We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Paiano”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paiano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had chosen this Hotel after carefully scrutinising its location and other Trip Advisor reviews. We were travelling as a family. Our eighteen year old daughter, her boyfriend and our twelve year old daughter. So the dynamic was challenging as was meeting everyone's needs.
Hotel Onde Verde was the perfect choice. The staff were great. Professional and helpful. The setting is sublime. The rooms were spotless and well sized. We had three nights there. We visited Amalfi and Ravello (not to be missed), Positano and took a boat for the day (organised by the Hotel) and went to Capri. We had booked a late lunch at Conca del Songo at Nerano on the way back and our boat captain pulled in and we enjoyed a fabulous experience there. It's a beach club so you can swim and relax after a great meal.
My only criticism of Hotel Onde Verde would be their breakfasts. They were a little underwhelming. I'm not a big breakfast eater but I felt they could be a little more contemporary.
I would suggest the Hotel to my friends as a great place to stay if you want something a little quieter than Amalfi or Positano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    160
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
122
587
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in room 133 which has been already covered here. I don' t share the earlier visitior's opinion on this room. It is outdated but clean and has everything you need. The only complain is that sundeck is not covered in any way. Since it faces east you get sunshine at 6 am and it is realy hot by 8 am. If it's raining you stuck inside the room. Breakfast is average indeed. Stuf is very freandly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Milano family and staff are very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. This was are second visit to the Hotel and was just as nice as the first time a few years ago. The Hotel Chef created and served fantastic meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

the location and roons are nice and the rooms with seaview and terras are even nicer, the staff is ok but not really welcoming.
The breakfast is average and inside room old fashioned.
The disappointing part were the options to sunbath or swim.
Their sundeck is very hot and the bay close by is very small and has limited sun during the day( late morning till early afternoon)
The downstairs restaurant Pirate has good food and you can rent a sunbed bu again very bad possibilties to enter the water and also here very limited space and sun disappears early afternoon.

Room Tip: only book a room with seaview and terras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of our 3 week honeymoon. What a great place to kick off our trip! First of all, we were so happy that our travel agent suggested staying in Praiano. It is such a quaint town, and you always feel like you are surrounded by locals. However, there were still plenty of restaurants to choose from and the food was one of our favourite parts of the trip. It was great to be so close to Amalfi and Positano, and then come back to our little village that began to feel like home. The hotel is very conveniently located- there is a bus stop right outside of the hotel so that you can take the bus to Positano or Amalfi. If you an even easier way to get around, you can go down to the Marini di Praia beach right below the hotel and take a water taxi to these places as well (although this is more expensive at 30 euros- but definitely worth taking to Positano at least once for the view from the water!).

The hotel staff is very helpful and will arrange water taxis and other excursions for you. We took a boat trip to Capri that left from the beach and it was a wonderful day. They even offered to lend us a hiking guide book if we decided to do the Path of the Gods hike.

We had 2 different rooms when staying here. Since we booked only about a month before, they had limited availability. They were very accommodating and told us we could stay there as long as we were willing to stay in a Standard double room with shared terrace and then move to a Classic double room with private terrace. Both rooms were great. While we were in Amalfi for the day, they moved our bags for us from one room to the other.

The food was excellent! Breakfast was great every morning. We ate at the restaurant twice and both times were very good. Fresh seafood and lots of other choices on the menu.

We would highly recommend this hotel. The hotel itself is so neat how it is built into the cliff and the views were absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TF333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a fabulous 6 nights at Onda Verde, the Milano family was terrific and catered to all our needs. I had never been to this hotel or Praiano for that matter but have visited the Amalfi coast previously for my family resides in Agerola, I selected the hotel based on some of the reviews I read on Tripadvisor and seeing photos of the hotel. Well it was a home run and far exceeded our expectations. It is located right on the cliffs overlooking the Mediterranean, the sites were breathtaking, waking up each morning to the vibrant blue color of the sea which interestingly enough turned shades of green by the southern most beach of Praiano, thus onda verde or green wave. The food was excellent at the hotel, breakfast had just about everything you wanted and the servers were most accommodating and should you decide to eat dinner there which I highly recommend it was fabulous, every meal was perfect. The Chef, Nicola is terrific, we were fortunate enough to have a cooking class with him and both my wife and I enjoyed every moment of it plus we learned some simple steps to improve our pasta making ability. Thanks you so much, Fernanda, Nicola and the entire Milano family for welcoming me and our entire family to your hotel and home, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were given room 133 which had furniture and bathroom stuck in the ‘70s, we had a bit of a laugh about it and decided not to say anything as the views from the balcony, which we had full use of, were absolutely amazing. The room was not part of the hotel as the key was different from the others and the room number was not even listed on the lift various levels.
We later discovered that the adjoining door in our room was communicating with another room probably used by living in staff or local residents?! It was as if we were asked to share with strangers, we could clearly hear their normal levelled voice conversation as if they were in the same room as us. We do not normally complain and we are not affected by noise as we live in a big city, the main problem was not having any privacy whatsoever, they could obviously hear us in the same way as we could hear them.
The following day, after a disrupted sleep, we raised the issue with reception staff but were told that we were given what we had paid for – a classic room with sea view - but they would do whatever they can to help us although they were fully booked.
Eventually, we were given room 106 as the previous couple had just checked out. This was indeed in the same style as the ones seen on their pictures, but completely different to room 133 – see for yourself the bathroom style which I have uploaded. We had to drag our suitcases back to reception, up a few flights of awkward temporary wooden steps but at least we were given a room we actually booked.
No offer for a discount was given for the inconvenience and we left a little bit bitter as it could have a been a truly amazing couple of days …
We would have rated this hotel an easy 5 stars if it wasn’t for the fact that we were clearly given a substandard room due to the fact that they were probably over booked and made us feel they did us a favour by moving us.

Room Tip: Avoid room 133!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cinzia_si_parte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miro M, Direttore at Hotel Onda Verde, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ms. Cinzia,

We are sorry for the feeling you had during your stay with us, but we have to disagree with your review for a few simple reasons:
Pictures of the room are available on our website and on Booking.com where you made the reservation, and are directly associated with the room cateogry, so that guests can clearly see what are they going to reserve. In the description is also specified that the room is in a private villa, so you can expect the room next to you to have people inside too. It's the first time that a guests complains about hearing talking from the othe room, also because it's empty for most of the day, but we'll work on this issue as soon as possible, if it's real.
As soon as you complained about the room we immediately offered an alternative, and it's been a fortune we had one, since we are almost fully booked, but absolutely not overbooked as you stated. We are not saying that we made you a favour, since our main goal is your happiness and satisfaction in spending time in our hotel, but trying our best is a thing that a guest could appreciate, and not complain about.
You had the room you reserved, if you want you can go back on Booking.com and take a more attentive look at room pictures and description as you probably didn't upon reservation. No sub-standard room, no overbooking. We agree that the furniture is different from the other rooms in hotel, but if you didn't like it, you should not have reserved it.
Reading our reply, it’s easy to see that this review is not very fair, and we are very sorry about that, as it really affects without any valid reason, our average rate on TripAdvisor and Booking.com, which we work really hard on, to keep it high.

We really hope you will change your mind about your stay at the Hotel Onda Verde, and we’ll be looking forward to welcoming you here once again.

Best Regards,

Francesco Milano

Hotel Onda Verde
Via Terramare, N° 3
84010 PRAIANO (Sa)
Amalfi Coast - Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing