We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually a restaurant review - excellent restaurant”
Review of Hotel Smeraldo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Smeraldo
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I didn't stay at this hotel, but ate at the restaurant and it was excellent. The view on the patio overlooks the ocean, harbor, and Positano. At night, the lights in the harbor and on the mountainside are spectacular.

We happened to walk by the hotel while going into town for groceries and decided to return for supper. When we arrived at 7:30 pm, we were a little worried as there were no other diners there and we wondered if we had made a mistake in choosing this restaurant. It only started filling up at 8:30

My 2 boys had grilled steak, my wife had swordfish and I had the mixed local seafood platter. It was all excellent. In particular, I highly recommend the seafood platter which included grilled dorado, swordfish, calamari and assorted shellfish. It was delicious.

The service was outstanding - very gracious and welcoming. The waitress (who also seemed to be the manager) made sure my boys were looked after, offered them french fries with their meals, etc. In passing, I asked her how we would get down to the beach when we returned to town the next day. Rather than just explaining, she insisted on showing us. After our meal, she walked outside with us and showed us the entrance to the beach pathway.

4 meals including antipasti platter, no wine, 2 desserts, 100 Euros

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank KVKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

nice decorated hotel. good breakfast, sea view; simply decorated rooms

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amirim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista mare.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claudio Ex Ing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank stefano s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank CicalaVagabonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank heidiamlago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank silvia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Sant'andrea
Hotel Piccolo Sant'andrea
#15 of 20 in Praiano
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#12 of 20 in Praiano
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione N. 133, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $112 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Smeraldo is a pearl in the hearth of Amalfi Drive. The hotel opened in 1957 in Praiano, at the time, an old fishing village. From its panoramic terraces, in addition to gazing upon the splendour of Li Galli islands, guests can also admire the enchanting view of Positano as well as captivating Capri with its Faraglioni.All rooms overlook the sea and are served by a lift and have private bathroom, heating and air-conditioning system, telephone, TV and terrace.The Hotel also has a parking lot with an automatic gate, where you can safely park your car. An excellent restaurant, specializing in local dishes, overlooks the bay of Positano and Capri.The garden, lobby, bar lounge, and staircase to the beach are all enjoyable and convenient attributes of the Hotel.But it is the warmth and kindness of the owners that make this the perfect vacation spot both during the relaxing winter season as well as the lively summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smeraldo Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing