We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of da Gabrisa

da Gabrisa
Ranked #18 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A marvelous view of the sea, a comfortable and elegant atmosphere where is possible to taste authentic local dishes in one of the most romantic restaurant in Positano. Enjoy also the great selection of wines and other special drinks.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner and sat outside overlooking the beautiful water. We had had a lackluster meal the night before elsewhere and this was the redeeming 'Italian' experience we were looking for. The service was great and the meal excellent and extremely fresh.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    107
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty okay for positano, average for italy”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner here last night. If you're looking for wow factor or that quintessential Italian meal, it's not here, actually it might not exist in Positano at all! It wasn't a bad meal, but just nothing special. For those who have previously reviewed this restaurant and raved, I can only imagine that this is their first Italian experience and they're swept away by the walk in band flogging their cd's or the overpriced menu.

The view is great, the food is average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EstherMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obiondo, Proprietario at da Gabrisa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion and we are sorry if you did not enjoy your meal with us. However, it is difficult to know what we would do differently, given the points you make, and that is unfortunate; we are always looking to improve, and would love to have had some actionable feedback. Also, I think it would have been possible to avoid ad hominem comments as to why other guests have enjoyed themselves – that seems very unnecessary. There is no one ‘quintessential Italian meal’, because each area within Italy specializes in one or more aspect of food (that is to say, each of the 20 regions, and within those regions, each city and town, have their own specialties, often developed over 1,000 years). None of these areas would claim that their food is more quintessential than the other - it is a matter of pride within Italy that we look at other areas food, and appreciate them for their qualities. Real estate in Positano is in great demand, and therefore expensive compared to many other places. This is precisely because, as you note, the views are great. This may be why you found our menu to be ‘overpriced’, but that’s only a guess also considering that the menu is just published on the road, free for anyone to check our dishes and prices. The ‘band’ are a group that walks around all of Positano from years, and we let them play only to guests who want to listen to them; they really do not push people into buying things if people do not indicate an interest in them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“View to die for and fabulous food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Staff and food were first class .view overlooking bay and town was amazing .food was beautiful and not expensive .the wine list was extensive and the staff were very helpful and knowledge able in helping us .will go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best for a glass of wine than dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went following the reviews we'read but we were not impressed with the food.
The Atmosphere is very good and the view is spectacular if you are in the outside tables.
I would recommend to go for a glass of wine while still daylight and you can enjoy the view.
Tip: there is no fried calamari as antipasti, but they can make it if you ask for it and charge you a bit less than a first course.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EuFederico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obiondo, Proprietario at da Gabrisa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks’ a lot for sharing your experience which you had here with us. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoyed the food as much as the wine, as we prey the same attention on quality and taste on each ingredient of our restaurant. We are always very proud of all our products as they are carefully selected in base of their quality, origins, season and taste. From the wines of our extensive wines and spirits list, to each ingredient, chosen for our meals, everything is selected in base of a careful attention to our tradition. Note that many products are listed on the Slow Food Foundation and they represent a good part of the best of the made in Italy. The view is surely a goal which many people can enjoy but mostly our place it is very popular as a restaurant, which our outside tables are reserved for, but surely we would love that anyone could come and visit us here in any time and enjoy our wines and traditional dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great selection of wines and the food was very good. Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the local and national wines.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obiondo, Proprietario at da Gabrisa, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing you experience here with us. We want always to be sure that all our staff loves and try all the products which they sell so they could transmit the same love to our guests. We all hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Gabrisa also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to da Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing