We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and hospitality”
Review of Al Vecchio Pioppo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Vecchio Pioppo
Ranked #1 of 17 Praia A Mare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stopped over in Praia a Mare on our way down to Sicily, just one night; the reviews on Tripadvisor had drawn us to this B&B and we were not disappointed. My husband normally does not like B&B's but this was different; we arrived late in the afternoon with no open restaurants and were offered by Gaetano to have Antonella cook the evening meal. We didn't have a better meal in our 12 days in Italy; the lemons were freshly picked off the trees; and Gaetano's wine is terrific, as is the licortzia - - which recipe Gaetano shared with my delighted husband - and the anise flavoured liqueur. You could not ask for more charming hosts. Our 17 year old son enjoyed the meal and still talked about it after we left. The B&B is centrally located, a few minutes walk to the beach which is great for a long stroll.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had a great time staying at Al Vecchio Pioppo! The Calabrese family treated me like one of their own, and took time to show me around the area. They were very accommodating and were so enjoyable to be around. The location of the B&B is also very convenient, close to the super market and the beach. Praia is such a beautiful place, I would definitely recommend a visit (or several).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at Al Vecchio Pioppo for two nights in September 2011. The B and B is very central, right on the main street of Praia a Mare, and steps from the beautiful beach. There is plenty of free street parking right outside the B and B. There are plenty of shops, bars, and gelaterie (ice cream shops) steps from the B and B. Gaetano recommended the best gelateria in town and he was right!

Our hosts Gaetano and Antonella were extremely friendly, hospitable, and welcoming. Gaetano is a terrific tour guide and took his own time to give us a tour of Praia and the main attractions. He also gave great recommendations for local seafood restaurants and we were happy that he did so.

The B and B has all the modern amenities, including air conditioning in all the rooms. It was spotlessly clean, tidy and comfortable. The rooms are spacious with large open sitting/breakfast areas.

Lunch and dinner can be arranged, and we had a fabulous dinner prepared by Antonella. We had dinner with the family and enjoyed the food and engaging conversation - the highlight of our stay. It was unfortunate that we could not stay longer but next time we will be sure to visit them again.

The combination of the town of Praia a Mare and the hospitality of Gaetano and Antonella made our visit quite enjoyable and memorable. Thank you Gaetano and Antonella for a fantastic stay. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beautifulmidnight28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I must say that i was was pleasently surprised from this B&B ! Very clean , comfortable rooms and excellent hospitality! The location is prime spot right in center city and great atmosphere and people. Myself and family enjoyed our one night stay a lot.
I would reccomend it again and again and will return next fall for weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giurusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

the b&b is very comfortable and clean. Well located at 5 minutes walk from the beach, with a grocery store next door and a bank and very good restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Great place to relax with family. The hosts Gaetano and Antonia are great and will gladly drive you around for visiting or on their boat for a very acceptable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martnat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Although Praia a mare might not be the busiest place, this bb is very nice, clean and wel located to see the beach and church

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Gaetano was so nice! He found us walking from the train station to his B&B and was kind enough to give us a ride. We were the only people occupying a room there for the night (it was unfortunately raining during our visit), and so it felt like coming home. We didn't get to see much in the area, but Gaetano did everything to make our stay nice. He even drove us to the beach area the next day for an hour boat ride (paddle boat) and then picked us up too. FYI: Breakfast is included in the price, and during peak seasons he told us that he takes guests out on his boat! No wifi at the B&B, but I didn't mind since we were staying for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triptips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Praia A Mare hotels
1.1 mi away
Borgo di Fiuzzi Resort & SPA
Borgo di Fiuzzi Resort & SPA
#9 of 15 in Praia A Mare
1,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mantinera Villaggio Turistico
0.8 mi away
Sporting Club Resort
Sporting Club Resort
#10 of 15 in Praia A Mare
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
New Hotel Blu Eden
New Hotel Blu Eden
#3 of 15 in Praia A Mare
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#6 of 15 in Praia A Mare
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pian delle Vigne
Hotel Pian delle Vigne
#13 of 15 in Praia A Mare
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Vecchio Pioppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Vecchio Pioppo

Address: Via Filippo Turati 65, 87028 Praia A Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Praia A Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Praia A Mare
Price Range: $61 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Al vecchio pioppo" is the first B&B in Praia a Mare, situated in the main street, just 100 metres away from the sea. Established in the family house built in the middle of the 19th century, it was recently restored and equiped with modern amenities. Comfortable and refined rooms, furnished with vintage and antic pieces of furnitures. Ideal for spending relaxing moments. Every room has an autonomous air-conditioner,a private bathroom, a tv and a fridge.Our b&b is open all year round to anyone who would like to come and visit us and we will be happy to offer our best, frendly and joyful hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Vecchio Pioppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing