We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful with beautiful views”
Review of Villa Il Frantoio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Il Frantoio
Ranked #4 of 12 Praiano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our family, 3 adults and 1 child, just returned from our stay. The 2 bedroom apartment was well equipped with a kitchen, dining table, 2 full bathrooms and 2 large and comfortable beds.

The view is worth a million dollars, especially a sunset. We took advantage of our private large terrance and relaxed with snacks and wine. It was a great space for the young child to safely play outside.

Communication from pre-booking to after we left was outstanding.

I would highly recommend this Villa. A lot of care and thought has been put into the complex so the guests have very an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico_Ga, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Il Frantoio, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Shaydc,

we were surprised on how you and your family were so brave to visit Praiano and the Amalfi Coast during winter. You deserve a golden badge!
We were so happy to read your comments on our Villa and of my brother Giulio's great care over your stay.
We wish to have you as our guests again in the future once again.
Domenico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Villa Il Frantoio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 184 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Location - Villa Il Frantoio is situated atop the hillside of Praiano on the Amalfi Coast and has incredible views of Positano and well as the island of Capri in the distance! We absolutely loved staying in Praiano because it is far less touristy than the neighboring cities of Positano and Amalfi, and therefore offers a bit more serenity. In addition, because Praiano is less touristy we were able to find free parking for the three nights we stayed there (which would have been next to impossible in Positano or Amalfi). Yes, there are a few stairs to tackle with luggage, but if you drive your luggage to Villa Il Frantoio's taxi stand and walk down it is FAR easier than walking up the stairs from the main road. Also note, the free parking is essentially two streets up from the taxi stand where there are no markings on the road (neither white nor blue).

Customer Service - The staff working the front desk were extremely helpful and gave us wonderful suggestions as to what we should do on our three night stay there. Two things we would highly recommend is #1) Rent a scooter for 24 hours (60 euros) and drive the entire Amalfi Coast (from Positano to Amalfi). This was the highlight of our two week trip to Italy and was so much fun! #2) Instead of taking the public ferry to and from Capri (36 euros pp), spend a little extra (55 euros pp) and take a boat tour through BOA tours to the island of Capri. We realized that we had more fun boating around Capri (stopping to swim in grottoes) than we did on the actual island of Capri.

Atmosphere - Relaxing and Romantic are what come to mind when I think of this place. Incredibly peaceful and the views are just breathtaking!

Amenities - Beautiful pool overlooking the Mediterranean, mini-bar in each room, laundry and ironing services, private patio/balcony area with dining table. We also took advantage of a take out service from a local eatery as they would deliver to Villa Il Frantoio and we were able to eat on our gorgeous patio/balcony!

Would We Recommend? - Absolutely YES! This place had incredible views and wonderful service...our favorite stay on our entire two week trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the Villa Il Frantoio and we can't say enough wonderful things about it.
Far from the crowds of Positano but close enough that you can pop over and get the idea of it, Praiano and the Villa il Frantoio are the perfect destination for those seeking to not share their vacation with throngs of tourists bumping into each other.
Our well appointed suite had a jacuzzi tub, a kitchenette & a lovely veranda with super comfy chairs.
The gardens are incredible and you'll enjoy their fruits of bananas and persimmons during the delicious breakfast accompanied by the espresso drink of your choosing.
The pool is small but it's really all you need to cool off and plop yourself back in your chair to enjoy the views of the Mediterranean Sea & Positano.
Giulio and Simona are kind and helpful -- their dinner suggestions were impeccable (We ate at the La Strada Ristorante balcony twice!) When we asked for boat excursion recommendations, Giulio made the call and negotiated the price for us. What fun to get picked up at the beach and raced to Positano to take off on our private boat for the day.
We are already planning our return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are searching for a relaxing location with fantastic service and amenities look no further. Julio and his staff certainly made our stay on the Amalfi coast a memorable one. The villa itself is well situated providing great views overlooking the Mediterranean. A 'few' stairs (200+) from the main street where local transportation is available and local shops to pick up lunch items and other basic items. You can also reach the villa from a street above with few steps down. It is also on the main street where you will want to seek out your choice of restaurant.

As for our room, we were fortunate to book the Olivaio room. This room has a great terrace, large bathroom with a shower that looks out over the Mediterranean, and a space that is very comfortable. Breakfast is included and although European breakfast brings to mind coffee/tea and a pastry, this must be the deluxe version. Julio and his staff set out a breakfast in the adjoining area and serve you a choice of coffees/teas/espresso/cappuccino.

One of the amenities that we enjoyed while relaxing was the pool. There are plenty of loungers, chairs and umbrellas around the pool for guests and drinks can be ordered as well. We took advantage of the pool area as we had fantastic weather during our stay.

Finally, I cannot review this accommodation without highlighting the great staff. If not for their attention to detail and their willingness to go out of their way at times to assist, I am sure that our stay would not have as memorable. Everything from making an espresso to booking private tours to Capri. They are more than willing to help you and make sure that your stay is memorable and enjoyable. Julio we really appreciated your attention to personal service during our stay and that extends to your staff as well. We will be returning in the future and will certainly staying at Villa Il Frantoio.

Room Tip: The Olivaio room had a great view (Positano in the distance), large terrace with chairs, table and u...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NL_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I booked the 2 bedroom house so we could have our own rooms. What a delightful surprise when we arrived to also have our own bathrooms, a kitchen and sitting/dining room as well as our own private terrace with the most fabulous view over the sea. It took our breath away!

The owners and staff were incredibly friendly and could not have been more helpful - assisting us with restaurant recommendations (do not miss La Strada), taxis and tour recommendations.

The only warning we would give fellow travellers is to be aware that it is necessary to negotiate about 150 steep steps down to the village (and then of course back up again!!) So, not for those who have any difficulty walking. Of course there is the option of a bus or taxi but this also involves a bit of a walk as the village is car free. DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY THIS UNLESS YOU HAVE MOBILITY ISSUES as it is definitely worth it for the view!!

We spent 6 lovely days here and visited Positano, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Sorrento and Capri. Pompeii and Herculaneum were amazing and so interesting - we took a taxi there from Praiano and paid €220 for a round trip. It sounds like a lot but the driver (Genarro) was at our disposal all day and it saved the bother of busses and trains so we thought money well spent.

We did try getting a bus to Sorrento but they were all so full, they were not stopping in Praiano. Advice - go early! So we ended up getting a taxi there and then caught the bus back. As the bus back starts at the train station in Sorrento, it was easy to get a seat. The bus trip is worth it for the views although if you hate "edges" like me, don't sit near the window! Sorrento was interesting and a nice day trip for a look around the old town and the shops. Best done on a less sunny day as it is a busy city.

Positano is just lovely! Very pretty with lots of lovely local shops selling beautiful linen clothes (Marilu). Also nice cafes. Quite a busy place but in a nice way.

We organised to go on an excursion to Capri via Villa Il Frantoio but this was unfortunately cancelled due to bad weather so we took the ferry over from Positano. We only saw the port and Capri Town as it was just so busy and commercialised that we were desperate to get back to Positano! Maybe if we had spent a couple of days on Capri we would have discovered some of it's delights. But neither of us came on holiday to shop in well known shops common in London!

And the village of Praiano? Just perfect if you, like us, are after a relaxing, tranquil break from it all. There are enough nice restaurants to eat well every night (or the option of a trip to Positano). But the pace of life seemed slower and much less busy thn Positano which is only 15 - 20 mins away. That was what we loved most - the peace and relaxation available at the start and end of every day.

To all at the Villa Il Frantoio -GRAZIE MILLE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Treacle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a nice place! A wine for welcome, Limoncello shots waiting in our room...
Our room (number 3) was simple but charming with nice details. Everything was very new and clean. Highlight: The terrace and a small garden facing the sea. The smell of lavender is everywhere...
Breakfast is in a small room, half indoor, half outdoor with seaview. Small choice, but great quality. Many products come from the own garden. You do not need more!
The owner and staff was always helpful and had great suggestions for us.
Parking is possible three minutes away from the villa. But you do not really need a car here. The busstop (in Praiano) is just 5 minutes down the hill (200 steps). From there you can go to Positano, Amalfi, ...
Must do for hiking fans: Sentiego degli dei (Walk of gods)... From the Hotel up to Convento San Domenico and then walk to Nocelle and climb down the steps to Praiano to take the bus back. Great views and lovely nature on the way!
And later you can relax in the pool. There you find a fridge with drinks (you can bill on the room).
Our favourute beach: Furnillo, one bay next to Positano (10 min walk from marina). Nice Place: Da Ferdinando or Furnillo.
Villa Il Frantoio is a really nice place with stunning views. We spend six happy days here discovering the Amalfi Coast and enjoying "la dolce vita".
Only little minus: Internet is not for free (15 Euro for our stay).

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, no street noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombat1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We returned to Villa Il Frantoio for our second stay recently and can't praise it enough. From the friendly, can't do enough for staff, the rooms with incredible views, the pool WOW to the incredible breakfast. Frantoio is a as beautiful as the Amalfi Coast and well worth the walk up the steps. We shall be returning before the end of the season this year.

xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustineCampbellJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#14 of 20 in Praiano
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Il Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Frantoio

Address: Via Francesco Russo 36, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range: $193 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Il Frantoio is located in Praiano and is set in a magnificent position overlooking Positano and Capri. Recently renovated with all modern comfort, including ADSL, Air Conditioning SAT-TV. Each room has its own private terrace with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Il Frantoio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Frantoio Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing