We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Torre Saracena
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There are places that you conjure when the therapist says, "Go to your happy place" and this is (or should be) one. Our room had a small patio that overlooked the sea. The view from here is perfect to wake up to, to enjoy as the sun sets, and to stare out into at night when you don't want the day to end. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. There was a Jacuzzi available for the guests but we didn't really take advantage of it due to the heat of the season. A better experience for us was to take the many many stairs down to the water. I have never been in water so perfect and beautiful! Breakfast buffet is larger than most and includes the typical meat, cheese, fruit and pastry with the addition of some surprises. There is a bar, and as long as you don't have great expectations, you will enjoy the libations. It's not an uppity type of establishment, and it's more like having your nephew pouring drinks at a birthday party. I say that as a compliment. Every experience was friendly and attentive, every moment on this property joyful and serene.
There are a few cool things to do within walking distance, the rest will require a driver or a bus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    162
    41
    11
    6
See reviews for
85
280
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

stayed here with family...5 people across two rooms (one that had an additional bed). it's definitely minimalist but clean. and the views were just stunning. our bathroom had two windows overlooking the ocean and you could leave them wide open...almost like an outdoor shower.

we were there in september. the weather was perfect. the only issues we had were around logistics. the buses go to fall schedule in sept (which means they are packed...pretty much always) and we tried to do this without a car. if you stay at this hotel rent a car...or be there before the fall schedule (or after sept when there won't be as many people). it's also not easy to get taxi's there...which we thought it would be.

the staff is very friendly and helpful. the breakfast was great. i would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat just for the views...and i like nice things : )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a quiet break from our 2 weeks on the Amalfi coast in the little town of Praiano. The hotel was conveniently located right at a SITA bus stop (the last one going out of town towards Amalfi), so you could hop around the coast even if you didn't have a car (they had parking). Hotel reception was at street level (3 steps from the road) and offered a wonderful sea view for breakfast on the terrace. That meant however that all rooms were down from there, with no elevator.
To get to the first level required about 40 stairs and it went down from there. We were hauling 5 bags so this was not easy. If you have any problems with stairs, this hotel, as with so many on the coast, may not be for you.
The rooms were big and we had a nice patio looking out over the sea. The shower was really small and you had to step over an 8" ledge to get in, so again accessibility may be a challenge. We walked down the 210 stairs to swim and while it took awhile to get back up the walk was worth it. The water was still swimable in late October and right around the corner was a grotto you could swim in.
The marina access steps were close by but it was a long walk down. A surprising number of restaurants await you and don't miss the great cooking from mamma at the Bar Petit Mar. You could walk along the main road for awhile and find other places to eat and if you are really fit
you can hike up to the older part of town.
Torre Saracena offered a relaxing place to return to and be out of the hustle of the bigger
tourist towns.

Room Tip: There are steps down to every room, stay in the main building for less stairs; however the stand-al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our Superior room was definitely one of the best to select. Our views of the nearby Saracen Torres and coastline below us were captivating.
The dressing room had C18 ceiling frescoes, and the whole room was spacious, light and comfortable. We had a wonderful terrace to enjoy an evening drink whilst taking in the relaxing panorama.
The delicious breakfasts were ample and varied, and serve doña sunny large room with those magical views.
STA buses were literally outside the front door, handy, but on a few occasions, too crowded to stop, so patience or alternative local plans are needed when the ferries aren't running, due to choppy seas, or busty times.

Room Tip: Superior rooms definitely, as standard rooms were lower down the cliff side and looked very simple f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalBayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Saracena hotel for 5 nights. A lovely hotel with great staff. Location is good, Praiano is quiet compared with Amalphi and Positano. Bus stop outside the door makes things very easy. Breakfast is very nice and would recommend to eat on the terrace as the view is awesome. A nice day is to catch the bus to Positano then ferry to Amalphi then bus back to Praiano. Bus drivers are great drivers but a bit hair raising and allow too many people on the bus.

Room Tip: Steps to most rooms but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Very well received at the hotel and got valuable help with our luggage as well as to park the car. The room is average and lacks couple of chairs. A tall person above 1.75 m or 5' 8" will find the beds short. The patio is well furnished. The bathroom is narrow but well equipped. Breakfast is good compared to other hotels in the area but the hotel lacks dining facility which is a bit of a distance from the hotel. There is a bus stop just at the hotel. In summary the price to offering is good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Minah_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our second time staying at Torre Saracena and once again we had a great time. The hotel is in a good location with private access down steps to the sea and also in walking distance of restaurants and the cove. We like the hotel because it is peaceful, clean and tidy with a beautiful panoramic view. The staff are always friendly and attentitive -they remembered us from last time and were happy to see us back. We ate at the owners Eliana's restaurant-just down the coast-to which they provided a free shuttle service. We also ate at Hotel Smeraldo-a twenty minute walk up into Praiano-they also were very friendly and gave us a free lift back to the hotel. We look forward to returning to hotel Torre Saracena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 19 in Praiano
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#2 of 19 in Praiano
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Saracena

Property: Hotel Torre Saracena
Address: Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#9 Family Hotel in Praiano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Saracena 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Amalfi Coast ( half way between Amalfi and Positano) the Hotel Torre Saracena is situated in a strategic position in the green landscape of the beautiful coast and directly on the sea. The family management offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The private descent to the sea, the gardens in the shade of lemon and olive trees gives relax and romantic atmosphere. On the Amalfi Coast all is poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Torre Saracena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Saracena Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing