We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!!”
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pellegrino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The 4 nights we spent from July 7-11 2013 was unquestionally the best hotel experience we have experienced as a family. Luigi, Sandra, Angela and the Rispoli children were the most genuine, friendly and helpful hotel hosts we have ever experienced. We don't say this lightly as both my wife and I worked in 5 star hotels during our university years. The Rispoli family went over and above our expectations of service. The food quality and quantity from breakfast to dinner was fresh, healthy and delicious. Picture your self in the morning or evening sitting on a large veranda overlooking the Amlfi coast envelopped in lush green being served homemade and fresh daily food.The room quality and size was exceptional. If you're travelling as a family ask for room 24-2 bathrooms, 2 rooms and a large balcony with a wnderful view of the sea. The location was ideal. We chose to make Praiano and Pellegrino our home base and do day trips to the various Amlfie villages which I would recommend to anyone debating staying in multiple villages on the coast. If for whatever reason you decide not to stay at Hotel Pellegrino then I encourage you to atleast go there for breakfast and dinner and enjoy the marvellous ambience,service and food.

Room Tip: Room 24 if you're travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 735 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

You should consider yourself very lucky if you ever get a chance to stay here. The warmth and attention you will receive will make you very happy. We cannot fault anything at this beautiful property. Thank you for making our time with you do special. Renae and Pete

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This review is a confirmation of the others.The best hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in late May for two nights in a comfortable, well furnished room with a gorgeous bathroom on the 2nd floor. The views from the small balcony were marvellous, as were the views from the terrace and diningroom of the restaurant on the third floor. The food and wine served there complemented the views and were a perfect conclusion to our days.Having travelled extensively in Italy, we knew that it would have been foolish and potentially disappointing to try another restaurant. But the kindness and service we received from Luigi made the hotel experience outstanding. Yes, like other reviewers, we were given welcoming procecco on the first evening, bus tickets, clear directions, rides into town, instructions to call him if there were problems and he would pick us up, but to top it off, he decided our very dirty car needed to be washed.. and did so.As well, when we left, he directed us to go through the mountains behind the coast to avoid long delays on the autostrada. That turned out to be a wonderful scenic experience. Thank you Luigi. Your love for your hotel, and your daily care and genuine concern for those who stay with you are exceptional and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this family run hotel our host Luigi and his wonderful family catered to our every need, including a surprise visit to the local Doctor and reversing our hire car into impossible crevices.

The accommodation was very comfortable and views spectacular. The highlight was the exceptional food for both breakfast and dinner. Highly recommended to enjoy dinner on the balcony.

Luigi understands that in hospitality, service is everything and he duly obliges. You could not ask for any more.

Excellent and quiet location when compared with Amalfi & Positano.

Kerry, Mike & Annette (Western Australia)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our favorite B&B during our trip to Italy. The views were great, and the hospitality of Luigi and Sandra was outstanding. On our first day, Luigi took us into town to get some take away lunch. He was always ready to offer a ride, but we enjoyed the walks. Breakfasts were amazing with fresh fruit, juice, eggs, meat, cheese, homemade preserves, and coffee. Best breakfasts on our trip. Dinners were also outstanding, and prices were very reasonable for a family of 5. Our son is still talking about the lemon cake! Praiano is a great location to start a hike on the Path of the Gods with Maurizio De Rosa of Sul Sentiero degli dei as he will meet you in the lobby to start the trek. Highly recommend a stay if you want to avoid the crowds and prices of Positano.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found the Hotel Pellegrino quite lovely, and the Rispoli family lived up to their friendly reputation, showing great pride in all aspects of the hotel, as well as sincere warmth. The hotel can’t help but have an outstanding view of the quaint town of Praiano, as well as the Mediterranean Sea, since it’s set into the scenic cliffs of the Amalfi Coast. A great setting for a couple’s getaway. The rooms occupied by our party were spacious, compared to our Rome “4-star” hotel, with the Pellegrino offering romantic balconies overlooking the gardens and cliffs below, cascading into the blue Med.

The hotel’s restaurant has a short menu, but extensive offerings, which Luigi, his wife, and sister are proud to share with you. The fresh seafood, prepared in a variety of ways, pleasantly “converted” a few of us that hadn’t been as brave in the past to try new seafood dishes. Luigi is an outstanding, attentive host, altering servings and contents based on your likes and dislikes he’s observed during the stay, all without a word. With a decent variety of local and other regional wines, they paired very well with dinner. Of course, after a long walk, there were always cold beers handy at the bar. We tried different dishes every night, and all were excellent. The lemon cream sponge cake was unbelievably good, even surpassing our expectations from researching the Pellegrino. It’s a must-try dessert. The full, free breakfast is unbeatable.

Praiano offers much less hustle and bustle over Positano, which while beautiful in its own right, seemed more commercial, not delivering the warmth and romantic charm of Praiano. Intuitively, we thought this, which the visit validated. The town is a very short walk away from the Pellegrino, and the terrain not so hilly, as to be a distraction. Even for a week’s stay in Praiano, there are enough good restaurants to spread over the dinners and lunches; however, do take the bus or rented moped to Positano for the day, since parking is scarce. Unlike Naples, we felt safe and welcomed during our visit to Praiano and Positano with the Pellegrino making us feel right at home. Very relaxing. However, paradise always contains a caution…as with all traffic on the Amalfi Coast’s narrow roads, one should take care when walking (or driving!).

Praiano’s church is very beautiful inside, a recommended stop. The beach below requires some planning due to the long walk. If you have trouble getting around, skip it. About half way, the inclines turn to steps, and both up and down on the cobblestones challenge even the physically fit. The summer beach scene is a young one, with lively music and a bar with food, and folks of all ages having fun. Boat rentals are available.

Some planning considerations: 1) The Pellegrino has a complimentary parking garage under the hotel, and when you approach, pull into what appears to be the main entrance to the hotel at street level, and the family will greet you in short order. 2) A variety of buses stop almost directly in front of the hotel, providing rides to Sorrento, Positano, Salerno, Amalfi, and other sights along the southern coastline. Ensure you have Euro change available to save time. There are also day trips to the Isle of Capri, involving boat travel. Ask the front desk for schedule details. 3) Rooms 21 and 28 offer lovely sea views, and it would appear rooms with balconies can’t lose in this category. 4) If you arrive from Rome with large luggage and/or many family members, recommend a car rental from FCO versus train/bus, which can involve a few troublesome dog-leg runs to arrive at Praiano, causing you to spend about as much time/money as you would just driving; further, the latter adds more flexibility to visit sights during the ride (Pompeii, etc.) to or along the coast. 5) Good, free wi-fi with slow but tolerable evening bandwidth, good 3G cell coverage, room A/C, plenty of hot water, and an elevator for luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 28 offer lovely sea views, and it would appear rooms with balconies can’t lose in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanProko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We traveled all over Italy for three weeks and this was our favorite! Luigi and his family are wonderful and so attentive! Everything was wonderful...the views, room, food, hospitality! Luigi's recommendations of where to shop, beaches, transportation, etc. were great! And although we tried different places to eat, Hotel Pellegrino's food was the best! So fresh...and great wine! When we go back to Italy we will head straight to the Amalfi Coast and spend most of our time here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobAndRenee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,544 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,069 reviews
3.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: $166 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing