We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Luigi”
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pellegrino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our host was amazing, and his family could not do more to make us feel like we were staying in their home. Beautifully cooked meals and genuine people. Rooms were spotless, great location. Would highly recommend. Also staying in Praiano is much more peaceful than neighbouring Almalfi or Positano.

Room Tip: Ask for room 29 with the beautifully renovated huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwhittle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 746 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Hotel Pellegrino for four days. Our host, Luigi and his family made us all feel like family. Although it is a small hotel, it had everything and more you could ask for. The included breakfast was outstanding (and seemed never ending), and the dinners were first class. Located between Amalfi and Positano, it is a great location for visiting both for day trips. The 20 minute walk into the town of Praiano was easy and well worth it. You'll find good shopping for food and wine. The local cafe was a great place to stop at for a glass of wine on the outdoor terrace. If you're up for the hike, the walk to the local beach called One Fire Beach Club is well worth it. The staff, the music and the Italian beer was a real treat, not to mention the fantastic views. All-in-all, the Hotel Pellegrino was a real gem of a find. I highly recommend it if your planning on a trip to the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I promised myself I would write a review the minute I got home - but life got busy and here I am 2 weeks later dreaming of a chilled white wine on the balcony of Hotel Pellegrino watching the sun go down. This truly is one of the best places I have stayed on vacation.
Firstly, Praiano is the pick of the Amalfi Coast. It's peaceful, quaint, hidden away from the crowds and the perfect base for day trips to Ravello, Amalif, Capri and Positano. The restaurants (all within walking distance of Hotel Pellegrino) are some of the best we visited and OneFire Beach Club is a must for lying on a deck chair beside the ocean, listening to great music and being served Aperol Spritz by the entertaining bar host.
And then there's Luigi and his family, who from the moment we arrived, made us feel like one of them! The rooms are simple yet clean and comfortable but it is the service that you simply can't get anywhere else. From the welcome drinks and snacks, the home-made cake, the carefully picked Italian wines, the complimentary appetisers at dinner and the amazing breakfast spread - to the travel tips, transfers, general knowledge and just genuine hospitality. Luigi and Hotel Pellegrino made our trip one of the best we've ever had so you'd be crazy not to book here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Let me start by informing potential travelers not to get duped into staying within the main towns like Positano or Amalfi. The reason I say this is because, while being both being beautiful towns, they are small towns and you are going to want to travel along the Amalfi coast in both directions and staying within these towns make that travel difficult. If instead you stay along the primary road, like where Pellegrino is located, you can jump right on the bus, or your car or scooter, and easily travel to your town of choice for the day, instead of first having to take a 30 minute hike through tiny, crowded streets on a steep incline. These walks are excellent when your visiting the towns and meandering through them, but you don't want it to be part of your daily two-way travels, believe me.
Pellegrino is located on the main road just outside of Praiano which has many good restaurants (we loved La Brace) and a fantastic beach. Our hosts, Luigi & Angela, were very helpful in dropping us off at restaurants in Praiano and the beach access entrance as part of our accommodations. The hotel is centrally located so you can quite easily travel to Amalfi, Positano, Sorrento, Capri, Pompeii, etc. Luigi & Angela provided us with maps and bus tickets (bus stop is right outside the hotel and is about every 30 mins) which made each days travels effortless.
Luigi, Angela, Sandra, & Alicia all were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The meals we had at the hotel (a fantastic breakfast is included) we all amazing - we had 5 dinners there out of our 9 total nights.
Finally, we felt like the overall value of our trip was excellent, especially considering that we were on the Amalfi coast. The total cost of the accommodations, the breakfasts, the amazing 4-5 course dinners, and the wine was extremely fair (less than we anticipated).
One last comment, the hotel is impeccably well maintained and clean.
One of the best, if not the best, vacations we have had. J&H

Room Tip: Go for value, you won't be in your room very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayOnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay here was fabulous. Given we were here in November 2012 (and we have been very slow to write this review) and the holiday season had slowed right down, Luigi was very helpful in driving us to different restaurants of an evening or places of interest during the day. Nothing was too much trouble: tea to our room in the afternoon, tickets for the bus if we needed it.

On the night we arrived, after travelling all day, we were shown to our clean and spacious room and then asked if we would like a glass of wine and something to eat. Luigi is a fabulous host and we would gladly stay here again. The restaurant was closed for evening meals while we were there but the breakfasts were the best we had in Italy, very generous servings of lovely fresh food.

The room has a great outlook over Praiano, and a large balcony to sit and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have had the exquisite pleasure of staying with Luigi and his beautiful family for the last five nights. We have travelled extensively in many countries and stayed at some very beautiful hotels, however, none like this. As I write; I sit on the balcony of the third floor overlooking the Amalfi coast, drinking beautiful local wines recommended by Luigi and listening to Italian classics. Nothing is too much trouble for the family who run this family owned hotel, which has the feel of an intimate BnB. The rooms are very well appointed, spotlessly clean and enjoy their own private balcony. Remember, this is Italy so most accommodation is in older buildings. The charm is in how well these buildings are kept true to their original form, whilst ensuring the important items that modern travellers require are provided. This is extraordinarily well managed at Hotel Pellegrino. Luigi will ensure that anything you wish to do whilst you are here can be achieved! When was the last time you stayed somewhere and upon enquiring about a clothes airer to dry some washing, were told; "just give your washing to me " and then return the next day to find it ironed and folded in the wardrobe in your room? This was a first for us! NOW.......the food! It is wonderful. I guarantee you will not have had breakfasts as fresh or delicious as these and don't get me started on the cake....worry about your diet when you get home! Thank you to the whole family for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be back! Chris and Sam Lombardo, Australia.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th Anniversary trip to Italy. It was our first stop in Italy and our first trip to the Amalfi Coast. We could not have enjoyed our stay more, I only wish all our hotels were half as nice. The room itself was very large, clean and well appointed. The bathroom and shower were over the top, very modern and spacious, just perfect. We had a great view off our balcony. But as others have said, what makes this place the best is Luigi and his family. They are not exaggerating, he really makes you feel welcome, special and appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,569 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $153 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing