We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent archaeological site without the crowds”
Review of Cumae (Cuma)

Cumae (Cuma)
Book In Advance
More Info
$439.30*
and up
Private Tour from Naples to Phlegrean Fields, Pozzuoli, and Cuma
More Info
$76.47*
and up
Phlegraean Fields Tour from Naples
Ranked #7 of 44 things to do in Pozzuoli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent archaeological site without the crowds”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have visited Cuma twice - once by public transportation (which involves train and then transfer to bus from Naples) and once by car. It is significantly easier by car!! It's a wonderful site and we saw big improvements from our first to second time. There are more information boards, many have explanations in English. The area is cleaner with options for recycling.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    77
    28
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful views of the sea, fascinating ruins!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cumae was a great trip - unlike some other areas of Italy, it was nice to be able to explore some of the ancient Greek ruins the country has to offer without throngs of tourist crowds slowing you down. The grounds are quiet and peaceful, and in certain areas you are treated to some wonderful views of the Tyrrhenian sea and surrounding Phlegraean Fields region. If you only have a day or two to explore Naples, I probably would suggest some other places to see first, but if you find yourself with some extra time to spend in the Cuma/Pozzuoli areas, its certainly a nice place to visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aubrey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“NO CORRECT INFORMATION AT ALL”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We drove to Cuma from Pozzuoli and when we arrive to the entrance gate it was closed. It was about 15 h. and there were NO information boards anywhere. We thought it was "siesta" time,but no information was provided about opening or closing hours so we did not know if it was worth to wait or leave.
Impossible to vitis the site. Poor information and service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmier1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Both my friend and I are archaeologist so we found this place really interesting. It isn't currently near a station but the Evabus from Fusaro station goes straight to it. It's not a hugely busy site which is nice and they're still working on it so there is lots to explore.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Greeko Roman ruins at their best”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Has to be seen to be believed. Acres of city dwelling, culminating with temples at the top of the hill overlooking the beautiful Bay of Pozzuoli, Capril and Ischia. You've got to see this if you're interests lie in this area of history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumae (Cuma) also viewed

Pozzuoli, Province of Naples
Pozzuoli, Province of Naples
 
Pozzuoli, Province of Naples
 

Been to Cumae (Cuma)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing