off point, and spent the night in the car. Now, to be fair, I can't actually say that we had to do this, we were just doing the polite British thing and didn't want to get anyone up out of bed. We were aware of the checkout closing time when we booked it - our fault 100% (well, arguably mine) - but it's just something to bear in mind.

The staff were very helpful and polite. The restaurant was nicely decorated and the terrace was beautiful. I'm not a morning person and can't pretend to have made breakfast, but the food I did eat there was very good.

All in all, this hotel represented excellent value for money. There is no pool, but if you take a look around their rivals, pools are somewhat of a rarity in the area, and who needs it when you're a stone's throw from the beach? I would think twice about hiring a car if I were going in peak season. The roads could get pretty packed when we were there (there is only one highway around the coast) and I read they get pretty much gridlocked in summer.

Positano is beautiful as was Amalfi. We also drove to Salerno, Sorrento, Pompei and Mt Vesuvius (definitely worth a visit). I would definitely stay there again. There's a picture postcard beach at Furore just a couple of km away - I could have stayed there all day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SadieMillsAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumming,ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a great little hotel. The fresh fruit was the best. Very clean and right by the bus stop. Try to get to bus stop early or they might be full and you will have to wait til the next one. Room very small but view very big!

Room Tip: Walk the path of the gods from hotel. Get on bus early. Walk across road and down the path to little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttvrdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We went on a 5 day trip to look around amalfi. Praiano is lovely. Quieter than positano and actually better in terms of less commercial aspect. Hotel is clean, basic and ideal for travelling around. Breakfast on an open terrace over looking the sea can't be beaten. Rooms are clean and basic in facilities , there is a small fridge for water and showers could do with updating. Can be quite noisy as you can hear people talking as they are coming and going due to closeness of rooms and stone floors but we weren't in the room much so didn't bother us Praiano has a tucked away little stone beach which is close to the hotel and the Sita bus stops right outside. There are plenty of restsurants and little shops and the hotel will help with scooter hire and taxis. Really nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coconutcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is perfectly located hotel if you are keen visiting Amalfi coast (as one of stops). Situated right on the cliff, just aside coastal way. Has a free and secure parking, which is great and rare in this region. Hotel itself is on the top of 50 meters steep ramp, then 20 something steps to the reception, and finally if lucky as we were, room on third floor with no elevator. Can be tricky when not in shape or having a pregnant wife as a travel partner :) But, view compensates it all. Nice breakfast on a beautiful terrace. Room decent basically equipped. Overall impression-peaceful, discrete and quiet. Staff willing to help and answer to all your questions.

Room Tip: If not on a sport preparation camp, ask for a room on a lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MilosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly English speaking lady. Our room was a little dated but with welcome air conditioning. The two combined single mattresses were a little uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was superb with spectacular views. We would highly recommend using the Sita bus to get around; tickets can be purchased from a tobacco store 200m away (consider 24h tickets for a cheaper option), and the bus stopped right outside the hotel (the last stop in Praiano from Positano). Must recommend The Path of The Gods to the keen walker, although several litres of water in hot weather in essential. Wifi appreciated, but no iron available. Overall a hotel we would recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nagavator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 21 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#14 of 21 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 21 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 21 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 21 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Miglino 2, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#12 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Perla Praiano, my father Giovanni built this hotel in 1969. It's a small hotel overlooking one the most enchanting part of the bay of amalfi, right in the middle of the coast. Best location for many excursions, close to the main village and to the restaurants,few steps from the rocky beach la Praia, some rooms have balcony and Hydrojet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Praiano
Hotel La Perla Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing