We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grottos are Extraordinary”

Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto)
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.41*
and up
Half-Day Cruise to Positano from Amafli
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Grottos are Extraordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved the Amalfi so much, we have already booked a trip back. However, a tip on the grottos - you MUST book a private tour. Unfortunately, we scheduled Capri into our day trip, which, in my mind, isn't really worth it (ok, maybe once). I am not really sure what turned me off of Capri, but when you compare all of the other lovely Amalfi Coastal towns, it was most definitely the least interesting. But back to the grottos. The colour of the water is nothing like I'd ever seen before. Our tour guide took us into the "caves" and it made us giggle uncontrollably - try it and you will know why. These big boats, in a little tiny opening in the side of an extraordinary mountain. Perhaps it was the wine. Don't knock the grottos. A must see ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabellaSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    193
    169
    119
    116
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“terrible wast of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

this was the worst tourist trap I ever visited! Do not go there if you don't like crowds or if your claustrophobic. It is absolute chaos and a ripe off. It is terrible Positano is running this potentially beautiful tour like a mob scene-very disappointed. Luckily that was the ONLY thing I didn't like about Italy,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank lovebythebeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We thought of going to this one since we were driving past it, and we had not gone to the Blue Grotto whilst we were on Capri, and since it only costs Euro 5. Basically you go into a big cave and there is only one underwater opening that lets the light through. It is pretty, but not much different from what you see from postcards and photos you see here. I would just stop for a short visit to the souvenir shop next door and save the 15 mins and Euro 5 going down to the grotto.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank DrewHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

You pay 5 euro to sit in a boat which goes in a circle for 10 minutes and you can see most of it from where you pick up the boat. The boatman is amusing which makes up a bit but don't go out of your way to visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

You must visit here ! Awesome site, special, romantic. Friendly and entertaining guides. It is recommended to get around 14-15, so bright water play almost all grotte.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TalPasternak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto) also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Grotta dello Smeraldo (Emerald Grotto)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing