We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel stay on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Saracena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Torre Saracena
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel stay on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights while on our honeymoon and we had such a lovely time. Our room was huge, beautifully furnished, comfortable and immaculately clean. I think the bathroom had recently been re-done because it was all new. We were lucky enough to have our own private terrace with sun beds and it looked over the coastline and ocean. Such a wonderful view! It was amazing to sit out here in the evening before dinner with a glass of prosecco and watch the sunset over the water. I think most of the rooms had small balconies and ocean views. We felt like we were staying in an Italian villa! Even though the hotel was booked out, it didn't feel crowded or busy at all - it was lovely and peaceful and quiet, perfect for relaxing.

The staff were also wonderful - they were so friendly and helpful! Breakfast was between 8-10:30 (good for a sleep in!) and consisted of a nice spread of fruit, pasties, bread, cereals, tea/coffee/juice, yoghurt etc, and the lovely girls Concetta and Luisa made us espressos every day. Sitting on the terrace enjoying a lovely little italian breakfast and the amazing view was just bliss! One of the highlights of the hotel was the private swimming spot down the stairs - totally worth the climb down, it was the perfect spot to relax by the water and have a swim in the beautiful ocean!

Praiano is a really lovely area and we're so glad we stayed here. There are some really nice restaurants and shops in the area which are definitely worth visiting. The hotel also organised a boat trip to Capri for us and that was a really lovely day out - would definitely recommend this. Another nice beach is just a short walk from the hotel and we spent another day hanging out there. There is a bar here but no restaurant, but they drive you to their sister restaurant which I also highly recommend - really lovely food!

I'd highly recommend staying at Hotel Torre Saracena in Praiano as it's such a pretty little spot away from all the tourists in Positano and Amalfi (there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which goes to both these towns). I have to say that this was one of our favourite hotel stays. Really can't recommend this hotel more highly - we definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We were so happy to read your kind words following your stay with us at the Torre Saracena Hotel. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received and we are so proud to know that we are for you a "Perfect hotel" in the Amalfi Coast. We have passed on your kind words to our brilliant team and we hope you will come back to stay with us soon.
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    149
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
242
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're after a quiet get away then Praiano is perfect, the staff were really warm and friendly and super helpful. What made our trip was having access to the water via the steps. Our room wasn't in the main hotel, so was basic and simple. It had a lovely terrace with wonderful views along the coast. Most importantly it was clean and very well serviced. Breakfast was surprisingly comprehensive and the morning staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieSmudge1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It's really beautiful to read a such wonderful review and to know that your stay at the Hotel Torre Saracena was great. Thank you so much for the time dedicated in writing your review and for the compliments addressed to our staff, to the rooms, to the breakfast and to the location.
We are glad to know that you spent a nice holiday in the Amalfi Coast and we hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Its hard to see, and the information from the hotel staff was limited, but there are resturants, nightclub and beach activites nearby. At Torre Saracena they have breakfast and and a bar, but no lunsh and dinner are served. But overall - a fantastic place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leitvoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful words and for visiting our Hotel Torre Saracena during your stay in the Amalfi Coast. We are glad to know that you had a nice holiday and that you could appreciate the spectacular view.
We are yet waiting for your next visit and take the occasion to extend our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Torre Saracena for three nights at the end of our trip through Italy. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a fantastic private terrace and a view of the sea. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing but not unusual for Italy. The best thing without a doubt is the location. Praiano is away from the tourist hot spots of positano and amalfi and allows visitors the chance to relax and enjoy the stunning surroundings. Swimming in the sea (200 steps from the hotel) was an absolute highlight. That combined with the exceptionally friendly staff and unbeatable location will definitely have us coming back in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated. We are delighted to note that you appreciated the room with the private terrace overlooking the sea, the cleaning, the quiet and the kindeness of our staff.

I do sincerely hope that we will see you again in our Torre Saracena Hotel and take the occasion to wish you all the best.
Kindest Regards from the Amalfi Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We did a 2 wk. trip to Italy .Rome, Tuscany and Amalfi Coast. We saved the best for the last. We loved Hotel Torre Saracena . Our room was beautiful ,big , great view. We loved the patio that we could watch sunsets or the stormy skies at night. Nice and quite.The staff was so nice and very helpful. Thank you Concetta and Luisa for all your help .Loved the breakfast in the morning with the sea view.The town was nice and quite but close enough with taking buses to get to other towns .
The steps down to the water are worth it .Just next door we walked down to the beach and watched the fishermen in the morning bringing in fresh fish ,the same we ate for dinner that night. Some of the best restaurants. The Vivar Wine Bar was the best a must ,have to have at least 3-4 hours.
Priana is a very special place, and we loved it. When we come back we will stay at Hotel Torre Saracena. Mike and Pat from U.S.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for the ocean view, we had high ,corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dearest Pat and Mike, we really appreciate your kind words about your recent stay at Torre Saracena Hotel and warmly thank you for the kindeness and the love you write us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the facilities and the services we provided you with. But mostly we are happy to know that our staff was always helpful with you and let you feel like at home.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards from Praiano, the Amalfi Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but the views are outstanding. Spend more time outside. We had a small terrace to have lunch and look out to the sea. Breakfast was basic but eating it on the terrace is worth it. We found a very good little food store up on the hill just follow the stairs straight up in front of the hotel. Lots of stairs but worth the walk. 200 steps down to the sea from our room 218. Only did it once but it was worth it. Water is cold but refreshing. Go to the beach just on the other side down the stairs about 100 meters from the hotel. Internet connection was hard to get in the room but was easy to catch out near the stairs. If you can not walk up stairs don't stay here because there is no lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You are in the middle from Positano and Amalfi city. Take the bus rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We warmly thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at the Hotel Torre Saracena and we are happy for your positive opinion. It's a big joy to know that you could appreciate the beautiful view offerend by the Amalfi Coast and we really hope to host you again for a new holiday.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This family run hotel has lots of charm and a friendly staff always happy to help. The rooms are basic but possess stunning views, many with a little balcony or terrace to sip a coffee and enjoy the bright sunshine and surrounding gardens. Its 200 steps down to the water but worth every bit when you jump into the refreshing waters at the base of the hotel. While the breakfast could be slightly better, overall this is a winner and a place I'd definitely go back too. Many hotels have that impersonal 'we've seen it all' feel, but here you really do feel welcome and appreciated and that makes a big difference. as for the views and the scenery - truly unbeatable, and much more convenient than staying higher up the hills of Priana.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StanS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Torre Saracena, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback which is genuinely appreciated as we use this to review what improvements we can make to our product and service. We are delighted to note that you appreciated our restaurant, the cleaning, the quiet and the kindeness of our staff.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our views and the scenery.
I do sincerely hope that we will see you again in our Hotel Torre Saracena and take the occasion to with you all the best.
Kindest Regards from Praiano Amalfi Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Saracena

Property: Hotel Torre Saracena
Address: Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#9 Family Hotel in Praiano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Saracena 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Amalfi Coast ( half way between Amalfi and Positano) the Hotel Torre Saracena is situated in a strategic position in the green landscape of the beautiful coast and directly on the sea. The family management offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The private descent to the sea, the gardens in the shade of lemon and olive trees gives relax and romantic atmosphere. On the Amalfi Coast all is poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Torre Saracena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Saracena Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing