We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Low-Key Amalfi Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa San Tommaso

View from terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from terrace
View from terrace View from path leading to the studio apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
View from terrace
View from terrace
View from path leading to the studio apartment
terrace
Studio flat
steps to the flat
Praia Beach
Walk from Praiano to Vettica - panorama Positano
Positano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LGfromCHS
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Low-Key Amalfi Getaway”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at this charming studio with georgious views overlooking the northern side of Praiano and the expansive blue Mediterranean! My wife and I live in a NYC walk-up, so we were used to the all the stairs - which actually is a positive considering the heeps of pasta, gelato and wine we consumed at the nearby restaurants. So many wonderful places to see in the area and very close by to neighboring Amalfi towns. I highly recomend this place for a couple looking for a romantic getaway that does not require too much space or over-the-top luxury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEdwards2...
UK
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed here for one week in July and It really was a great find. The apartment is exactly as you see in the pictures and has everything you need to make for a comfortable stay. We spent most of our time on the incredible terrace with a view that takes your breath away every morning you wake up and go out there to have your breakfast! Watching the boats go by and relaxing in the sun with a glass of wine and a good book was our favourite thing to do. Hardly went out for dinner as it was so nice to just cook with the beautifully fresh produce from the little shop nearby and enjoy the view from your own terrace. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Brilliant place, well worth a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace
Liked least: No iron
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aussieos0...
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable apertment with captivating views”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Casa San Tommasa is a very comfortable studio apartment with a great terrace. it is well equipped with very welcome airconditioning on some hot afternoons. Staying anywhere on the Amalfi involves steps and there are 67 to go up and down to get to the apartment, but that is not such a haul in these parts. We did not have a car, but found plenty of restaurants in walking distance (especially at the Hotel Margherita where you could walk with few steps). Also the local shop is close and is very well stocked. We usd the SITA and local buses to explore further, but found the local ones a bit unreliable. We enjoyed the local Praia beach as it had a real family atmosphere and a highlight was the La Sibilla boat trip to Capri. It was a wonderful week and we did not want to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrace
Liked least: Mattress was a bit firmer than I prefer, but still slept well.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinMer...
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful rook top terrace with spectacular views!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a week in the studio appartment in June. The star feature of this property is undoubtedly the spacious roof terrace, equipped with sun loungers, table and chairs, and a large moveable sun shade on wheels. The views are breathtaking - we were even treated one day to the sight of a family of dolphins frisking in the ocean below us! A heavenly way to spend the evening, sipping wine and watching the sunset. Fabulous.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof terrace and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinncis
Riga, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place for honeymoon!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

It is the best place to stay on honeymoon! Ideal for 2. The one should be willing to go by foot, but it is not so hard. Very cute (the most beautiful on coast) beach is just in 15 min walk distance.
Terrace is big, and you can enjoy sun on the terrace! We loved to eat brekafast with that stunning view and also some of dinners and lucnhes made at appartment.
and family who takes care of apprtament, they are very friendly and easy to communicate even if they do not speak english :)
We felt like being on paradise :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from terrace
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2012
Thank you so much, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and Praiano being the setting of your future life together. All the very best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane H
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What spectacular views in a most charming suite tucked between the busy towns of Positano and Amalfi”
Reviewed November 30, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 weeks in the studio suite of Casa San Tommaso and experienced what we imagined to be the Italian life!! The setting was spectacular, early mornings having cappuccinos on the terrazza watching the sun come up....afternoons sipping a glass of wine watching the sun go down. Praiano is a lovely, friendly town, anywhere we went the locals were so willing to help and proudly either told or showed us many of their favourite sites as well. There were lovely restaurants along the main road, with the beach and beach walks below...our particular favourite was Il Piratta located on the rocks close to the ocean, sitting outside having lunch watching the many local fishermen come in with their freshly caught seafood for the restaurants and local markets or the modern cruise ships off in the distance. It was a surprisingly easy drive with our car rental from Naples to the Amalfi Coast, where that drive was a little more challenging, we, however, took the local buses to most places of interest such as Amalfi, Positano, Ravello while we were in Praiano. . There are a couple of local markets with all your cooking needs including the freshest locally grown tomatoes, basil, fennel, plus the many meats and cheeses like no other! We would recommend Casa San Tommaso to those who would like the experience only what we thought dreams were of and for years in our imaginations. We also liked being away from the many touristy places which we found to be much noisier, Praiano is a jewel in probably the most spectacular part of the world ever. We have traveled to many exotic locations around the world being in the travel industry....to us, this was the place we will look forward to coming back to one day soon. Thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable, we are forever grateful for your hospitality. Debbie and Lane Hoogendyk, West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the terrazza and central location
Liked least: No answer for that one, as we liked everything
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing