We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun evening”
Review of CHEZ BLACK

CHEZ BLACK
Ranked #30 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $28 - $112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
176 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A fun evening”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived in Positano later than we planned and were starved, so we were directed to this restaurant from our albergo, just about 100 steps below. I am not going to say this was the best seafood on our trip, because it wasn't, but if steered towards fresf and away from anything that might be previously frozen or prepared fried, you'll come out just fine. More than anything else it was fun to people watch since the location is right on the main walkway along the beach at the base of the town. We found our waiters (we ate here two nights) to be friendly, if not a bit hard to get their attention as the meal got further along. We also found each night that we were seated next to fellow travelers, and being at closely seated tables for two allowed us to converse and compare trip notes easily. It was just an enjoyable evening that we repeated a second time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    979
    513
    202
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot right on the beach. The boat decor & nautical waiters uniforms are cheesie. Our waiter seemed to have done his job for a long time & had little patience for our questions. The food was good but nothing special. The most entertaining thing was watching 3 waiters ogle 3 young attractive girls leave the restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location on the beach is perfect , seafood is ok, expensive for this quality ,not very clean place .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelizaveta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location......”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dinner on the beach walk in Positano......says it all. The seafood was fresh and well prepared. The owner very personable (possible future Hollywood star!). Enjoyable evening. Would recommend a stop there for lunch or dinner. Not the end all for a true foodie though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gifishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coastal dining in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fresh seafood with Pasta dishes that are delicious. The owners greet you on the beach with Proscecco while you wait and give you the feeling that you are having dinner in their home! Every recommendation they make is seasoned to perfection!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas_TXDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHEZ BLACK also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to CHEZ BLACK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing