We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positano - the only place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa delle Palme
Ranked #6 of 49 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Positano - the only place to stay!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed in Positano for four nights in September as part of our trip to Italy. It is a truly beautiful town. Hotel Villa delle Palme was recommended to us by a friend and we are very grateful. Guiliana and her niece Manuela run the B&B, they are both lovely and very helpful with ideas for what's on in the area etc. We stayed in Room 28, it was huge and very clean with a balcony and air conditioning (which was great in summer)! Only 500 steps down to the little beach which was beautiful and we swam there every day and we would walk back via the main part of town and if we were feeling tired we would just catch the internal bus back up to the Hotel (buy your tickets at the Tabacchi) but mostly we walked. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel because of its position and the friendly atmosphere. Very welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    68
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
173
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Breakfast personally hand delivered to us to eat on our terrace with a view over beautiful Positano and the shimmering sea .... pinch me.

This is a family run business and it shows. Manuela and her mother run the show and their attention to detail and committment to professional but friendly service shines through. Real people who are never too busy to have a chat and share some local knowledge about their beatiful part of the world.

We chose to go to the supermarket on our first night and just buy some antipasto, salads, bread and beer to really make the most of our splendid view, and of course the staff immediately set about organsing glasses, plates and cuttlery for us to take upstairs. Nothing is a hassle for these lovely ladies.

We were actually upgraded on our first night to the huge room with an even bigger terrace. Thankyou for that .... we loved our stay and would reccomend this hotel to our friends immediately.

Summary - the rooms were lovely, the staff were great, the location is perfect ... not much more i can say other than thankyou (again)

I also had one of my best meals in Italy at Manuela's brothers restuarant just down the road at restaurant mediterraneo :-)

M and M.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms ahve a terrace !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I wanted to visit Positano without spending too much. Villa della Palme ended up being a moderately priced, fairly simple B & B. What we loved was Guiliana, the owner. She was utterly lovely, welcoming and helpful. She directed us to some great restaurants and helped book seats at a local event. Also, getting the room with the balcony made all the difference - it made our average sized room feel enormous.

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony - the rooms are pretty simple, but the balcony gives you a gorgeous vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The room was big with a huge terrace and clean. The shower was pretty small, but doable. The breakfast was simple, but brought to our room so we could eat on the terrace -- a nice way to eat. The staff is amazing. She recommeded a GREAT boat trip to Capri and saved us money by finding a couple to share a taxi to Naples. By staying here, you also get 10% off at two of the more popular restaurants in Positano. The street noise could be kinda loud, but we had our sound machine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The ladies running this establishment were lovely - they made us feel so welcome and were always most helpful providing all the information we needed
about Positano and the Amalfi Coast. The hotel was clean and the small balcony was a lovely place to sit and eat the breakfast which was delivered to the room at the requested time each morning. Having spent this summer travelling around Italy with my son, staying in many different locations and hotels, I can honestly say this was the highlight of our trip and I very much want to visit Positano again and will make sure I definitely stay at this hotel. Also, the restaurants that are in the vicinity of this hotel are excellent and well worth a visit!
Lynda and Callum

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This B & B is located half way up the hill from the pier and one would be advised to use the porter service for bags. It is quite a walk up from the centre of the town and one can use the bus to reach the hotel. walking down via the steps is much easier.

The owners of the hotel are extremely extremely helpful and are the real reason one would recommend this place. Manuella is so sweet and excited about sharing details about Positano - it is really charming.

The rooms are nice and big - old style (which we were aware of) and the entire building is nicely done up with little artifacts spread out all over the place.

Breakfast is served outside and there is also the option of having breakfast in your room. Nice simple functional breakfast of coffee, juice and croissants.

They also have the option of parking

Our room had a little balcony - which was just perfect for us to sit out and soak in the beauty of Positano.

There are several restaurants located close to the property. In fact on is in the property itself -although we didn't try it, it was packed all the time. We tried the other restaurant which is owned and run by Manuella's family - called Mediterraneo - our best meal in Italy (review written separately).

All in all a nice comfortable place to stay in.... Thank you Manuella....

Room Tip: The room we stayed in did not have a safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhruv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I just looooved this hotel and would recommend this to anyone visiting Positano. Our hostresses, Manuela and Giulianna are absolutely fantastic, they are always smiling and are very helpful. Our air-conditioned room was supercozy with cute vintage furniture and beautiful tiled floor. We also had our own balcony facing the sea and you could have your breakfast being sent to your room every morning! We ate our breakfast at our sunny balcony and I really think it was one of the best things about staying in this hotel!

The breakfast is pretty simple though including croissants, bread and jam, coffee or tea and a glass of juice. There are eggs and yogurt too but they cost 1 euro each, which I thought was pretty expensive. Anyway we are happy with everything else especially with the pleasant smiles and service so we'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodlenoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#29 of 39 in Positano
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#34 of 39 in Positano
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa delle Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa delle Palme

Property: Hotel Villa delle Palme
Address: Via Pasitea 252, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa delle Palme 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the hotel Villa delle Palme a pleasant 15 min walk along the picturesque lanes and down the narrow flights of steps which characterise the whole town leads guests to the beaches of Spiaggia Grande and Spiaggia del Fornillo.The hotel is located on the main road between the two well-known family restaurants Saraceno d'oro andMediterraneo which apply a very special discount on regular menu to our guests.Extra services offered to the guests:Tranfer from and to closer airport or train station; babysitter; parking.Internal bus stop half-a-minute walking from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa delle Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing