We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calanteluna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Calanteluna
Certificate of Excellence
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here only for 5 nights, wished I stayed longer!!! It's an ideal place to stay: quiet, clean (unfortunately the towels were not changed during the stay) and it has the most beautiful view!!! Too many steps but once you are up the view it's breathtaking....Calanteluna it's a home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna_apo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
63
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

we just want to say "Thank You" for the friendly welcome and the very relaxing week we spent at CalanteLuna. It is a really nice place to be! The apartment was well furnished, and the kitchenette was fully equipped, I remember the DeLonghi Espresso Machine! Best of all was the wonderful view on the Amalfi coast line with Positano in one direction, and the sea with half of Capri in the other direction. And we greatly appreciated the silence in nighttime, no airplane, no traffic. All in all, CalanteLuna is a small paradise! We really hope to come there again.

Kind regards from Frankfurt, Germany
Nicoletta + Lutz

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LutzM187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed for one week with 3 children in April 2011. The apartment has an absolutely fantastic view over the coast and the village of Positano, and has the feeling of a mountain retreat away from the world below. However, you have to walk more than 100 steps up from the street. Praiano is much quieter than Positano or Amalfi and is a good fit for families or people looking to relax.
The apartment was very clean and everything worked well. The owners are exceptionally nice and even brought us a delicious cake one evening. We would gladly go back to Calanteluna.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in Calante Luna. The owners are very friendly and helpfull. The place is new and very clean and has a big terras from where you have a spectular view on the sea and the city Positano. Calante Luna is situated at walking distance from Praiano (Be aware of the steep slope). Praiano is a good place to visite the Amalfi coast. We can really recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefang1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed five days in Calante Luna - we definitely did not want to leave! The apartment and its views are worth every step of the climb and when we arrived there was the most fantastic sunset. It is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and everything has been thought of. Fantastic bathrooms! The owner could not have been more kind and friendly - greeting us on our first morning with freshly brewed coffee and never passing without a smile or a wave. We felt very at home. We had dinner one night at the owner's family-owned restaurant in Positano which was of the same high standard.
Praiano is much quieter than its nieghbours Amalfi and Positano and it was a relief to return there after visits to the other resorts. A short walk to the bottom of the hill to the bus stop, shops and restaurants. We cannot recommend Calante Luna highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie2865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My sister and I stayed here for a week and loved it. It is well situated between Amalfi and Positano and the buses make it easy ans cheap to get around. The apartment is lovely and they have thought of everything you may need. The only draw back is the hill up and the 108 steps to reach the apartment but that just made it easier to eat really well and not feel guilty. When you reach the top it is so worth the climb, the views are spectacular and apartment is a little piece of heaven away from home. The couple who own it also own a restaurant in Positano Saraceno d'Oro which is also excellent, great food, good prices and the atmosphere is very Italian (welcoming and family like) I highly highly recommend both of these places.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Calante Luna was an absolutely lovely and quite literally breath taking place to spend our week on the Amalfi coast. It's brand new (we were only the second family to stay there) and beautifully decorated. Remodeling the place was clearly a labor of love. The owners live on the floor above and were wonderfully gracious hosts, well accustomed to caring for guests after running a family restaurant in nearby Positano for the last 20 years or so. It's perfectly situated, well equipped, and we highly recommend staying here if you're so lucky!

About the apartment:

Above all, the view is gorgeous. Probably one of the best on the Amalfi coast. From Praiano you are perfectly situated to overlook Positano, and on a clear day you can see all the way down the coast to Capri. You can sit on the patio for hours and never tire of it, and the window in the bedroom is fantastically picturesque. Really, the photos don't do it justice. Everything in the house is brand new and just beautiful - lovely tile floors, nice and well stocked kitchen, great patios, very clean and modern bathrooms.

But perhaps even better than the view, one of our favorite things about staying at Calante Luna were our wonderful hosts. The family is incredibly gracious and hospitality is clearly second nature, probably because they all work at the family restaurant (Saracena D'Oro) in Positano. It's probably one of the best places to eat in Positano, since they actually care about the food, and they give you a 10% discount as guests. The care taker, Silvana, gave us a stamped card with the discount on it, but we didn't need it at all. The minute we walked up, she greeted us like family! We enjoyed it so much that we went a second time before leaving.

The overall experience of staying there is just wonderful. We were met by one of the sons, who carried our heavy suitcases (full of wine from Tuscany) up the many stairs, and immediately offered us fresh fruit and cold drinks on our arrival. Do not underestimate the stairs, there are many of them (hence the breath taking comment above), this location is not for people with mobility problems and you would do well to pack light. And Silvana came by in the morning a few times to offer some sweet Italian coffee or cake, and just to chat to make sure we were enjoying our stay. Her English is excellent, but she was also very kind about humoring our desire to converse in Italian.

About the location (other than the view):

We found Praiano a great home base for the Amalfi coast. It's located right between the two nicest cities, Amalfi (with connections to cities down the coast) and Positano (with ferries to Capri and other lovely destinations). And it is well connected by SITA bus (the line that runs up and down the whole coast) and the local Flavio Gioia bus (service between Praiano and Positano). The apartment is about a five minute walk up the hill from the main bus stop in Praiano. The local bus service is cheap, runs more frequently and regularly than the SITA bus, and runs pretty late, so we found it to be incredibly convenient for getting to and from Positano. You can even buy your tickets right on the bus for an extra 30 eurocents, but they prefer if you buy beforehand. And as an added benefit, you can take the local bus one stop past the main stop in Praiano to save yourself a little walk up the hill. Silvana provided bus schedules for both lines, making it super easy to plan.

There are a several little markets within walking distance at the bottom of the hill for groceries, bread, cheese, fruit etc. And there are a couple of restaurants you can walk to on the main road. We didn't really even explore the actual town of Praiano which is up above the apartment. We hiked down to the beach one day, and it wasn't really worth it -- it's quite a hike! You can take the local bus to a beach called La Praia where there are chairs and a couple restaurants. But we took our beach day on Capri (ferry service from Positano and Amalfi) as we found the island's beaches to be much prettier.

[a note about the local bus, since this took us a while to figure out. It passes through the main Praiano bus stop 3 times. First coming from Positano where it goes up through Praiano and then to the beach at La Praia, Second coming back and going up through town again but skipping La Praia, and Third going back to Positano. If you are in a rush, like to catch a ferry, board the second time since the bus might fill up before the third stop]

Two minor issues:

The only thing that was difficult (other than the stairs!) is that there were a lot of mosquitoes, and I was getting terribly bitten. However, about halfway through our stay Silvana bought a portable fan for the place (as I mentioned, the place is brand new) which helped a lot. There were some ants outside on the patio, which would sometimes venture into the house, but if you have that problem ask Silvana for a spray to take care of them.

The patio, while it is gorgeous and decorated with lovely flowers, is well equipped with a private table with an umbrella, shared lounge chairs with an umbrella, a semi-private jacuzzi, and is more private and luxurious than most any hotel in the area; although it is shared by the next door apartment. The bedroom has a door that opens on to the deck directly, and while there is a trellis which divides the deck in two, it doesn't provide full privacy. This was indicated to use before we booked, so not a problem, just something to be aware of.

In sum, this place is perfect for a romantic stay (we were in the smaller apartment) and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanteluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanteluna

Property: Calanteluna
Address: Via Casa Cinque 4, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Calanteluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calanteluna Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing