We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples' Paradise”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

First off, I don't know why Hotel Onda Verde is not on the #1 spot here on Trip Advisor. Take note of the pictures posted by other hotels, it pales in comparison to what Hotel Onda Verde has to offer! The boats anchored randomly on the Mediterranean Sea, an intimate alcove at the beach and the picturesque coastline is what you would behold every morning you wake up. I think the rooms were not created equal as some would be bigger than others (it all depends on the occasion or personal taste or preference), but the views in all the rooms from what I gather, face the sea, but more often than not, you get what you pay for, so I believe the superior view with balcony or their deluxe room with private terrace which is most expensive, would have the best of everything!

I think Francesco and Miro are unfortunately misunderstood by some as cold and unfriendly, but we found them to be very professional and extremely accommodating. We stayed with them in May for our Anniversary. Upon check out, we were also offered to pay in euros or Canadian funds. My husband paid in Euros because he knew we get a great exchange rate through our credit card, and we were already aware that you will always be charged an extra fee when you change currencies, no matter where you go. We knew that they were not trying to pull a fast one on us by offering to pay in Canadian funds, just for the record! We can't wait to go back there.

They have custom made excursions or day trips that can be easily be arranged at the hotel. We thoroughly and heartily enjoyed the buffet breakfast as there's a wide selection of both hot and cold food. Wi-fi was free and worked for both our devices. Of course, they are not perfect, but as far as we could tell, they always try to please their guests as much as possible.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ROADK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel Onda Verde was our paradise. We loved our room with the private patio that looked out over the sea. The hotel is impressively built into the side of the cliff with tunnels to walk through to get to the reception area and to the sun deck. Venture to other restaurants if you must satisfy your curiosity, but the food at the hotel was the best we had our entire trip to the Amalfi Coast. Staff was helpful and friendly, especially the chef that invited us back to swim in his pool after he finished his shift! Location is ideal: easy to walk down to the (rock) beach for a dip in the water, take off on the Path of the Gods trail, take a boat to Capri (which the hotel arranged at a very reasonable price), or hop on the bus to Positano. We hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel was outstanding. This was our fourth extensive European holiday and this wonderful family fun hotel is by far our best experience. Magnificent views and fabulous room with balcony and access to a fantastic terrace. No pool but we didn't mind as the beach is only a 1minute walk down the stairs or ramp. Fernanda and Francesco at reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were amazing, wide selection. Every morning would have something different as an extra from their wonderful chef Nicola, also very friendly. We ate here on all four nights of our stay, the food was excellent. (Included freshly made pasta e very day) .. Must try Nicola's ravioli.
Getting around to Amalfi and Positano was easy on the buses (cheap) or water taxi (expensive).
The people in general we're very friendly and we were very happy we chose to stay at Praiano away from the busy crowds of Amalfi and Positano. A real authentic and unspoilt little Italian town. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room, was outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie-M777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in two rooms; one standard with a sea view (2nd floor from the bottom) and one with a private balcony and sea view. Both views were very nice; I preferred the standard (which actually had deck chairs outside of it) and my girlfriend preferred the upgraded room due to the increased space. Both rooms were very clean, nicely appointed, and the staff was very helpful; note that the hotel is made up of a number of different buildings, so the room styles may vary.

The sea view looks out onto a little cove to the left, with little boats and a small beach (beware the jellyfish!) so we did get some sound from those during the day and early evening. I think it was worth having a bit of life down there, and wasn't bothersome (and I'm a sound nazi). Very nice view. Great ocean sounds at night and throughout the day, accentuated by the gurgling of waves into another very small cove when the tides were right.

The location is a bit out of the way, which is what we wanted. But it is on the seaward side of the road, which is good, and built vertically down 6 stories. There The hotel restaurant, as well as Il Pirata downstairs, were both excellent and the busses good. Water taxis to Amalfi and Positano are about 55 euros roundtrip, and its a quick cab ride (or a half hour walk) to the other side of Praiano and the eateries there. There are also restaurants in the aforementioned cove, but we didn't try them, and a cool looking nightclub a short walk away, but when we went there it was d-e-a-d. ( it was early in the week at the start of the season...)

The only thing that actually annoyed me wasn't the hotel, but one of the residential neighbors had a workman cutting rock or tile for a few hours on our last day (yeah, I know, but I have to winge about something); however I'd still give it 5 stars and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Seaview standard rooms on the 2nd floor (114, at least) have great views and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel was great.
It is located in Priano which is very close to Positano on one end and Amalfy on the other which was very convenient.
The views from the room and hotel were stunning, and there are two great restaurants few minutes from the hotel on the coast line.
All in all, we had great time in Onda Verde

Room Tip: We slept in room 106 which has great view of the see and a nice balcony. Note that the room is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is located on a stunning side of a cliff, overlooking the water...and that's a sort of world class cool. The place is run by a family which cares; a family for whom nothing is too difficult or too much...they are fun, familiar, fastidious and far too generous. This is an Amalfi Coast gem...and it's close, but not too close, to the Positano mayhem.
Cheers
Barry Fitzgibbon

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bagsmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were a group of 6 girls who had just had a wonderful walking experience in Puglia so we came to the Onda Verde with the idea of slowing down and getting a mediterranean tan. The hotel welcomed us and showed us to our rooms, all with balconies and amazing views of the coastline. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very inviting. We chose to have half board as we found Chef Nicola's food unsurpassable. The staff, a wonderful family were attentive to our every need and organised concert tickets for us in Ravello and a car to take us there and back. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were very sad to leave the hotel and the family who had by then become great friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally528964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,540 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
853 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $191 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing