We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem for lounging around, resting and soaking in the beautiful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calanteluna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calanteluna
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem for lounging around, resting and soaking in the beautiful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

When we came across this place on Home Away, we were hesitant as we didn't know much about Amalfi Coast and no one that I know of seemed to have heard of the town of Praiano. We fell in love with the pictures and the views that we would get so we ended up booking this place. Praiano is a little town in between Positano and Amalfi easily accessible by bus but we didn't feel the need to travel to the other towns as much as we wanted to just relax. It is a small town, but it is a good place to relax and soak in the wonderful sunsets, which is exactly what we did. We spent our mornings hiking down to the beach (note that there are no real large beach/stretches of sands but more like a dock and cove area) and the afternoons sitting on the terrace sun bathing, reading, napping and eating. The view from this villa really is amazing and there is a convenient bus station to catch to the other towns along the Amalfi Coast. We stayed a few nights in Positano and 6 nights in Praiano and we loved loved loved this apartment. Positano was nice but Praiano had a really different vibe and view and I was reminicient to my days watching the sunset in the town of IA in Santorini. Overall, this place was wonderful, everything was clean and we had everything we needed. The added bonus there is also a sweet old italian lady living above the apartment who would randomly bring us wonderful home cooked food and coffee for no apparent reason when she saw us sitting on the terrace or doing laundry or preparing a little meal/snack to enjoy on the terrace. Really, we had the most amazing time and felt the true Italian family hospitality!

This little villa is a little family run business and Elia and Pietro were a pleasure to work with. We even got to meet Mama and Papa too. Thank you Elia and Pietro and family for the wonderful memories!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

With some websites, the photos look too good to be true. With Calanteluna, it's prettier in real life, amazingly. We had a wonderful time here and wished we'd had more time to stay longer.

Calanteluna itself is a self-contained little house with (i think) 4 units of varying sizes. You correspond with the family who own it directly and the service from the family when you're there is beyond excellent. From Peter who met us and directed the taxi up the (almost vertical) hill - thank God, because we had 7 bags for 4 people and we almost had to climb up the hill AND the 150 steps it takes to get up to the house- to Mama who brought us yummy croissants from Bar Sol on the main street to Elia, who got us an extra fan, drove it over from Sorrento and deposited it in the house whilst we were out to dinner. We felt special and loved all through our time there.

Special mention also for their restaurant in Positano, Saracenodoro, the desserts are yummy and of course because they recognise you, the service is fantastic (even though I note that they gave the same attentive service to everyone having dinner there, they were just more familiar with us).

You can't go wrong if you stay there.

Note: summer in amalfi is as per all the other reviews on this site, hot, sticky and full of people. the sita buses and the other little positano-praiano buses were always full. also, the whole place is built on cliff, so if you have dodgy knees or hips, be aware that there is ALOT of climbing to do. if you're staying at Calanteluna though, you can always order fresh produce to be delivered from the supermarket and you can stay in, lie on the sun loungers and just .... relax. They have books and magazines from all over, I guess previous guests have left them behind. Bliss.

We will be back and hopefully, Peter's dream of installing a swimming pool and air conditioning will be in place by then!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borninaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here only for 5 nights, wished I stayed longer!!! It's an ideal place to stay: quiet, clean (unfortunately the towels were not changed during the stay) and it has the most beautiful view!!! Too many steps but once you are up the view it's breathtaking....Calanteluna it's a home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_apo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

we just want to say "Thank You" for the friendly welcome and the very relaxing week we spent at CalanteLuna. It is a really nice place to be! The apartment was well furnished, and the kitchenette was fully equipped, I remember the DeLonghi Espresso Machine! Best of all was the wonderful view on the Amalfi coast line with Positano in one direction, and the sea with half of Capri in the other direction. And we greatly appreciated the silence in nighttime, no airplane, no traffic. All in all, CalanteLuna is a small paradise! We really hope to come there again.

Kind regards from Frankfurt, Germany
Nicoletta + Lutz

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LutzM187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed for one week with 3 children in April 2011. The apartment has an absolutely fantastic view over the coast and the village of Positano, and has the feeling of a mountain retreat away from the world below. However, you have to walk more than 100 steps up from the street. Praiano is much quieter than Positano or Amalfi and is a good fit for families or people looking to relax.
The apartment was very clean and everything worked well. The owners are exceptionally nice and even brought us a delicious cake one evening. We would gladly go back to Calanteluna.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in Calante Luna. The owners are very friendly and helpfull. The place is new and very clean and has a big terras from where you have a spectular view on the sea and the city Positano. Calante Luna is situated at walking distance from Praiano (Be aware of the steep slope). Praiano is a good place to visite the Amalfi coast. We can really recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefang1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed five days in Calante Luna - we definitely did not want to leave! The apartment and its views are worth every step of the climb and when we arrived there was the most fantastic sunset. It is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and everything has been thought of. Fantastic bathrooms! The owner could not have been more kind and friendly - greeting us on our first morning with freshly brewed coffee and never passing without a smile or a wave. We felt very at home. We had dinner one night at the owner's family-owned restaurant in Positano which was of the same high standard.
Praiano is much quieter than its nieghbours Amalfi and Positano and it was a relief to return there after visits to the other resorts. A short walk to the bottom of the hill to the bus stop, shops and restaurants. We cannot recommend Calante Luna highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie2865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanteluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanteluna

Property: Calanteluna
Address: Via Casa Cinque 4, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Calanteluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calanteluna Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing