We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A National Treasure”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is an Italian national treasure, and will be the favorite part of your visit to the Amalfi Coast. Set in a peaceful cove a world away from the traffic and crowds to the North and South, Onda Verde will soothe your soul and fulfill your every need. The staff, accommodations and location cannot be equaled anywhere in Italy. Fernanda and Emilio at the front desk are world-class hosts, and the restaurant serves up the daily bounty of the seas and orchards surrounding you. We will return to this unforgettable gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiftysomethin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Milano family is first class. When my wife and I checked in they introduced themselves to us one by one and shook our hands. The views are incredible. We stayed in a deluxe double room, which is just one floor up from the reception and restaurant. The room was spacious and clean with an excellent view, as most of the other reviewers have said.

If you want lots of activity, stay in Positano where you can be shoulder-to-shoulder with sweaty tourists while walking through crowded streets. The best way to experience this hotel is to completely skip Capri (the hotel area is just as pretty, less crowded, and less expensive) and go check out Positano via bus for one small day trip. Also, to get to the hotel, take the train to Salerno, a ferry to Amalfi, and then a water taxi to the hotel. It's faster, less crowded, and less nauseating.

If you book a stay here, don't complain about how there is nothing to do. Stare outside at the beautiful views, relax, swim, maybe even read a book. If you have other objectives, you should stay in one of the other more populated cities.

It's a pet peeve of mine when people write reviews that complain about breakfast. Italy is not a breakfast country. However, this hotel had, by far, the best breakfast during our 2.5 weeks in Italy. The chef made some kind of amazing pastry with blueberry creme on top. He laughed at me because I kept eating them. The next day he smiled and pointed to where they were located on the buffet. There were all sorts of other great things there too. A waiter was even walking around offering people fresh scrambled eggs. That's pretty rare in Italy. This hotel went above and beyond for breakfast.

The restaurant is excellent for dinner, but definitely check out some of the other restaurants at the marina area, the best of which is Bar Mare Petit Restaurant.

Room Tip: The most of expensive rooms are the ones closest to the ocean. A few of the double deluxe rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On the advice of a friend who had been to the Amalfi coast on several occasions and recommended not only Praiano but also the Hotel Onda Verde. We arrived by car, having driven from Naples, on the 1st of July to be greeted by a friendly, smiley Argentinian lady who took us to room 111 which was described as a sea view room with terrace. Whilst the room itself doesn't actually overlook the sea, the terrace does and what a lovely view it is. We were very happy with the room which isn't large but more than adequate with a large shower room.

The hotel is, in my opinion, excellently located with Praiano being almost equidistant to Positano and Amalfi but without the hoards of people, this suited us perfectly.

We had dinner on 2 occasions at the hotel and both were excellent, my advice - don't bother looking at the menu just let the waiter bring you what he thinks best, he didn't let us down. Breakfast is pretty basic but perfectly acceptable.

The proximity to the local beach is really good via a steep staircase or a path. It does get busy so we chose to hire sunbeds at the restaurant below the hotel, i think its called Pirata.

There are 3 restaurants by the beach I can highly recommend Bar Mare, really fresh authentic food cooked by mama.

All in all we had a great time and would be happy to return. Having visited both Positano and Amalfi while we were there we would not hesitate to return to this location and hotel where the staff and service were superb.

Room Tip: We were in room 111 we were told it was the 2nd best room in the hotel, the room next door is appare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here in July for several days after researching various amalfi coast towns and hotels. Really glad I chose Praiano after visiting amalfi and positano. Praiano was much more relaxed and less touristy - an earlier amalfi coast feel. The hotel was beautifully situated with spectacular views from our balcony looking toward amalfi. The hotel room was very clean and comfortable bed. It was roomy enough but not large and the bathroom was clean and spacious. We had one very nice dinner at the hotel. A few things the hotel could improve to get it to the next level: breakfast at a hotel of this price point should be better - serve real orange juice not Tang Kool-aid stuff and the coffee was awful chicory tasting beverage (though you could order an espresso or cappuccino and they charge it to your room. They should have better quality plain yogurt rather than overly sweet berry yogurt. Fruit was pretty good but we did not look forward to breakfast. Another area to improve is the chaise lounge area - a hotel of this size should have more than the six or eight available which were grabbed early in the morning by traveling Alfa types. The patio could certainly accommodate about 4 or 6 more loungers. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would return but I hope the hotel pays attention to some of these small details that could really make it top notch. We did the walk from praiano to positano on the walk of the gods which was spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just got back from Onda Verde, for a 5 day trip in that area. The staff, everybody included made us feel like we knew each other for years. Very friendly yet very professionnal. The room (109) very clean, amazing view. Good size of the bathroom. Wi-fi worked very good the whole 5 days without having to login each day. The chef's restaurant made us a special plate as we told him what we wanted, was not on the menu and made it fresh just for us. Delicious!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieCandiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to spend 8 nights at Hotel Onda Verde and if it were possible we'd be flying back there tomorrow. This gem of a hotel, which nestles into the cliff edge at Praiano, not only provides breathtaking panoramic views which stretch down the coast and out to sea, it also provides the opportunity to dive and swim directly below the hotel. The dining room and terraces have all been designed to afford guests maximum advantage of the views and the serenity of this beautiful environment. We loved our deluxe room with seaview and terrace. It was spacious and quiet and, along with the rest of the hotel, kept in spotless condition. Fresh fruits, juices, a variety of cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon and an array of pastries and cakes are served daily for breakfast and we enjoyed our evening meals (particularly the fresh seafood options) which were generous in proportion.

Having previously based Amalfi coast holidays in both Positano and Ravello, we consider this Praiano hotel to be the pick of the bunch for its seclusion from the hustle and bustle of tourist laden towns, while at the same time providing easy access for public transport, by land or sea, up and down the coast. I cannot sing the praises of the Milano family highly enough. Their hard-working professionalism and care is exceptional. Prior to our arrival every email query was responded to promptly and thoughtfully and, once we were there, the high standard of care continued. Not only this, but they are scrupulously honest and prepared "to walk the extra mile" to meet tourist needs. One day we accidentally left our safe open - something we've never done before! - and after being politely advised of our slip up we returned to our room to find our possessions exactly as we'd left them. Then, on our last morning as we were being driven to Naples airport, I realized that I'd left treasured earrings of great sentimental value on the dressing table in our room. I was reassured by phone that they would be safely posted to my home address across the other side of the world and sure enough they were securely delivered to my front door. I sincerely thank the Milano family for their efforts on my behalf. They are treasures and we look forward to joining up with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e-Aletheia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had chosen this Hotel after carefully scrutinising its location and other Trip Advisor reviews. We were travelling as a family. Our eighteen year old daughter, her boyfriend and our twelve year old daughter. So the dynamic was challenging as was meeting everyone's needs.
Hotel Onde Verde was the perfect choice. The staff were great. Professional and helpful. The setting is sublime. The rooms were spotless and well sized. We had three nights there. We visited Amalfi and Ravello (not to be missed), Positano and took a boat for the day (organised by the Hotel) and went to Capri. We had booked a late lunch at Conca del Songo at Nerano on the way back and our boat captain pulled in and we enjoyed a fabulous experience there. It's a beach club so you can swim and relax after a great meal.
My only criticism of Hotel Onde Verde would be their breakfasts. They were a little underwhelming. I'm not a big breakfast eater but I felt they could be a little more contemporary.
I would suggest the Hotel to my friends as a great place to stay if you want something a little quieter than Amalfi or Positano.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
854 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $192 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing