We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Difficult Climb Up 215 Stairs to Average Accommodation With A Great View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colomba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Colomba
Ranked #3 of 12 Praiano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Difficult Climb Up 215 Stairs to Average Accommodation With A Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Praiano on our honeymoon. As part of our trip, we stayed at Pensione Colomba. While we enjoyed our time, we found the rooms to be average, the view to be incredible and the breakfast leaving something to be desired.

Upon arriving in the general area by local bus, we found it difficult to find the Pension because 1.) it was poorly advertised by signage; and 2.) it was located well-away from the main road.

The base of the steps up to the pensione is well situated - if not well marked - on the main road on the way into town.

To get to the Pensione, you really had to want to be there. It was located 215 stairs up from the main road! This is quite the trek with luggage! While the location did have an archaic pully-mechanism to cart your baggage up, to use it, you had to leave your baggage at the bottom, walk 215 stairs to the top to inform someone that you had arrived, then go back back down 215 stairs to the bottom to load your luggage on to the platform, then climb back up the steps. What a workout! We thought this was a little much to ask of your guests. Also, given how far up you are from the main road, if you forgot something in your room, there was no way you would go back to get it!

So let me talk about the steps for a moment. They are a lot harder than you think! The steps are relentless. In fact, there are benches along the way up the steps every 50 steps or so, just in case you want to take a breather. The walk up the steps is quite interesting - which is good, because you're going to spend quite a bit of time going up and down! Along the way up the stairs, you realize that you are walking through a little neighbourhood of houses that are built on a hill above each other. The locals keep gardens, so you walk past vegetables all the way up: tomatoes, grapes, zucchini, lemons, olives, and more. You even pass a few goats that are kept by some locals.

Once you get to your room, you find large yet sparten quarters. The room does have air conditioning. However, the shower is tiny and built for a 100 pound person. Hot water is only available from 7am to 11am and 5pm to 11pm, otherwise you will have a cold shower

On the bright side, the balcony is very spacious and offers you a wonderful view of Positano (5 km away) and the bay. The staff was friendly.

So - would I stay there again? Maybe. I would definitely look for other places first because nothing in particular makes me want to return to this spot other than the view. But remember that the view is a commodity at all similar places on the Amalfi coast.

If you found this review helpful, please click "YES!" below. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank GarfieldGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the last days of August. We had a room with a big terrace and sea view, it was stunning. Place is simple, it is a B&B. People are nice and helpful.
The biggest disadvantage is the stairs, 250 stairs to go down to the road and to come up to the hotel but then you have the view! To go to the sea, you need to go down 600 stairs after the road, so total is 850 stairs from the hotel to the sea level.
For the luggage, they have a small elevator system from the road to the hotel but then you still need to carry your luggage up to your room about additional 60-80 stairs. I would expect them to have a servise to carry the luggage up to the room!

Room Tip: get the room at the top floor, if not make sure you get a room with a large terrace&sea view, am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dersu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

My wife and I wanted to stay in a romantic place in a quieter part of the Amalfi Coast and the Casa Colomba exceeded all expectations. This family run business (Pina and Marcelo) catered to our every need and made our four night stay very special! The room was fantastic and came with spectacular views of the Amalfi Coast. When we walked onto our large balcony it seemed as if we were walking onto the Mediterranean Ocean! There are numerous steps that are required to reach the hotel (262) - but they are all worth it once you reach the top. We even continued up from the hotel to walk the "Pathway of the Gods" which is a must!
If you are looking for an amazing place to stay on your honeymoon or a romantic getaway - you will be quite pleased by Casa Colomba. To have the room and views (and free parking and breakfast) for under 80 Euros per night is a great deal!

Room Tip: Send an email to the owner (Pina) !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian_Titan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My second visit (first was ten years earlier) - and previous good memories were confirmed. Fabulous views along the coast to Positano. Good off-road parking. Excellent rooms and service - including a quaint baggage-hauling system up the very steep hillside.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molonglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#13 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#14 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colomba

Property: Casa Colomba
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 182, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colomba Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing