We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ultimate relaxation, authentic Italian experience”
Review of Casa Cuccaro B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cuccaro B&B
Ranked #4 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ultimate relaxation, authentic Italian experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Cuccaro in August 2012 for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer. The B&B is beautiful and the hosts are warm and welcoming with wonderful stories of the history of the area. I cannot emphasize enough how magnificent the view is from the room and the balcony where you have breakfast each morning surrounded by blossoming flowers overlooking the blue Med. The hamlet of Nocelle is a step back in time - all pedestrian with grape vines shading the paths. It is small but has two very good restaurants, a favorite being the relaxed pizza place cut into the face of the cliff with views of the lights of Positano twinkling at night.
The Walk of the Gods literally goes past the door of the B&B making it a great base for hiking. Pepe, the host, gave us a map and spent time going over routes with us making helpful suggestions.
In summary:
Value: absolutely incredible value for money - spacious rooms, spotless, views worth a million dollars.
Location: stunningly gorgeous. Sleepy picturesque town. You get a small bus to and from Positano - we enjoyed it as you get to mix with locals and have great views the whole way. Always punctual and reliable.
Hosts: warm, welcoming, extremely knowledgeable of the local area.
Would we go back -- absolutely yes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    61
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
457
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to chill out, rest, relax, get away from the world - this is it. The hosts are warm, helpful and very welcoming and the view is worth hundreds of euro per night, not the 85 you'll pay for a room with a view and breakfast in this little slice of heaven on earth. Just note: it is in Nocelle, the village above Positano, not in the town of Positano itself. There is a cheap, frequent and easy to use bus that connects the two however. We stayed here last month (September 2012) and walked down the hill using the steps that form part of The Walk of The Gods when we wanted a swim and then caught a bus home. Easy. Don't stay here if you want to be in town all the time. Do stay here if you want relaxation, views (and views and views!) and great coffee! There are also two restaurants nearby that are both musts and only a short, short walk (or post-wine shuffle) from the B&B. We'll be back. This is heaven.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful few days in this magical spot. Pepe and Geraldina were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. The view from Nocelle will remain in our memory always.
Positano was a delight and it was lovely to return to our quiet haven in the evenings. The bus ride up the mountain was inexpensive and a treat for the views it gave.
We hope to return one day and thank them both for their kind hospitality.
Judi & NIck Kerr

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Casa Cuccaro from 9/13 to 9/16 for our 25th wedding anniversary. The location is one of kind, literally on the side of cliff with the best view of any B&B that we have ever stayed in our lives. The previous reviewer was dead wrong, as CC is situated at 1400 feet above Positano located in a tiny quiet village of Nocelle that sets this B&B from all others. The people in this village are something that needs to be experienced.

Pepe and Dina are salt of the earth people as they are wonderful and warm folks that really do their best to make sure everyone is happy. Just ask for something and you shall receive it.

The room was extremely clean with an awesome private deck. They have a outstanding indoor and outdoor deck to eat or just relax.

The breakfast consisted of an abundance of fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, breakfast pastries and cold cuts along with beverages. It was very nice, again we could not ask for more.

Please do yourself a favor and stay here as you will be rewarded with a truly memorable and one of a kind experience.

Pepe and Dina, I know you are watching, my wife and I send you both a a big strong hug!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetodive20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have mixed reviews about this B&B...I gave high marks to be fair, as some of my negative feedback is my own fault for not doing better research on the location..

The good: hands down, best view I've ever had from a B&B, simply gorgeous. The value: great view,clean accomodations, great price. The hosts: friendly, accomodating, always there if you need something.

The bad: The location was beyond inconvenient. It was either an aggressive 50 minute walk from town, all climbing up thousands of stairs, which hardly anyone does--I did it once for my exercise for the day. or option two: taking a bus. The bus was fine when going to town for dinner, etc, you just needed to plan around it: comes once an hour, and takes about 40 minutes with all of the stops on the way to get from Nocelle into town. then you need to plan to leave town by the last bus, which leaves Positano at 11:20. The bus was quite unpleasant when leaving Nocelle with luggage--very small bus that's fills quickly. Additionally, to get to the bus stop, you must climb several hundred steps. Ask Peppe to help you, he's used to it.

Overall, I think this place is great for couples who are looking for a romantic, peaceful, reasonably priced place out of the hustle bustle of town. It's not good for a single traveler who is looking to spend time in town as it's just not convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonnoPeppe, Proprietario at Casa Cuccaro B&B, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
I'm very sorry but in Positano there are steps anywhere...
to go up and down-ville, to go to school, to go to the beach...
This town is built on a cliff, and we are located on the top of it!!!
The steps are characteristic of Positano as in the famous song :
SCALINATELLA LONGA LONGA LONGA...
We hope you'll be back in our heaven on earth in a very near future!!! CIAO!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hidden high above the busy resort of Positano, Casa Cuccaro is a haven of peace and tranquillity . We were met with warmth and friendliness,not only in Casa Cuccaro itself, but in Nocelle generally. The rooms were excellent and spotlessly clean, and it was fantastic to have our own balcony looking out over the bay. Breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking. A memorable place to stay !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelouiseWinterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolab
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Have loved the stay with Pepe and Geraldine. The room had views that you never grow tired of and were clean and large. Breakfast was a great way to start the day. Both Pepe and Geraldine were wonderful hosts and nothing was too mug trouble. The local restaurants they recommended were authentic, within walking distance and had great food. The bus into town was nearby. Once we arrived here we knew we had made the right decision in choosing Casa Cuccaro and this became even more evident over the following nine days

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmorrison58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.2 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
1.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuccaro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuccaro B&B

Property: Casa Cuccaro B&B
Address: Via Pizzillo/Nocelle, 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuccaro was an ancient agricultural building set in one of the most dramatic sites of all Positano, the tiny village of Nocelle. From here you can vertically dominate Positano and its entire coast with endless emotions. Peppe and his family welcome you with a genuine and authentic hospitality. Simple and tastefully decorated. Rooms are furnished with simplicity and good taste and they are very comfortable. All have a private terrace with chairs and table overlooking the sea, for one's own privacy. Thanks to its position Casa Cuccaro is sun-kissed for most of the day during the summer and benefits warm rays during the wintertime. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cuccaro Hotel Positano
Casa Cuccaro Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing