We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Choice on the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Before commenting on the hotel it is important to consider how you are traveling to the Amalfi coast. If you are thinking about renting a car be aware that the driving is very challenging mainly due to the very narrow hairpin turns. For rental car pick-up, if you are traveling by train, it is better to rent your car in Salerno vs Naples. Around the Naples train station traffic can be a mess and the roads are very poorly labeled. Salerno is a nicer and easier to navigate city.

Regarding the hotel; if you are looking for a very nice property in a good quiet location, pick the Onda Verde. Priano is a quaint town, with many good restaurants and no tourist traps. If you are looking for a lots of nearby shopping and activity, then I would stay in Positano or Amalfi.
Overall the Onda Verde Hotel is excellent – outstanding views, nice sized and well equipped rooms, and a very friendly staff.

I would not, however, recommend the restaurant. The restaurant below the hotel (Il Pirate) and by the restaurants by the beach are much better.

Room Tip: Rooms 121, 124 on the 2nd floor are very good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here with the hotel's 7-night package, and enjoyed the experience. The staff here are all helpful and friendly, giving advice on excursions and use of the public bus (this latter to be avoided on Sundays when there is a somewhat reduced service). The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms a good size.

Dinner was included which added to the attraction of the package as the location of the hotel makes dining out in the evenings rather inconvenient. The food at dinner was above average, while the breakfast each morning became rather predictable after the first few mornings. However, there were occasionally some very yummy 'specials' on offer at breakfast, eg. italian doughnuts, and pastry filled with cream. A couple of mornings we were also offered home grown figs!

One disappointment was that although we had a room with balcony, a view of the sea was possible only when we stood right at the balcony wall. There was also no coffee or tea making equipment in the bedrooms, so we had to go down to the lounge area of the dining room if we wanted something mid-afternoon.

All in all though, an enjoyable stay at the hotel. We went there at the recommendation of a friend, and will certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clct0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beatiful coast. Amazing vieuw.Very friendlystaff.Nice hotel with comfortable rooms.
All your heart needs
Plenty possibilitys to visit
The braekfast table on the veranda was supper.
Iff you want you could take a boattrip as well as local bus

Room Tip: rooms without steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent 5 days at this very pleasant hotel. This small family run hotel has beautiful views, excellent service, and good food. All the rooms appear to face the ocean. Our room was large and nicely appointed with a balcony facing the ocean. Housekeeping was impeccable. We were on a 5 day package that included breakfast and dinner out on the beautiful restaurant balcony. The hotel is centrally located in the most beautiful section of the Amalfi Coast. We did not attempt to drive - just being a passenger on one of the city buses or taxis was thrilling enough for me! Huge tour buses on the narrow coast road with motorcyclists thrown in made for exciting encounters. In early September the tourist season was still booming and the city buses were packed! That could be a problem trying to go from place to place. All in all a wonderful experience. Make sure you sample the owner's homemade Lemoncello!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in early September. This hotel was fantastic. The views from out room,the public terrace areas and the restaurant are all stunning. It is a short walk down the hill to the waterfront where you can sun bath or take a boat trip.

The breakfast was very good (fruit, cakes, bread, meats, cheeses and eggs and bacon). We also dined there once during the week and we enjoyed it so much we decided to have our last dinner there too. Nero was very helpful at reception.

The walk into central Praiano (for other restaurants) is relatively steep and will take you around 20 mins but the walk is scenic and it means that Onda Verde is quieter as you are fuirther out.

Our room was one of the deluxe ones (104) and it was excellent, great view, private balcony and jacuzzi bath. Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pho935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a fabulous time and felt chilled as soon as we woke up and saw the views from our room (114) and also the breakfast table I.e on the veranda .
Great staff , informal but attentive and nothing was a problem. Would love to go back If get the opportunity

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathRaglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, spacious rooms - with breathtaking views of Praiano from the terrace.
Housekeeping gets a big tick, as does the breakfast selection - you could sit for an hour or two if you wanted, soaking in the sea views from the restaurant balcony.

Excellent location to explore the Amalfi Coast - 5-10 min bus ride to Positano, or if you want to explore the other way, 10-15 mins to Amalfi and the gorgeous hillside village of Ravello (a must visit).

We had a really easy stay - enjoyed coming back to the hotel after our busy days of exploring. It did feel like our home away from home in no time. Definitely visit Il Pirata... fantastic restaurant just next to the hotel - a nice unexpected romantic dining experience. We wanted to go back but there was too much to explore!
Hire a sun lounger at Praiano Beach or Il Pirata - great atmosphere but also relaxing and quiet.

Only one little issue... we hired a scooter on our first full day. Were told by reception to be up on the road at 11am.. waited and waited until 11:30, called back to the reception desk to ask where our scooter was, only to be told to come back to the hotel as the scooter was never going to show. Upset the balance of the day as I'm sure you can imagine!
Would have been nice to have been told!! Left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths but the following 2 days and 2 nights were flawless.

All in all - a wonderful stay, I'm sure you'll have a fabulous time here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Praiano in our opinion are better - you're looking at boats and the action down on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjf84Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
843 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $214 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing