We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Pozzuoli
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
334
72
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
334
72
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman streets red building francesca bakery visual excavations ercolano audio tour ongoing port english pompeii site temple
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 419 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Pozzuoli is off ignored but really is a must-see when visiting Napoli or the Amalfi coast. So much to see and do.
The Rione Terra museum and tour encapsulates much if what is means for a town to live 2000 years in one of the most seismically active areas of the world.
Francesca led an English-apeaking tour, lasting 1 hour explaining to young and old about everything from daily Roman life to bradyseism!
Just go. JFM

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank K1277XUjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2018

We were hesitant to join the only English tour of the day (1.30pm on a Saturday & Sunday, only days it is currently open), as we turned up about 10 minutes late for it, but were encouraged by the other staff to join and were welcomed to the group - the guide even gave us a quick summary of what he'd said so far that we'd missed! - and we thoroughly enjoyed the tour. The guide was so lovely and very enthusiastic and informative, and kept unnecessarily apologising for both his English (which was great) and the fact that excavations were still ongoing, meaning that some areas were not yet accessible to the public (which really didn't detract from the experience as it was already highly interesting).
Some considerable effort and investment is clearly going into this fascinating historical underworld of Pozzuoli, and I would love to re-visit in a year or two to see how it has come along.
Definitely worth a visit to get a feel for how life actually was for everyday people here - the visual and audio displays help bring it to life too.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank jenio820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

The old town of Pozzuoli :Streets and houses are mostly restored now, bright colours and nice little streets.
Wonderful view on the sea and the town of Pozzuoli.
Follow the signs to reach the Cathedral.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Navigator813739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Came here from the Amphitheatre and had to ask several locals for directions. Right near the cathedral. The Tourist Information Office next door to the red and yellow building is where the super helpful Gemma booked my tour in English for 1.30 pm. Cost is a reasonable 5 euros. The site is only open on Saturdays and Sundays and that's why the weekend is the best time to explore the Campi Flegrei sites.
Our guide Domenico was a treasure. So enthusiastic and knowledgeable . This site is a must if you enjoyed Pompeii or Ercolano and as yet is still crowd free. Excavations are ongoing but there was so much to absorb as you walk through the Roman streets of time gone by . Clever VR effects bring it even more to life as you can imagine breadmaking in the bakery , the life of a slave or how other more fortunate citizens of this long buried ancient town worked and dressed. An exquisite interior. It was a 45 minute tour which I shall never forget.
Unfortunately there was no access to the Cathedral due to Easter preparations. Anyone who visits in future can visit the re-opened Baroque Cathedral (only since 2014 I think) and the restored Augustan temple within. We did see the wonderful columns at the side though. Will just have to make a return visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
6  Thank vessi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Was here during a business trip and had day off so did sightseeing. This place is very special and gives you a high knowledge about how the Greek and Roman inhabitants lived may years ago. I was especially amazed by the ancient bakery and cooking area that was very well preserved and presented. One feels that the authorities could do much more to market this site and also make it more user friendly, but I guess that due to the great amount of archeological sites in this area they find it hard to preserve it all.

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank jonasr156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews