We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unforgettable stay”
Review of Casa Cuccaro B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cuccaro B&B
Ranked #4 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is difficult to find anything to complain about at Casa Cuccaro. The hosts are so very welcoming and accommodating, ready to give advice when needed but not overly intrusive like at some other places... we always felt that we had our privacy. They speak english well and are quite funny too! I needed to buy some laundry soap our first night to wash some clothes in the sink, and Geraldina didn't hesitate to give me some of her own instead.

I cannot describe the sense of peacefulness we experienced here in a village with no cars, million dollar views from our balcony, and the enchanting sounds of roosters and church bells. The breakfast is very plentiful with fruit, meats, bread, and cheeses (and we were lucky enough to be there at the end of fig season too). The rooms were always very very clean. The only thing that could have made the stay better was somewhat of a personal preference- the bed was quite firm, but this was fixed by placing a nice thick blanket underneath which we found in our room. We will always have fond memories of our stay there. I probably took a hundred pictures of the sunset over the coast and that will still never capture what we felt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Casa Cuccaro B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 700 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The 40 min drive up from Positano on the red bus is WELL worth the trip as the views are amazing. The B&B is near the start of the Walk of the gods. Owners are very good hosts. Geraldina acts as a mother to her guests. We had planned on leaving before the normal breakfast time and did not request any adjustment but Peppe & Geraldina both rose early to help us get on the road with full tummies. They were kind enough to supply me with a fan when I was hot.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and feature beautiful views. You can not reserve a particular room in advance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bktypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

It's was rather difficult to find as we arrived late at nite. E old couple who are e owners, are so helpful. We are given lots of info of the whole amalfi coast, postiano & ravello. Boat timings, bus n etc. As we drove from Rome, he even offer to help me park e car. Room is big & clean. Breakfast was fantastic. U can have it at e terrace over looking e tyrrhenian sea.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianeTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Some B&Bs have large rooms, wonderful views, great breakfasts and friendly hosts. But Casa Cuccaro has this and more!

My wife and I enjoyed five nights at Casa Cuccaro with Geraldina and Giuseppe in early September and felt that we were being cared for not just as guests but as friends. If Geraldina doesn't think that you should drive with the locals she'll let you know and if Pepe doesn't like your football team he'll say so! That said when we were leaving very early to drive to Rome to catch a flight Geraldina was up early fixing a meal (because that airline food is never any good). And Giuseppe doesn't mind sharing a beer with you.

As noted on some Reviews, Nocelle is remote! Not only is it five kilometres up a narrow winding road (great to drive) but it has no ATM, only two restaurants, the Wi-Fi is not always awake and the only way around the village is on foot (cars must park in the car park or on the edge of the access road). But this makes the place unique - by definition you become a villager! Locals say hello (in Italian), the restaurant staff know you and the bus driver waves.

Positano is nice - but it's full of tourists, and at sea level. Nocelle is friendly and probably enjoys (by virtue of its height) the best views of any place that we've ever stayed at (and we travel a bit). If you don't have a car the bus service is cheap and very reliable and there is generally room for a few bags.

There is a down side - the shower recess is small and Peppe supports Juventus!

So in short Nocelle is a great place to chill out with friends. And Geraldina and Peppe are warm and welcoming friends!

Thanks for a wonderful holiday guys!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent two nights in this B&B in September 2012 by recommendation from many past reviews here on Tripadvisor. We really loved the amazing view (both from our own balcony and the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served) and the very warm welcome from Pepe and Geraldine, who offered us a great service at any time.
Yes, the view... But there are also downsides. Before you go here, you really need to know that this B&B is located in Nocelle, which is an outer part of Positano, located on a mountain, 400 meters above sea level. To reach Nocelle, you really ARE on your way... Either take the small bus which runs every hour (and takes approx 30 minutes from/to Positano, quite a trip) or go down (respectively up!) thousands of stairs, which is an exhausting expierience. Looking back, a hotel or B&B in downtown Positano would probably have been a better fit for our travel plans and needs.
Small note on our room (No. 7) - there was a bad smell of moldiness around the bed... Probably the outer walls in that room might need some makeup.
Apart from that, we cannot complain about what we got for the money we spent! The value for money is good. Having breakfast in the sun high above the Mediterranean Sea, with views down to Positano and glimpses of Capri, pays back for the travel up here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elbsebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Cuccaro in August 2012 for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer. The B&B is beautiful and the hosts are warm and welcoming with wonderful stories of the history of the area. I cannot emphasize enough how magnificent the view is from the room and the balcony where you have breakfast each morning surrounded by blossoming flowers overlooking the blue Med. The hamlet of Nocelle is a step back in time - all pedestrian with grape vines shading the paths. It is small but has two very good restaurants, a favorite being the relaxed pizza place cut into the face of the cliff with views of the lights of Positano twinkling at night.
The Walk of the Gods literally goes past the door of the B&B making it a great base for hiking. Pepe, the host, gave us a map and spent time going over routes with us making helpful suggestions.
In summary:
Value: absolutely incredible value for money - spacious rooms, spotless, views worth a million dollars.
Location: stunningly gorgeous. Sleepy picturesque town. You get a small bus to and from Positano - we enjoyed it as you get to mix with locals and have great views the whole way. Always punctual and reliable.
Hosts: warm, welcoming, extremely knowledgeable of the local area.
Would we go back -- absolutely yes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you are looking for a place to chill out, rest, relax, get away from the world - this is it. The hosts are warm, helpful and very welcoming and the view is worth hundreds of euro per night, not the 85 you'll pay for a room with a view and breakfast in this little slice of heaven on earth. Just note: it is in Nocelle, the village above Positano, not in the town of Positano itself. There is a cheap, frequent and easy to use bus that connects the two however. We stayed here last month (September 2012) and walked down the hill using the steps that form part of The Walk of The Gods when we wanted a swim and then caught a bus home. Easy. Don't stay here if you want to be in town all the time. Do stay here if you want relaxation, views (and views and views!) and great coffee! There are also two restaurants nearby that are both musts and only a short, short walk (or post-wine shuffle) from the B&B. We'll be back. This is heaven.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#28 of 38 in Positano
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
1.2 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday House Gilda
Holiday House Gilda
#3 of 53 in Positano
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuccaro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuccaro B&B

Address: Via Pizzillo/Nocelle, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $99 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuccaro was an ancient agricultural building set in one of the most dramatic sites of all Positano, the tiny village of Nocelle. From here you can vertically dominate Positano and its entire coast with endless emotions. Peppe and his family welcome you with a genuine and authentic hospitality. Simple and tastefully decorated. Rooms are furnished with simplicity and good taste and they are very comfortable. All have a private terrace with chairs and table overlooking the sea, for one's own privacy. Thanks to its position Casa Cuccaro is sun-kissed for most of the day during the summer and benefits warm rays during the wintertime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cuccaro Hotel Positano
Casa Cuccaro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing