We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Praiano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pellegrino
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Brossard, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home in Praiano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 4 days in Praiano on the Amalfi Coast. The perfect location to visit all of the towns along the coast. Luigi and his family made us feel at home the minute we got there. We were welcomed with a warm greeting and a complimentary bottle of wine. The food is amazing. We ate all our evening meals there as we knew that ever night we would be treated to a culinary feast. We happened to be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and Luigi did not overlook this. He prepared a feast of lobster and spaghetti in our honor along with a lemon cake. A night we will never forget. The views from the restaurant and from our room balcony were amazing. Luigi and his family not only pay attention to every detail but treat each and every guest like a family friend. This kind of hospitality is what make visiting Hotel Pellegrino a must for anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 965SuperB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    48
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
404
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Luigi and his family were perfect hosts and made our 2 day stay in Praiano memorable. The accommodations were large and clean, and the view from the dining room was spectacular. The breakfasts were the best we had during our time in Italy and the dinner we had while there was delicious! The hotel is right at the first bus stop in Praiano, which means not having to climb with suitcases. You are a short walk from town.

Luigi even offered to drive us into Positano one day as we arrived without an auto. Would highly recommend staying here to avoid the crowds of Positano and Amalfi and to enjoy la dolce vita in southern Italy. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book a suite with verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Pellegrino based on all the comments on this site about the warm hospitality of the family that owns it, and we weren't disappointed! Luigi and his sister Angela who run the pensione went out of their way to accommodate and anticipate our needs. My husband, my sister and I visited the Amalfi Coast during the beginning of October, at the end of our 2 1/2 weeks in Southern Italy, and were charmed by the efforts the whole family made for us. We appreciated all the extra services, from the welcome drink (and then also the bruschetta and tiramisu which were brought out "on the house" when Luigi found we hadn't had any lunch) to the extra early breakfast Luigi prepared for us so we could be ready for our pick up by our driver on the morning we left, and so many little things in between... Due to the reduced bus schedule in the fall and a couple of days of rainy weather, we had some trouble getting places by bus, but Luigi or Angela stepped in and drove us/picked us up several times during our stay. Their restaurant recommendations in Praiano, Positano and Amalfi were absolutely perfect. But the dinner we had at the pensione in the lovely third floor dining room was also fantastic (best risotto of the trip!), and we appreciated the cake brought out after dinner for my husband's birthday. And the breakfasts are very generous, with a plate of eggs, cheese, prosciutto and tomatoes, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, bread and homemade spreads--or cereal or a piece of something sweet, if you would prefer...

Our two-room suite was very roomy (it used to be the dining room) and the bathrooms newly remodeled. There was a nice little balcony with a view of Praiano, but due to the weather (and the road noise when outside) we unfortunately didn't spend much time there. We are so glad we chose Praiano as our home base while on the Amalfi Coast and have fond memories of the warm hospitality we experienced at the Pellegrino!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After a long drive from Sicily we (2 couples) encountered the last 30 kms along the Amalfi Coast to Praiano and found it took an exhausting 1.5 hours. On our arrival at Pensione Pellegrino, Luigi appeared like magic, backed our car off the busy road, helped us unload, parked the car in his private garage and invited up to the dining area terrace for a welcome drink and delicious homemade ricotta cake. That set the tone for our 4 wonderful days in this small magical family run pensione/hotel.
Each room has a stunning view of the village of Praiano and the sea. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and even though it has a lift we used the stairs between the 1st and dining area on the 3rd floor level.
The setting of the pensione, slightly out of Praiano village, is not a problem as there are bus stops right out the front to either visit Positano in the north or Amalfi in the south.
Any visit to Pensione Pellegrino is made very special by the wonderful host, Luigi, his wife and their charming young daughter. As others have mentioned, the meals are fantastic, from wonderful breakfasts to the special entrees created each night leading onto our personal choice for dinner. We enjoyed every night on the terrace overlooking the sea and the sparkling lights of homes and other small hotels clinging to the cliffs along the coast.
When I wasn't well Luigi drove me in his car, to the local chemist. Such a charming host - in 4 days we almost felt like family BUT he has that special way with all his guests.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but some may be a little larger than others. 1st floor on north end of pensio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry_D42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just as most reviews indicate this place is a little gem on the Amalfi Coast. Luigi and his family are very gracious host who do everything possible to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. The rooms are by no means luxurious but offer all of the amenities necessary for comfortable accommodations. We were staying there with another couple and although our room was a bit small the room that our friends were staying in was quite large. Every room has great views of the Mediterranean. The restaurant serves up an excellent dinner, one of the best meals we had on our 15 night Italian journey. The morning breakfast is simple yet quite delicious consisting of fresh fruits, cakes and scrambled eggs. Usually a scrambled egg is just that a scrambled egg. But not here, these were unbelievable I wish I could figure out how to make them. The hotel is located within walking distance to the small quaint village of Praiano. Should you be planning a stay in this area this would be the only place you should consider staying

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alburgh, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Room 21 has a beautiful view of the water and town of Praiano. Very nice bathroom with standup shower. Water and water pressure was outstanding. WiFi was good. Bed was very comfortable and the service.....OUTSTANDING. Luigi and his wife were the most gracious, professional owner/operators we've ever experienced. As an airline pilot and flight attendant.....my wife and I consider ourselves "professional hotel guests". The world is a better place at Hotel Pellegrino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pellegrino in late August. When we arrived Luigi and his wife greeted us. The first night there we had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent you could tell it was made fresh to order, they served an anchovies that was stuffed with cheese and breaded and it was fabulous (and I don't like anchovies). The breakfast was perfect, fresh fruit and breads and the eggs my husband said were the best he has ever had. Our second day we were asking Luigi how to take the bus into Positano and he graciously offered to drive us in his car and drop us off near the beach, when he dropped us off he told us to call him when we were ready to come back to the hotel and he would come and pick us up. The rooms are clean with air-conditioning, and had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. Everyone was so friendly it made you feel right at home. The Amalfi coast is beautiful and within walking distance you were in Praiano which had a small market and a couple of restaurants. If you are looking for a nice and quiet out of the way place this is the place to check out. Thank you Luigi for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 21 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 21 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 21 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Property: Hotel Pellegrino
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione, 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing